Mohamed Bin Hammam and Jack Warner charged by FIFA

• Mohamed Bin Hammam and Jack Warner charged by FIFA

Mohamed Bin Hammam and Jack Warner charged by FIFA over alleged bribes in presidential election
    By Paul Kelso (The Telegraph)

The extraordinary allegations will throw the presidential race into chaos just a week before the presidential vote in Zurich and threaten a schism in the governing body.

Fifa has acted after receiving a report from Fifa executive committee member Chuck Blazer regarding Bin Hammam and Warner’s conduct at the CFU meeting on May 10-11.

Blazer’s allegations are understood to be supported by affidavits from the witnesses prepared by lawyers.

In a statement Fifa said: On 24 May 2011, Fifa Executive Committee member and Concacaf General Secretary Chuck Blazer reported to Fifa Secretary General Jérôme Valcke possible violations of the Fifa Code of Ethics allegedly committed by officials.

In particular, the report referred to a special meeting of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU), apparently organised jointly by Fifa Vice-President Jack A. Warner and Fifa Executive Committee member Mohamed bin Hammam, which took place on 10 and 11 May 2011. This meeting was linked to the forthcoming Fifa presidential election.

In view of the facts alleged in this report, which include bribery allegations, Fifa Secretary General Jérôme Valcke, in compliance with art. 16 of the Fifa Code of Ethics, yesterday requested the Fifa Ethics Committee to open ethics proceedings.

Subsequently, the Fifa Ethics Committee today, 25 May 2011, opened a procedure against the following officials:

– Fifa Vice-President Jack A. Warner

– Fifa Executive Committee member Mohamed bin Hammam

– CFU official Debbie Minguell

– CFU official Jason Sylvester

The aforementioned officials have been invited to take position by 27 May 2011 and to attend a hearing by the Fifa Ethics Committee at the Home of Fifa (Zurich) on 29 May 2011.

Based on art. 87.1 of the Fifa Disciplinary Code and art. 17.2 of the Fifa Code of Ethics, the chairman of the Fifa Ethics Committee, Claudio Sulser, has declined to participate in this Fifa Ethics Committee meeting due to the Swiss nationality he shares with Joseph S. Blatter, a candidate for the forthcoming Fifa presidency.

The meeting will therefore be chaired by the deputy chairman of the Fifa Ethics Committee, Petrus Damaseb (Namibia). No additional comments will be made by Fifa until further notice.

The decision to suspend Bin Hammam throws his candidacy in to doubt, but will also lead to questions of Fifa’s motives in acting now.

There are also likely to be implications for Qatar’s 2022 World Cup, which is already the subject of allegations of corruption published in the British Parliament.

The charges against Warner, a staunch Blatter ally for more than a decade, seem to signal the end of his hugely controversial tenure as Fifa’s most influential power-broker.

Bin Hammam attended the CFU meeting after visa problems meant he was unable to attend the annual congress of the Concacaf confederation, of which Warner is president, in Miami, earlier in the month.

Each of Fifa’s 208 member associations has a vote in the presidential election, investing huge influence in larger confederations such as Concacaf, and making individual lobbying crucial.

Following the Concacaf meeting, attended by Blatter, Warner appeared to offer his backing for the president, advising him to spend his time lobbying where it might be more “useful”.

The Blatter camp remained anxious about Warner’s influence and support however, and Bin Hammam’s visit was an opportunity for the challenger to make his case directly to 30 voting members, 15 per cent of the electorate.

Warner has long been considered the kingmaker in the presidential election with his control of the 40 Concacaf votes the key to either candidate’s success.

His support has been crucial to Blatter’s two previous contested elections, in 1998 and 2002, and he helped ensure that there was no challenger in 2007.

In return Blatter has helped ensure that repeated scandals, most notably his sale of 2006 World Cup tickets intended for Trinidad fans through a family travel firm, have not cost him his post on Fifa’s executive committee.

