Jamaica's best left back, Bibi

RE: Jamaica's best left back, Bibi

Gamma (1/29/2007)hmmmm...mek i seh it louda.........we lack crativity and ball possession the midfield....i think if we can do that it will take the pressure off our defense and minimise the outa mi wife (heheheheh life)passes we need 2 or three midfielders to box the ball around...jj is a dribbler, omar is a dribbler, andy..less of of a dribbler but..

khari, maestro and bibi in the midfield can give us good ball possession...you disagree that's ok
    Maestro, eh?...the present Maestro?

Khari to be defensive midfielder?

Bibi to be defender and attacker?

...and, Maestro to be attacker?

I say dog nyam wi suppa? One bredda who has technical skill that staygood when employed at/during fast paced game...

...and, we shall survive at the TOP OF THE WORLD?

I do not think so!We need two or three! SoBibi and whom ...you would now suggest?

<DIV>Karl, this was one of the dumbest responses you have made on this site. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Let me narrow down the issues for clarity. Care to explain, Karl, this statement?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>"Bibi is a bit rusty...but, never in this life can he stay with Theo Walcott or one like Aaron Lennon of Tottenham. Bibi has good pace...but, notTOP OF THE WORLD pace."</DIV>

<DIV><DIV>sigh!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>
        Let me narrow down the issues for clarity. Care to explain, Karl, this statement?

"Bibi is a bit rusty...but, never in this life can he stay with Theo Walcott or one like Aaron Lennon of Tottenham.
        </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>He is rusty = His playing is not up to his usual standard...but, as he continues to play he shall return to his usual high standards.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>
        Bibi has good pace...but, not TOP OF THE WORLD pace."
        </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Well there are players...good players,who are slow....then there are other good playerswho are not as slow as those slow ones...then there are those good players who have good pace...but unfortunately they may not fall into the same category of quickness as those few good players whose pace can be considered TOP OF THE WORLD.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Bibi's pace is good = Bibi has good pace! Unfortunately his pace is not that which can be considered TOP OF THE WORLD! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Mosiah: Players have to have many attributes that contribute to having them become TOP OF THE WORLD players. There are many players who have a number of the attributes that TOP OF THE WORLD players MUST possess.A great many of such players are not...and, will never be TOP OF THE WORLD PLAYERS! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>...and yes...there are players who lack 'one or two' of the attributes that TOP OF THE WORLD PLAYERS lack and by using their other good qualities climb to the TOP OF THE WORLD. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>So you see it goes two ways -the player can have some of the attributes and never make it to TOP OF THE WORLD...yet, other players utilise their limited attributes so well that they 'step right in' ...into TOP OF THE WORLD class. Just look at the slow Tappa andthe slow Valderama - TOP THE WORLD players-bottom of the world pace!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Oh well... I tried, ...but...I am sure you did not getit! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Peace out! (Pray)</DIV></DIV>

Gamma (1/29/2007)damn...now this is a football discussion..of sorts. i have seen no argument to sway from my position.....reasonable minds may differ but i see the deployment of bibi in the midfield as being more beneficial to us than having him at left back....

over and OH YOU TEE
          Gamma, tenk yuh. (tup)

Nuff said. (Clap) (Clap)
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yuh right about one ting!

Gamma (1/29/2007)hmmmm...mek i seh it louda.........we lack crativity and ball possession the midfield....i think if we can do that it will take the pressure off our defense and minimise the outa mi wife (heheheheh life)passes we need 2 or three midfielders to box the ball around...jj is a dribbler, omar is a dribbler, andy..less of of a dribbler but..

khari, maestro and bibi in the midfield can give us good ball possession...you disagree that's ok
              Oh I got you. You are talking about the best position to play Gardner. Well he can certainly play at outside left midfield for us. I want him to play wherever he makes us the most dynamic.

If we were to assume that the most likely players to play at LB when Ricky moves up to the midfieldare Scarlett and Reid my biggest concern would be height.

