Alan Hansen: Barcelona are the greatest - but my Liverpool w

• Alan Hansen: Barcelona are the greatest - but my Liverpool w

Alan Hansen: Barcelona are the greatest - but my Liverpool would have tested them more

I played in a Liverpool team which dominated Europe and have witnessed the likes of Ajax, Bayern Munich and AC Milan enjoy similar periods of success, but the current Barcelona team are simply the greatest club side I have seen.

I say that without hesitation. For all of the dominance we enjoyed at Liverpool or the sustained excellence of Milan, neither of those teams encapsulated the style and sensational football that Barcelona are now producing to such a devastating effect.

Their football is so easy on the eye and, after the football cynics having had a field day for so long, Barcelona are such a good advert for the game because they are producing football that has taken the sport to another level.
    Even if you are not interested in football, it would be impossible to watch Barcelona’s performance against Manchester United at Wembley and not marvel at just how good they are.
    If you had to produce three robots to deliver 10 out of 10 performances in a football match, they could not perform any better than Lionel Messi, Xavi and Andres Iniesta did against United.
    You simply cannot defend against the three of them when they are in such form. Their quick feet, technique and artistry is phenomenal and it renders their passing and movement impossible to deal with.

Very little surprises me in football. Wayne Rooney’s overhead kick for United against Manchester City earlier this was a special moment, but we have seen overhead kicks before.

There were moments in the game at Wembley on Saturday, however, when I saw things that I have never seen before. Barcelona’s inter-passing, Messi’s movement and ability to find space and the attacking brilliance of their forward players left me wondering how on Earth you could stop it.

Inter Milan showed last season, when they eliminated Barcelona in the Champions League semi-finals, that they can be stopped, but to do that, you have to be negative and not allow Barcelona to play. You have to make sure that you play really well and that they don’t, but Barcelona are so good that it is always going to be extremely difficult to beat them. The Liverpool team that I played in during the late 1970s and early 1980s won four European Cups in eight seasons and I’m certain that we would have given Barcelona a better game than United did at Wembley.

Barcelona decimated an average United team who had no answer to their opponents ability. Our Liverpool team were a much stronger team than the present United outfit, but we would still have had to find a way of nullifying Messi, Xavi and Iniesta. You can’t really blame United’s players for the manner of their defeat. Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic are two of the best defenders the Premier League has seen, they are clearly no duds, but Barcelona cut through them like a hot knife through butter.

And in Messi, they have a player who is on a different planet to anybody else. At one point, he dropped his shoulder and sent three United defenders and half the crowd behind the goal the wrong way. He was absolutely amazing at Wembley. The hallmark of any player is the ease of which he finds time and space, but Messi somehow finds that space in an area as congested at that between the six and 18 yard box. He almost dances with the ball and I have never seen a player with such quick feet and the ability to finish that Messi possesses.

The debate now will be whether he is the best player the world has seen and, at just 23, that is something that can only be answered once he has replicated his club success on the international stage. But there can surely be no debate over Barcelona’s standing as the best club side of all-time.
    I still think that the best team in the history of the game is Brazil’s World Cup-winning side of 1970, because they had something like nine sensational players in the same side.

But this Barcelona side do remind me of the Brazilians I faced in 1982, the best team never to win the World Cup, because on top of Messi, Xavi and Iniesta they also have a great goalscorer in David Villa.
    The challenge facing Pep Guardiola and his players now is to dominate the Champions League by winning it again and again for a period of years, like the great dynasties of Real Madrid, Ajax, Bayern, Liverpool and Milan. It is extremely difficult for any team to do that, but Barcelona are so good that they really could go on to win the European Cup four or five times on the trot.

Great dynasties,not empires....lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Wid Barnes, Beardsley, Rush, Nicol, McMahon etc.. wouldah mek di Barcelona side haffi duh nuff defending. An wid teacha Barnes pan dem, dem wouldah haffi defen him wid about tree playahs wid success. Dat deh side ah mi favourite Liverpool side, kah my teacha ballah destroy people fi fun lef right an center. Ask di current Liverpool Manager bout him, wicked like death.

Originally posted by myYout View Post
        Wid Barnes, Beardsley, Rush, Nicol, McMahon etc.. wouldah mek di Barcelona side haffi duh nuff defending. An wid teacha Barnes pan dem, dem wouldah haffi defen him wid about tree playahs wid success. Dat deh side ah mi favourite Liverpool side, kah my teacha ballah destroy people fi fun lef right an center. Ask di current Liverpool Manager bout him, wicked like death.
        It is hard to compare teams across decades like this. Teams today are fitter and faster but not necessarily more entertaining or creative. Barnes was a great left winger, no doubt and they really did "pass and move". Kenny Dalglish is on his way to recreating that style with a revamping of the current Liverpool team, watch him closely.

Nuff defending ?

Why would they have to do nuff defending with 75% possession ??

