U-17 Overview and Preview: Jamaica U-17 Plays the World Champions, Mexico Feb-14 & 16 in Jamaica

• U-17 Overview and Preview: Jamaica U-17 Plays the World Champions, Mexico Feb-14 & 16 in Jamaica

<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: center" align=center><?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comffice:smarttags" /><st1:country-region w:st="on"><U><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 14pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%">Jamaica</SPAN></U></st1:country-region><U><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 14pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%"> U-17 Plays the World Champions, <st1:country-region w:st="on">Mexico</st1:country-region> Feb-14 &amp; 16 in <st1lace w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">Jamaica</st1:country-region></st1lace><?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o></SPAN></U><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: center" align=center><U><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 14pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%"><o><SPAN style="TEXT-DECORATION: none"></SPAN></o></SPAN></U><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1lace w:st="on"><U><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 14pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%">Jamaica</SPAN></U></st1lace></st1:country-region><U><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 14pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%">’s first Qualification<o></o></SPAN></U><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 14pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%">In 1999 the Jamaican National Under-17 team qualified along with <st1:country-region w:st="on">Mexico</st1:country-region> and the <st1:country-region w:st="on">USA</st1:country-region> from CONCACAF to the FIFA U-17 World Cup held in <st1lace w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">New Zealand</st1:country-region></st1lace>. <st1:country-region w:st="on">Jamaica</st1:country-region> exited in the first round while <st1:country-region w:st="on">Mexico</st1:country-region> was knocked out in the quarter finals by the <st1lace w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">USA</st1:country-region></st1lace> (who went on to finish fourth (4<SUP>th</SUP>). Landon Donovan and DaMarcus Beasley of the <st1lace w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">USA</st1:country-region></st1lace> were named among the FIFA Rising Stars from the tournament.<o></o></SPAN><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 14pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%"><o></o></SPAN><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 14pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%">Back then, <st1:country-region w:st="on">El Salvador</st1:country-region> and <st1lace w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">Jamaica</st1:country-region></st1lace> were the host nations for the final stage of qualification. <st1:country-region w:st="on">Jamaica</st1:country-region> was placed in Group A along with <st1:country-region w:st="on">USA</st1:country-region>, <st1:country-region w:st="on">Costa Rica</st1:country-region> and <st1lace w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">Honduras</st1:country-region></st1lace>. The young Reggae Boyz topped the group by defeating <st1:country-region w:st="on">Honduras</st1:country-region> and <st1:country-region w:st="on">Costa Rica</st1:country-region> and playing to a goalless draw with <st1lace w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">USA</st1:country-region></st1lace>.<o></o></SPAN><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 14pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%"><o></o></SPAN><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><FONT color=#111111

RE: U-17 Overview and Preview: Jamaica U-17 Plays the World Champions, Mexico Feb-14 & 16 in Jamaica

The top three from our group go to the championship! Call me crazy but with this tourney being at home I am feeling damn good about our chances to qualify. - T.K.

RE: U-17 Overview and Preview: Jamaica U-17 Plays the World Champions, Mexico Feb-14 & 16 in Jamaica

you're crazy!

Thanks G.You've done wonders for my self confidence. - T.K.

<DIV>
          T.K. (1/29/2007)The top three from our group go to the championship! Call me crazy but with this tourney being at home I am feeling damn good about our chances to qualify. - T.K.
          </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Easier if we just hosted the world championships and done!</DIV>

<DIV>Easier if we just hosted the world championships and done!</DIV>
            :notlist:

Group B features <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comffice:smarttags" /><st1:country-region w:st="on">Canada</st1:country-region>, <st1:country-region w:st="on">Costa Rica</st1:country-region>, <st1:country-region w:st="on">Jamaica</st1:country-region> (hosts), Trinidad &amp; Tobago and the <st1lace w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">USA</st1:country-region></st1lace>.

Although we have the home advantage, it will be a very tough road to navigate! (Pray)

Our Opponents? I wonder howmany matches and the quality of opponents played during their preparations? (Tant)

With all this preparation thispresentcropof U-17 REGGAE BOYZ should do well under CoachHunt and go a step further than the 1999 group. Should they qualify for the U-17 World Cup preparations should continueleading straight into the Tournament, which unfortunately did not happen with the 1999 group until that tournament was near.

However, my gripe with the present JFF administrationis the limited preparation given to the U-20 Youth programme which begins later this month. I thought the JFF'smandate would be "Youth Focus". Including all ages.

Jamaica2099 (1/30/2007)With all this preparation this present crop of U-17 REGGAE BOYZ should do well under Coach Hunt and go a step further than the 1999 group.
                  If they qualify the players and Hunt deserve to be deified.

Should they qualify for the U-17 World Cup preparations should continue leading straight into the Tournament, which unfortunately did not happen with the 1999 group until that tournament was near.
                  Yes! ...good preparations! ...i.e. included should bea steady diet of matches against the best the world has to offer at their age-group.

However, my gripe with the present JFF administration is the limited preparation given to the U-20 Youth programme which begins later this month. I thought the JFF's mandate would be "Youth Focus". Including all ages.
                  yuh generous! di JFF nah gi nuh a di team dem good preparation!

Then the name should be change to MFF-Mothers Football Federation. I'm sure they would be willing to support the U-17 and U-20 teams like they did the REGGAE GIRLZ. (Clap)(Clap)