Marlon King agrees to sign new Coventry City deal

• Marlon King agrees to sign new Coventry City deal

Jamaican international Marlon King won the supporters' player of the season award.

--
    Coventry City striker Marlon King has verbally agreed to sign a new two-year deal with the club.
    King joined City last September following his release from prison, and finished the campaign as top scorer with 13 goals in 29 appearances.
    The 31-year-old will sign the contract when he returns from a break.
    Chief executive Paul Clouting told BBC Coventry and Warwickshire: "We are delighted that Marlon has shown loyalty to the club."
    He added: "Scoring goals is the way to get out of the Championship and it's great news for the club that a player of Marlon's calibre has committed to the club.
    King ended the season with six goals in six games

"He is the player that the supporters have wanted to hear about.
    "It shows the ambition that we have."
    King, who won the supporters' player of the season award, had been linked with a move to Championship rivals Leicester City.
    Sky Blues chairman Ken Dulieu believes the news is a great start to the close season.
    He said: "We promised supporters that we would do everything we could to keep the best players here at Coventry City and this is great step towards that.
    "Marlon proved in the second half of the season that he is a fantastic striker and that he is capable of scoring goals.
    "We had always hoped that we could convince Marlon to stay and have worked tirelessly with Andy Thorn to make this happen.
    "We regard Marlon as pivotal to our objective of building a team capable of competing effectively in the Championship and hope this also sends a strong signal to the other players that we are talking to about our ambition for the club."

My question is why isn't he in the Gold Cup squad?

Jamaica does not have a reliable goal scorer and he can fill that need.

kmt, marlon king shouldn't come anywhere near jamaican football again. u guys are so pathetic man. marlon king is washed up. a unnuh same one did a bring burton inna him old washed up state

You got no sense. Please tell me how a footballer who has had an outstanding season is washed up?

an outstanding season at what level? get the eff outta here with unnuh Marlon King. Overhyped rux dat. Career done. i'd prefer tappa carry a promising 14 yr old over a old washed up striker.

Somebody's been drinking.

Originally posted by mecca85 View Post
                My question is why isn't he in the Gold Cup squad?
                With his criminal record it could be difficult to enter the U.S.

Zzzep yuh think andy carrol,steven gerrard, and fernindad would have the same problems?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                    kmt, marlon king shouldn't come anywhere near jamaican football again. u guys are so pathetic man. marlon king is washed up. a unnuh same one did a bring burton inna him old washed up state
                    Whatever you are smoking, I don't want any. Marlon King is, by far, our best available striker; end of argument.

well, if he's our best available striker, we are doomed, i can tell u dat much. he is like Burton; every knowledgeable football fan hates him. a jus some eediat wha still a big him up fi him past believe in him. him best days done and gone. we look so desperate when we call on players like him.

Lionpaw, you are clearly a retard who hasn't the slightest clue as to what is going on. Do yourself a favor and get educated.

I doubt it. He is just a plain ignorant fool who just doesn't know anything about football and spotting talented players.

Zzzep yuh think andy carrol,steven gerrard, and fernindad would have the same problems?
                            Doubtful, since none of them have a criminal record that can compare to the record that King has. In fact, King is currently a registered sex offender and will be for several more years.

So being a woman abuser , man abuser(Carroll and Gerrard ) and drug abuser(Rio) gets you a bly ? or is it that they are english superstars ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.