• Big day for Boyz - Jamaicans hunt favourable result against

Big day for Boyz - Jamaicans hunt favourable result against Guatemala

Ja seek second-round berth at Gold Cup

IAN BURNETT @ THE CONCACAF GOLD CUP in the USA

Friday, June 10, 2011

MIAMI, Florida — Jamaica's Reggae Boyz will look to continue their dominance over Guatemala and book a berth in the second phase of the CONCACAF Gold Cup Tournament when they oppose the Central Americans here at the Florida International University Stadium at 7:00 pm (6:00 pm Jamaica time) today.

The Jamaicans, who lead Group B with three points following their 4-0 demolition of Grenada at the Home Depot Center in Los Angeles on Monday night, are two points ahead of both Honduras and Guatemala, with Grenada rooted at the bottom of the four-team group without a point.

Head coach Theodore Whitmore (centre) takes the Reggae Boyz squad through a practice session at the Florida International University Stadium yesterday. (Photo: Ian Burnett)

In the second game of tonight's double-header at 9:00 pm (8:00 pm Jamaica time), Honduras meet Grenada.

Jamaica have won all three previous meetings with Guatemala at the Tournament — 3-2 in 1998; 2-0 in 2003, and 4-3 when they last met in 2005.
    A victory today would propel the Boyz into the second phase of the competition, and it would be their fifth time beyond the group stage in this their eighth Gold Cup Tournament appearance.

Jamaica have met Central American teams on 11 occasions, winning five, drawing two and losing three. As usual, head coach Theodore Whitmore is employing the same approach for each opponent.

"First, every game we come here to play we know it is going to be tough, and Guatemala will be the same, so we are preparing ourselves to face a tough Guatemala because their backs are against the wall. They only have one point, so at least they need to get something out of our game, so we are preparing ourselves as much as possible to qualify from that game," he said.
    The Jamaican players, too, are aiming to for maximum points from today's game to book their place in the next round.

"Well, first of all to speak about qualification it is very important to do it now in this game and I know all of us are looking forward to doing that. The vibe in the camp has been building since the last two years, we are still a team, we're focused and everybody is up for the challenge at hand," captain Shavar Thomas told the Observer just ahead of yesterday's final training session on the artificial surface at the FIU Stadium.

His central partner Dicoy Williams was equally upbeat about a positive result.
    "Our chances are always good. For me it is a game and there is always a chance of winning any game. I think the team right now is very focused and we know what we are here to do."

He added: "The game tomorrow (today) will be very interesting and we could win the group or at least go through to the next round. What we would like to do is win the group and be one of the favourites going through to the second round, so it is going to be a very challenging game, so we have to be focused and ready for it."

Yesterday Whitmore and his assistant coach Alfredo Montesso were meticulous as they took the players through a few tactical drills, which included transitioning from defence to lightning quick counter-attack from set pieces.

Though Guatemala earned a point in their opening contest, they lost two defenders - Gustavo Cabrera (61st) and Henry Medina (79th) - to two bookable offences.

However, they are led by the outstanding striker Carlos Ruis and playmaker Jose Contreras.

Ruiz, a 31-year-old striker for the Philadelphia Union in the Major League soccer, is commonly called 'El Pescadito' or 'The Little Fish'.

Known for his robust, hold up play, and an uncanny eye for goal, Ruiz has 82 goals in 155 regular season matches and 16 post-season goals in MLS, and has been a member of the Guatemalan national team since 1998 and is their all-time leading goal scorer with 41 strikes in 83 internationals.

He retired in 2008 after representing his country in three World Cup qualifying campaigns - 2002, 2006 and 2010. However, he came out of retirement this January.

His reputation precedes him, and the Jamaican defenders are well aware of the threat that he poses.

"I know what Ruiz brings to the Guatemalan team, he's a very good player, and in the box he's very deadly, but outside of the box he's not going to do too much to hurt you. When the ball is wide we will have to have a man on him, get a hand on him or something," Thomas said.

Thomas's defending teammate Jermaine Taylor, who now plays for Houston Dynamo, is also well aware of the pesky 'Little Fish', but is not overly bothered.

"Well, actually I've played against him a couple of times, he's a pretty good player, strong and can hold up the ball, but we, too, are experienced as well, so it won't be a tough game once we do our best and do what we can do correctly, I think it should be easy for us."

And Dicoy Williams, Jamaica's other central defender, though having never played against him, believes the Boyz will have to be disciplined in defence.
    "I have never played against him before, but I saw him in the game against Honduras and he moves a lot, so we have to figure out from early in the game where he likes to move in spaces for the ball in order to mark him, we can't wait until he scores a goal. He's a good striker, he scores a lot of goals if given the chance, so we can't give him any chances."

Taylor is confident the Boyz can maintain their dominance over the Central Americans, once they stick to their style of play.

"Firstly, I think nothing changes, once we keep possession of the ball going forward or in defence, it will be good for us because when we saw them play they move the ball a lot and they pressure the ball a lot also, but keeping the ball and opening the field I think we can play a good game against them."

But despite paying close attention to Ruiz, and the easy manner in which he and his teammates collapse on the field with the slightest of contacts, captain Thomas doesn't want to stray too much from the team's aggressive style of play.