After the CFU meeting Warner warned delegates that they might face allegations of wrongdoing, but to ignore them.

“You will hear the president of Asia came here for your vote and he gave you, a Benz for you, a Benz for you and a Benz for you,” said Warner.

“You will hear of course that he came from Asia and gave you a barrel of oil. You will hear those things.

“You will hear he gave you a ship and I am asking you, when you go back home, because [in] the media, everybody believes the worst thing possible.

“When you go back home, you hold your head high and you will tell your members that you were not part of this international nonsense.”

The charges Warner and Bin Hammam face mean such allegations can no longer be airily dismissed, and the future of Fifa will be shaped by the outcome of the legal and political battle about to be waged.

The Captain might be ready to make his move for the position.

yuh a talk it like a joke .... although jack grooming darryl

I want a Canadian in the post. But I won't hold my breath, Jack is a slippery snake.

Do you think it will benefit Jamaica if Burrell was CONCACAF president or is just a mini-JW?
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Do you think it will benefit Jamaica if Burrell was CONCACAF president or is just a mini-JW?
            Well, it shouldn't benefit Jamaica any more than any other member country. That's the problem I have with the whole political nature of FIFA. The reason I say a Canadian is that they are the only country in the region where I believe you could actually get an honest broker. Now that doesn't mean that Canadians can't be corrupt, but I have just lost so much faith in everyone else. It is very frustrating and sad to see how these self serving maggots have taken the game and twisted it into a tool to empower and enrich themselves without regard to the future. Unbelievable.

FIFA bribe crisis! Top officials charged after cash-for-votes scandal is exposed

By CHARLES SALE

Last updated at 8:51 AM on 26th May 2011

FIFA were in meltdown on Wednesday night, with allegations of top-level bribery and counter-claims of a dirty tricks campaign engulfing next week's presidential election.

Asian football chief Mohamed Bin Hammam, who is challenging Sepp Blatter, is alleged to have offered bundles of US dollar bills - of up to $40,000 (£25,000) - in exchange for votes during a football summit in the West Indies. He responded by claiming Blatter is behind attempts to discredit him.
              The bribery charges that will be heard by the FIFA ethics committee in Zurich on Sunday were made by American Chuck Blazer against his fellow FIFA executive committee members Bin Hammam and Jack Warner and two other Caribbean football officials.

The accused: Mohamed bin Hammam (right) is alleged to have offered cash in return for votes

It is the most serious corruption storm FIFA have faced and calls into question whether Hammam will be able to contest the election on June 1.
              The allegations concern a meeting in Trinidad this month, jointly organised by Warner and Bin Hammam, at which the Qatari presented his presidency case to the Caribbean Football Union.

Blazer's evidence is contained in a file put together by CONCACAF's Chicago-based lawyers containing sworn affidavits and damning pictures from CFU officials, who claim they were offered cash for 'development' projects.
              The man who blew the whistle: This is Chuck Blazer, 66, the portly CONCACAF general secretary who has plunged FIFA into the deepest corruption crisis in their history

Some of the money was accepted, according to the report. But a number of CFU delegates refused and reported back to Blazer, the CONCACAF general secretary, with their concerns.

The whistleblowers included the president of one of the CFU member countries.

Bin Hammam is known to have bankrolled the Caribbean event on May 10 and 11, reportedly paying for luxury accommodation at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Port of Spain and travel for the representatives from 22 CFU countries.

Blazer has alleged that 'violations were committed under the FIFA code of ethics in relation to the upcoming FIFA presidential election' - in other words cash for votes.
              A FIFA statement said: 'In view of the facts alleged in this report, which include bribery allegations, FIFA general secretary Jerome Valcke has requested the FIFA ethics committee to open proceedings.'

Two CFU officials, Debbie Minguell and Jason Sylvester, have also been charged. Bin Hammam quickly denied any wrongdoing, claiming his opponent Blatter was behind the attempts to derail his challenge.
              The Qatari said in a statement: 'This move is little more than a tactic being used by those who have no confidence in their own ability to emerge successfully from the FIFA presidential election.

