Start of a new era!!!

• Start of a new era!!!

Yes some may say it is way too early to say that, however I have been listening to TappaTalk over the past few months and just hearing how his football mind has opened up beyond the instinctually right thing to do!

Like most of us as schoolboys it was all about last minute all night swotting to pass an exam after not doing any work throughout the term that has been our approach to international football for the most part. It works to get by but you never achieve anything close to excellence and you just never can beat the mexico's and US teams much less Hond and CR with any consistency, well it is clear that Tappa's mind has really been extremely fertile and open to everything to improve the team and all the moves make it clear, the talk about guys coming to play for Ja and can't run 15 minutes hard, the poor concentration, picking players who want it!!! picking players looking at aptitude first and foremost, leaving out those with the lack of the right approach, yeah i love this all the time we wasted over the past 15 years arguing over guys who were prima donnas who ended up achieving nothing, yet people still want to call their name as if they did something (thank god that track and field is a sport that every performance is clearly measured and their is no doubt who the best is otherwise some of us would probably have some sprinter with perfect form running for jamaica and Bolt would be home in Trelawney farming yams), even the recent article on them carrying their chef to Brasil shows a different approach, a benchmarking of the best approach, total process improvement in all phases of the games is the ticket to Concacaf domination and it is this approach that is the start of a new era!!

The game against Grenada is just one game, but I have never seen us play Grenada like that, the thing I have always loved about top class ball when it is played really well on the defensive side is how committed teams can just shut down opposing sides with close marking and team defense.

The game that comes to mind was the Brazil vs France game the year France won the world cup, Brazil came in the fancied side and France just shut them down, Brazil could not string three passes together for most of the game, I saw some of that yesterday by Ja and it was incredible.

I also saw what I call the blitz on the opposing team defense when they were trying to move the ball in their half, i first saw that with Argentina in a game and they pressed the defense so hard they created a number of chances in the first 5 to 10 minutes of the game, ja was doing some of that, especially in the first half, this defensive domination was almost perfect in the first half and fell off somewhat in the second, as Grenada was actually able to move the ball a little in our half in the 2nd, we also saw Grenada's midfielders being consistently beaten to open balls and even just having our guys just take the ball from them literally "boxing shyte out of hog mouth", I even started to wonder what the hell had gotten in them; they were unusually aggressive and consistently anticipated the Grenadian players moves.

Is just one game still but man if a game could tell a story, this one definitely tells me something has changed and I haven't even talked about the attacking side of the ball, anyway I leave that to everyone else, except to say the score should have been 8-0 .

Excellent game, that is the way to play Grenada!!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
    The game against Grenada is just one game, but I have never seen us play Grenada like that...
    True, but have you ever seen such a pathetic Grenada?

I have no reason to believe that grenada came to this tournament to be embarrased, they called in a bunch of pretty competent pro ballers and the base of the team is still there, thus from my standpoint the thing that has changed is Jamaica and we see clear evidence of that in clear and definitive terms, we saw thinggs last night we don't normally ever see a a Jakan team do, so the Grenadians were in shock and never recovered as they couldn't get the ball or string three passes together as the pressure was overwhelming.

we will see the real deal in our next game and in Grenada's next game as well.

Yes, we should be better able to see where we are.

I have no reason to believe that grenada came to this tournament to be embarrased, they called in a bunch of pretty competent pro ballers and the base of the team is still there, thus from my standpoint the thing that has changed is Jamaica and we see clear evidence of that in clear and definitive terms, we saw thinggs last night we don't normally ever see a a Jakan team do, so the Grenadians were in shock and never recovered as they couldn't get the ball or string three passes together as the pressure was overwhelming.

Nobody comes to the tourney to be embarrassed, but some do come underprepared. We should know that!

The fact is Grenada was hit with a brick. The size of the field and the speed of the forwards stop them from committing forward.

Could it be the 3-4-3 that made the difference as they lost so many balls in midfield and Shelton, Johnson and Dane was constantly changing and giving them problems.

One of my major concern before the game was the confidence of Johnson since he hasn't been scoring lately. I hope he has gotten it back for the rest of the tournament.

We a go bury the next side we play too. Watch and see.

yuh ah joke.. from mi si all Decoy a pass ball like dat.. is drugs dem deh pon !

Since when dem learn fi one touch inna di miggle ah di field ? mi nevah si one idle dribble ! bare off ball movement did ah gwaan...