"We don't want to change our style of play, that's what make us unique and that's what make us good, but we have a referee who controls the game and we just hope he does his best."

Whitmore is expected to employ the same starting team as in the first game. They are Donovan Ricketts in goal, Thomas, Taylor, Dicoy Williams, Demar Phillips, Rudolph Austin, Jason Morrison, Eric Varnan, Luton Shelton, Ryan Johnson and Dane Richards.

On Wednesday Whitmore experimented with Omar Daley going in at right midfield for Vernan, and Keammar Daley, who looked rather sharp, replacing Johnson. He said then that those were two options which could be utilised in the game.

The squad is completed by Dwayne Miller, Adrian Reid, Richard Edwards, Damion Williams, Jevaughn Watson, as well as DuWayne Kerr and Navion Boyd, who were left off the match card on Monday night.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1OsohlxTk

Reggae Boyz look to book berth in round two

Published: Friday | June 10, 2011

Jamaican forward Dane Richards (right) in a tussle for possession with Grenada midfielder Craig Rocastle during Monday's match in Carson, California. Jamaica won 4-0. Richards made the assists for the first two goals and is expected to play another key role in today's match against Guatemala. - AP

Audley Boyd,
    Assistant Editor - Sports

MIAMI, Florida:
    FOR today's CONCACAF Gold Cup match against Guatemala, the Reggae Boyz have one goal: to win.

The teams will clash at Florida International University (FIU) in the opening match of a double-header at 7 p.m. (6 p.m. Jamaica time). Honduras (one point) are favoured to beat Grenada (0) in the feature match, set to kick off at 9 p.m. (8 p.m. Jamaica time).

Victory for Jamaica will qualify the team for the next stage of the competition, even though they have one more Group B match to play (on Monday against Honduras in New Jersey) in the four-team preliminary round.

Already, the Boyz have three points from their one-sided 4-0 annihilation of Grenada in their opening game at the Home Depot Center in Los Angeles on Monday.

On the same night, Guatemala fought hard in a goalless draw with Honduras to be on one point.

Two teams are certain to advance from the four-team group phase of this 12-nation chamiopnship, along with the top two third-place finishers among the three groups.

Theodore Whitmore came to the last Gold Cup assignment as head coach of the Jamaica team for the first time. It was not a happy baptism, as the team was eliminated at the first hurdle.

Taking no chances

This time, he does not intend to take any chances, aiming to topple a Guatemala team whose position is worse, at this point.

" ... We are preparing ourselves to face a tough Guatemala because their backs are against the wall, because they only have one point," said Whitmore. "So at least they need to get something out of our game, so we are preparing ourselves as much to qualify from that game."

Whitmore's sentiments were echoed by his coaching partner, Brazilian Alfredo Montesso, who was a member of the Rene Simoes staff when Jamaica qualified for the World Cup Finals in France, when Whitmore was a star player in the team.

"Actually, what we expect is to qualify the team in this game because we've been working with the players, they realise that the earlier we can qualify then it will be better for us, so we focus on that," Montesso said yesterday.

Then, they held their final work-out before the game, simulating set plays at the venue with the same starting eleven that ran roughshod over Grenada, the same team that will start.

Though the opposition is different, they are aiming for the same dominating result that was formalised with goals from Luton Shelton, Ryan Johnson, Demar Phillips and Omar Daley, a second-half substitute who injected much life into the game.

Scoring responsibilities should again revolve around front men Shelton and Johnson, along with the dangerous Dane Richards, who laid off sweet assists for the first two goals. But, as reflected by the scoresheet, goal options are varied and one of the things Jamaica will be relying on is a repetition of their strong all-round opener.

Key elements of that performance were the manner in which they dominated the ball and the great deal of scoring chances created.

"We've to enforce this ball possession game," said Montesso. " ... We played much better against Grenada in building the game. We have to still do that, but we've to get some more urgency, especially in the midfield, because they (Guatemala) are going to fight us there and we've to think to move the ball to the flanks, use the field a lot, and when we lose the ball we've to get compact, get close enough to mark their team and have everybody working in there."

Fought tooth and nail

Though taking 10 shots, Guatemala never forced many saves in their opening game, when they fought tooth and nail to escape with a draw that would have felt like a win, as they ended the Honduras match two men short, due to expulsions in the final 20 minutes of the second half.

According to Marco Pappa, one of Guatemalas' leading attackers, they must improve.

"We're happy with the effort we gave, but not satisfied," said Pappa. "You always have to improve and we have some opportunities to improve here coming up. We have to look forward to the next match and just continue working hard."

Another of their main players, 31-year-old striker and captain Carlos Ruiz, expects a stern examination from Jamaica.

"Guatemala are not the favoured team to go to the next round, so we have to show every game we can play hard, we can play good," he said.

Jamaica starting team: Donovan Ricketts (GK), Shavar Thomas, Dicoy Williams, Jermaine Taylor, Eric Vernan, Demar Phillips, Rodolph Austin, Jason Morrison, Luton Shelton, Dane Richards, Ryan Johnson.

Ah hope Tappa mek di substitutions stay jus like Grenada game, it worked out jus fine. I would love di si mi general a leggo true pass pan dem kah him effective right behind di strikahs, can join di attack on supply di front man.