'This has been a difficult and painful day for me. But if there is even the slightest justice in the world, these allegations will vanish in the wind.

'I completely deny any allegations of wrongdoing either intentionally or unknowingly while I was in the Caribbean. I will speak to Mr Warner on this subject and offer him my full support in ensuring we are discharged honourably by the FIFA ethics committee.

'I am confident that there is no charge to answer and that I will be free to stand in the election on June 1 as originally planned.'

Warner was similarly indignant, saying: 'I am not aware of any wrongdoing on my part and I shall listen to allegations made and respond accordingly. It is interesting to note the timing of these allegations and the hearing scheduled days before the FIFA presidential elections.'

However, the Blatter camp insists the FIFA president, who is seeking a fourth term, was travelling in Japan and played no part in any attempt to bring down his opponent.

But Blazer's claims from inside FIFA's decision-making body cannot easily be dismissed in the way FIFA's ethics committee are expected to brush aside allegations by former FA chairman Lord Triesman of corruption against four of the FIFA executive, including Warner.
              Some will see this as a payback by Blazer for Qatar winning the vote to host the 2022 World Cup, for which the United States were the hot favourites.
              But Blazer turning on his close CONCACAF ally Warner after all this time is extraordinary. The pair have presented a united front throughout all the controversies that have surrounded arch rogue Warner, with their confederation gaining strength and often pivotal bargaining power by always voting as a bloc.

A busy ethics committee are also due to receive the FA report conducted by James Dingemans, QC, into Triesman's allegations tomorrow. But that will pale into insignificance compared to Blazer's bombshell.

More...

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz1NRm61Oe1

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Geez man. This is just a little election time politics. The actions being taken now are to force people's hands to give support. After the election, all family business will again be kept private.

LOL...wha yuh say FIFA cleaning house from within ? no government intervention..lol .Change will come from within , by FIFA terms be it political.It will come.

Poor england , Serious thing for Blazer to attack Warner.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

LOL...wha yuh say FIFA cleaning house from within ? no government intervention..lol .Change will come from within , by FIFA terms be it political.It will come.

Poor england , Serious thing for Blazer to attack Warner.
                    "Poor England"? When I was telling you and Gamma that this had nothing to do with England unuh was a cry de I down. Why unuh nah come up wid something agains' Chuckie now? All of them - ALL OF THEM - need to go. They are ALL corrupt. Do you realize that 9 of the 24 members of the exco - that's a full 1/3+ - are dealing with corruption allegations? And unuh a worry 'bout England.

this has EVERYTHING to do with england with usa creeping in the back door. it is about the failed bids. nothing is being done now that wasn't being done before. bids have failed before, what is the difference with this one? england's feeling of entitlement...

will it change anything, i sincerely doubt it, but let's see.

It all happens at the oppourtune time.Timed in a FIFA election.England preparing for 2040 or 50.

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                          Mohamed Bin Hammam and Jack Warner charged by FIFA over alleged bribes in presidential election
                          By Paul Kelso (The Telegraph)

The extraordinary allegations will throw the presidential race into chaos just a week before the presidential vote in Zurich and threaten a schism in the governing body.

Fifa has acted after receiving a report from Fifa executive committee member Chuck Blazer regarding Bin Hammam and Warner’s conduct at the CFU meeting on May 10-11.

Blazer’s allegations are understood to be supported by affidavits from the witnesses prepared by lawyers.

In a statement Fifa said: On 24 May 2011, Fifa Executive Committee member and Concacaf General Secretary Chuck Blazer reported to Fifa Secretary General Jérôme Valcke possible violations of the Fifa Code of Ethics allegedly committed by officials.