At one point mi si 3 defender line off pon wi half line and 3 mid-fieldah widdin 10 yards.. mi all ah count 3 an 4 yellow jersey round di man wid di ball..

long passes were tactical and accurate beating the opposing defence all day..

As di man seh.. dem nevah play Grenada suh evah...

I was impressed by Dicoy's passing. Some nice one touch passes from him.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Guatemala will be without its best defender Gustavo Cabrera, and reserve defender Henry Medina who will be suspended for Friday's match. They were both sent off for two yellow cards in the match against Honduras.

Love di analysis an analogy, it mek di ting plain as day. Wi ah tek time an get di ting in ordah, kah one day wi ago run tings but di foundation haffi buil fuss. Love di side yah is a shame, ah did seh from long time dat dis side ago bettah dan 98, an mi still ah hol pan dat deh. Aldough mi know seh dem haffi qualify fuss fi tek dem stripe. Any day Dada start, one ah dem midfieler deh get cramp an paralze. Membah Bibi an Messam ah supmn likkah dat mi envision. Mi bias still kah mi rate likkle balah nuff nuff.

I hear you. I saw some of the comments from the G coach and it's clear that they have had a few issues putting this thing together, so we will see.

Like one person said not sure who said it, but one thing we still seeing is an issue with the first touch and then release of the ball, it would be interesting to time that average possession time of the ball player from first touch to release of the ball when there is no dribbling involved just receipt and pass, it occurs to me that if barcelona's average is .75 of a second we would probably be at 1.5 seconds all the difference in really maintaining possession when you face much better opposition, faster, fitter and savvy.

Anybody still have that last Barcelona game if any one have some time, pull out a stopwatch and see how long that possession time is per player from receiving the ball to passing the ball for an average pass, maybe do the first 10 passes in the barcelona game and then the first ten passes of the Ja/gren game, I think it would tell an interesting story.

I hear you. I saw some of the comments from the G coach and it's clear that they have had a few issues putting this thing together, so we will see.

Like one person said not sure who said it, but one thing we still seeing is an issue with the first touch and then release of the ball, it would be interesting to time that average possession time of the ball player from first touch to release of the ball when there is no dribbling involved just receipt and pass, it occurs to me that if barcelona's average is .75 of a second we would probably be at 1.5 seconds all the difference in really maintaining possession when you face much better opposition, faster, fitter and savvy.

Anybody still have that last Barcelona game if any one have some time, pull out a stopwatch and see how long that possession time is per player from receiving the ball to passing the ball for an average pass, maybe do the first 10 passes in the barcelona game and then the first ten passes of the Ja/gren game, I think it would tell an interesting story.
                        Nice post, boss!

That stepping up of the pace of the game as we move forward...and possession (what the players - the guy with the ball and those moving off the ball and what is done with the ball) will tell us how good is this team.

Besides a recognition of the relatively slow pace of the Grenada game there were too many 'giving aways' of the ball. ...but no one could say we have not made huge strides in the right direction ----> that of necessary TEAM ball.

All the great TEAMs played great TEAM ball...suh wi a wah? Nuh great TEAM wi waan play tuh?!
                        FORWARD!
                        Last edited by Karl; June 14, 2011, 11:29 AM.

Yes very nice improvement overall, however the Honduras game showed ssome serious weakness in the foundation of the style.

they got seriously agressive in the last 30 miutes and dominated play, that aggression neutralised our possession of the ball, as they were winning the 50/50 balls and they were stripping our huys of the ball, that is why the Honduras coach said i like what I see, as they demonstrated fighting spirit. We were still too relaxed in passing and multiple mistakes in transition and in midfield that could have led to a goal, howeer the defense held up as some of the improvved defense tactics did not allow honduras to truly get off any good shots so that is a good thing.

The second half of the second half did not show serious weakness in the foundation.. it showed what happens when they stray from the style that is clearly established based on the first two games and 2/3rds of the Honduras game.

I suspect the mentality was to be aggressive and counter rather than possess and run down the clock.. Honduras scoring would still see us through so real fear... I am sure there is a 'kill game' strategy that relies on their new found ability to keep possession... might be a tyad factor since they were losing the 50-50 balls they would normally win.. also did not see the new defend in numbers as much.. more single up play..

Even so.. Honduras did not get very good looks with all that 'pressure'..

Give thanks my yout!