Is like unnuh nuh unnastan a basic concept.. if yuh nuh have di ball yuh couldah skill likkle more..

[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif, 'MS sans serif']Barcelona 1-2 Liverpool

By Chris Bevan

Craig Bellamy celebrated his goal by imitating a golf swing

Craig Bellamy and John Arne Riise both scored as Liverpool shocked holders Barcelona at the Nou Camp in the first leg of their Champions League tie.
            Deco nodded Barca in front from Gianluca Zambrotta's precise cross.
            But Liverpool dug in and they levelled when Barca keeper Victor Valdes let Bellamy's header creep over the line.
            Barca poured men forward but the Reds took the lead when Bellamy teed up Riise to fire home and they held on to win despite seeing Deco hit the post.

Interview: Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez
            Interview: Liverpool's Steven Gerrard

The pre-match headlines had been all about an alleged training camp fracas between Bellamy and Riise - but both were in Liverpool's starting line-up and instantly linked up as the Reds made a confident start to the game.
            Inside the first four minutes Steven Gerrard released Riise and his driven cross from the left was only just too strong for the Welshman.
            But an attacking Barca line-up - with Javier Saviola flanked up front by Ronaldinho and Lionel Messi - were soon into their stride.
            Saviola had already been harshly called offside after breaking clear when Deco had a dangerous shot blocked by Jamie Carragher.
            So it was no real surprise when the home side took the lead on 14 minutes.
            606: DEBATE

In the end we weren't even outplayed. We've got an excellent chance to win now!

HB

606: Have your say

Zambrotta escaped Gerrard on the left and, with Riise napping, his cross found Deco on his own at the far post to score with a bullet header.
            It almost got worse for Rafa Benitez's side as Barcelona looked to press home their advantage.
            The Reds had no answer to the home side's quick incisive passing that gave them two more chances in quick succession.
            First Saviola shot wide after getting past Carragher, then Jose Reina had to make a good low save to deny Deco after he had ghosted on to Messi's through ball.
            But Liverpool rode the storm and two minutes before half-time they were handed an unlikely route back into the game.
            Much has been made of Barca's recent defensive vulnerability and it reared its head again here, thanks to a disastrous mistake by goalkeeper Victor Valdes.
            John Arne Riise celebrates Liverpool's winner

Bellamy had already escaped the Barcelona defence once to nod Gerrard's free-kick against the side-netting and he was soon at it again.
            The Wales striker was all on his own to meet Steve Finnan's cross and, although Valdes caught the ball, he carried it over the line before pushing it back out.
            Dirk Kuyt followed up to make absolutely sure of the equaliser but it was not a surprise to see Bellamy claim the goal after his turbulent week - and he celebrated it with a golf swing.
            Frank Rijkaard's side seemed to run out of ideas and, in the absence of any clear gameplan, settled for sending more men forward.
            That played into Liverpool's hands and another Valdes error gave them their first chance of the second half when he picked up a back-pass with 20 minutes left.
            The keeper saved Gerrard's shot with his feet and was glad to see Kuyt head over when Alonso swiftly sent over an inviting cross.
            But Benitez did not have to wait long to see his side go ahead.
            Reina saved well from Saviola and, when Liverpool came forward again, Valdes denied Kuyt - but the ball fell for Bellamy who fed Riise to sweep the ball home.
            There was still time for Deco to send a free-kick curling against the post with Reina beaten but Liverpool held on for a famous victory.

Barcelona: Valdes, Belletti, Marquez, Puyol, Zambrotta, Xavi (Giuly 65), Motta (Iniesta 54), Deco, Messi, Saviola (Gudjohnsen 82), Ronaldinho.
            Subs Not Used: Jorquera, Van Bronckhorst, Thuram, Oleguer.
            Booked: Belletti, Zambrotta.
            Goals: Deco 14.
            Liverpool: Reina, Arbeloa, Carragher, Agger, Riise, Finnan, Sissoko (Zenden 84), Alonso, Gerrard, Bellamy (Pennant 80),Kuyt (Crouch 90).
            Subs Not Used: Dudek, Hyypia, Gonzalez, Mascherano.
            Booked: Agger, Kuyt, Sissoko, Bellamy.
            Goals: Bellamy 43, Riise 74.
            [/FONT]

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That was a rahtid game. Your hero Rafa at his tactical finest (even with Bellamy's golf club incident, the team were "a team").

Barnes alone tek dem on and run tings wid Beardsley an Rush jus to name a few. Wickedes Liverpool side evah run ball, di 75% wouldah cut inna half. Swarm defense ongle can hole man weh nah nuh skill, mi nah dis Barca still but dem hab ah wicked yout like Barnes inna him prime, suh dem deadly is a shame.

It was done in the Nou camp ! done talk, how quick people forget.

And in Messi, they have a player who is on a different planet to anybody else. At one point, he dropped his shoulder and sent three United defenders and half the crowd behind the goal the wrong way.

Dago Gordon did that inna stadium as well!