In particular, the report referred to a special meeting of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU), apparently organised jointly by Fifa Vice-President Jack A. Warner and Fifa Executive Committee member Mohamed bin Hammam, which took place on 10 and 11 May 2011. This meeting was linked to the forthcoming Fifa presidential election.

In view of the facts alleged in this report, which include bribery allegations, Fifa Secretary General Jérôme Valcke, in compliance with art. 16 of the Fifa Code of Ethics, yesterday requested the Fifa Ethics Committee to open ethics proceedings.

Subsequently, the Fifa Ethics Committee today, 25 May 2011, opened a procedure against the following officials:

– Fifa Vice-President Jack A. Warner

– Fifa Executive Committee member Mohamed bin Hammam

– CFU official Debbie Minguell

– CFU official Jason Sylvester

The aforementioned officials have been invited to take position by 27 May 2011 and to attend a hearing by the Fifa Ethics Committee at the Home of Fifa (Zurich) on 29 May 2011.

Based on art. 87.1 of the Fifa Disciplinary Code and art. 17.2 of the Fifa Code of Ethics, the chairman of the Fifa Ethics Committee, Claudio Sulser, has declined to participate in this Fifa Ethics Committee meeting due to the Swiss nationality he shares with Joseph S. Blatter, a candidate for the forthcoming Fifa presidency.

The meeting will therefore be chaired by the deputy chairman of the Fifa Ethics Committee, Petrus Damaseb (Namibia). No additional comments will be made by Fifa until further notice.

The decision to suspend Bin Hammam throws his candidacy in to doubt, but will also lead to questions of Fifa’s motives in acting now.

There are also likely to be implications for Qatar’s 2022 World Cup, which is already the subject of allegations of corruption published in the British Parliament.

The charges against Warner, a staunch Blatter ally for more than a decade, seem to signal the end of his hugely controversial tenure as Fifa’s most influential power-broker.

Bin Hammam attended the CFU meeting after visa problems meant he was unable to attend the annual congress of the Concacaf confederation, of which Warner is president, in Miami, earlier in the month.

Each of Fifa’s 208 member associations has a vote in the presidential election, investing huge influence in larger confederations such as Concacaf, and making individual lobbying crucial.

Following the Concacaf meeting, attended by Blatter, Warner appeared to offer his backing for the president, advising him to spend his time lobbying where it might be more “useful”.

The Blatter camp remained anxious about Warner’s influence and support however, and Bin Hammam’s visit was an opportunity for the challenger to make his case directly to 30 voting members, 15 per cent of the electorate.

Warner has long been considered the kingmaker in the presidential election with his control of the 40 Concacaf votes the key to either candidate’s success.

His support has been crucial to Blatter’s two previous contested elections, in 1998 and 2002, and he helped ensure that there was no challenger in 2007.

In return Blatter has helped ensure that repeated scandals, most notably his sale of 2006 World Cup tickets intended for Trinidad fans through a family travel firm, have not cost him his post on Fifa’s executive committee.

After the CFU meeting Warner warned delegates that they might face allegations of wrongdoing, but to ignore them.

“You will hear the president of Asia came here for your vote and he gave you, a Benz for you, a Benz for you and a Benz for you,” said Warner.

“You will hear of course that he came from Asia and gave you a barrel of oil. You will hear those things.

“You will hear he gave you a ship and I am asking you, when you go back home, because [in] the media, everybody believes the worst thing possible.

“When you go back home, you hold your head high and you will tell your members that you were not part of this international nonsense.”

The charges Warner and Bin Hammam face mean such allegations can no longer be airily dismissed, and the future of Fifa will be shaped by the outcome of the legal and political battle about to be waged.
                          Two links worth a read

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...ociations.html

http://www.transparencyinsport.org/

You need to rise and see the bigger picture... these allegations have been made for decades; failed bids are red herrings... unuh stay deh!

Our sins catch up to us in time

Originally posted by Me View Post
                              The Captain might be ready to make his move for the position.
                              Interesting read

http://www.transparencyinsport.org/j...er(page1).html