Jamaica steals a U.S. youth player
RE: Jamaica steals a U.S. youth player
I understand there are Jamaicans in different parts of the world with outstanding football pedigree.
I cannot vouch for the following but I understand that there is a Jamaican who is in some academy in France who is U-20 and is a very good player."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Gamma (1/29/2007)gi wi back sanya richards, mark chung, robin fraser.......
we nuh t'ief...we can claim what is ours though.No need to thank me forumites.
Heh heh. I knew that the thread title would rattle a few heads around here. I wanted an attention grabber and apparently I got one!
Ihad beenthinking about Fraser, and also Cunningham, too. Interestingly enough, Canadians could also lament Mark Chung. That's where he was born, after all."Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Maudib (1/29/2007)You would be hard pressed to find a USA player to make the Reggaeboyz first 11.
Maybe GK.. or spot in defense.
*I think you are correct in that personal technical ability...i.e. one and one with ball only...appears much higher in our Jamaica players.
Why then we do not have as disciplined - in use of our technical abilities and expression in our tactical play - playersand therefore superior TEAMs to that put on the field by the USA?
*As general statement - I thinkEddie Johnson...the pre-World cup finals EddieJohnson...would make outr team."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I also think it depends on the criteria one is using. Individualism or team work.
Looking back on our '98 (+)team for the comparisons I draw: If you started with let's say Tappa and Reyna, only,on any size field with any size goal, I would bet any money on Tappa coming out on top (scoring). Add Andy Williams and Chris Armas to the appropriate team and we would still come out on top.
However, as you start adding new players and the emphasis turns to team play, our effectiveness (or potential) tend to be less than optimal. Clearly most of us know therein lies the problem
So, while a one-to-one comparison is fine and the answer might well be that none of them wouldn't make our team.For me it speaks to my believe that we emphasize some of the wrong things in our early programs)?)/club game and I think frankly while on the field.
Guidance
Picking Tappa to score more than Reyna is hardly saying much. Reyna was never known for his eye for goal. There were other qualities that kept him playing 1st division European football for well over a decade.
And I'm not sure of what you mean regarding Armas, as he was an unknown during the 98 World Cup and didn't come along till a few years later. But you're right that he was never much of a goalscorer.
I think Jamaica has some players with good individual skills. Bibi, Whitmore and Fuller come to mind.
But suggesting that we don't have any suggests either some serious ignorance or just flat out denial.
Just think of the when we beat you guys 2-1 back in October of 2001 to qualify for the World Cup. O'Brien was turning the Jamaican defendes inside out with his dribbling down the left. And Donovan smoked Tyrone Marshall in the box to win the penalty.
Hell, if anyone doubts we have better players on a 1v1 just watch pretty much any game Beasley has played against you guys.
If you want something more recent just go back to last week's game against Denmark and watch Justin Mapp's assist on this goal:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmRHmP0b8q4
And saying that we have no one that could make your starting 11 is pure comedy. Anyone seen McBride at Fulham lately? Over the course of the last year he has scored goals in the Premier League against Man Utd, Chelsea and Arsenal.
Yeah, I see plenty of Jamaican forwards doing similar things.