I do not know how tall Reid is so I will just speak on Scarlett. If Scarlett was to play as aLB he would bea major liability whenballs are played to the back post.I thinkthe best spot for him would be theLM just based on that oneissue. He reminds me of the Nigerian player Babayaro who just could never really hold down a regular place in the EPL. The biggest problem for him was his inability to defend balls to the back post.

For some reason I have it in my head thatReid is 6'0 even.Please correct me if I am wrong. If Reid were to go toLB Ibelieve that it wouldactually be benificial to the Reggae Boyz to have Gardner at LM. It wouldallow us to be unpredictable and dynamicon the left side with two players who can cover alot of groundfor us. As well Reid can defend balls to the back post.So I agree with you if we can make sure to have a player tall enough to do the job at LB Ricky would serve us best at LM. - T.K.

T.K. (1/29/2007)[

I do not know how tall Reid is so I will just speak on Scarlett. If Scarlett was to play as aLB he would bea major liability whenballs are played to the back post.I thinkthe best spot for him would be theLM just based on that oneissue. He reminds me of the Nigerian player Babayaro who just could never really hold down a regular place in the EPL. The biggest problem for him was his inability to defend balls to the back post.
                If yuh weren't concerned about Gardner's height why would Scarlett's worry yuh? One hardly towers over the other!

Bibi is5'9 and still struggles with defending those balls to the back post. I have never heard an official height on Scarlett but he is a very small player. He can't be any taller then 5'7and even then I might be giving him an extra inch or two.Any team worth their salt would pick ona small wingback like that.I am not sure why we would want to exacerbate a weakness like that with a smaller wingback. Unless I have Scarletts height completely incorrect? How tall is he Mo? - T.K.

<DIV>
                    T.K. (1/30/2007)</DIV><DIV>Bibi is5'9 and still struggles with defending those balls to the back post. I have never heard an official height on Scarlett but he is a very small player. He can't be any taller then 5'7and even then I might be giving him an extra inch or two.Any team worth their salt would pick ona small wingback like that.I am not sure why we would want to exacerbate a weakness like that with a smaller wingback. Unless I have Scarletts height completely incorrect? How tall is he Mo? - T.K.</DIV><DIV>
                    </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>How tall is Scarlett? Well, that depends on which hairstyle he is sporting that day! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I wouldn't worry about that, personally. They are both good leapers, better than Roberto Carlos and a host of other short leftbacks. Their other assets make up for their lack of height.</DIV>

Mosiah (1/30/2007)<DIV>
                      T.K. (1/30/2007)</DIV><DIV>Bibi is5'9 and still struggles with defending those balls to the back post. I have never heard an official height on Scarlett but he is a very small player. He can't be any taller then 5'7and even then I might be giving him an extra inch or two.Any team worth their salt would pick ona small wingback like that.I am not sure why we would want to exacerbate a weakness like that with a smaller wingback. Unless I have Scarletts height completely incorrect? How tall is he Mo? - T.K.
                      </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>How tall is Scarlett? Well, that depends on which hairstyle he is sporting that day! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I wouldn't worry about that, personally. They are both good leapers, better than Roberto Carlos and a host of other short leftbacks. Their other assets make up for their lack of height.</DIV>
                      Roberto Carlos wasdefinitely a big time liability for Brazil. Fortunately for him he could hit a dead ball like no other whichwas worth its weight in gold. You look back at the France team that won the WC and a guy like Thuram who played at right wingback.....that really is your ideal wingback.

As for Bibi and Scarlettsother assets certainly make up for their height. Certainly....those assets have taken them professionally overseas with good success. All things being equal however you ideally want your wing backs to at least be 5'10.Well since nothing is perfect youplay with the cards that are dealt.- T.K.

Roberto Carlos' biggest asset to me is his speed (over ground, of course!) and fitness, back in the day, especially. He would sprint 80 metres back in the defence, and sprint back up to cross, all within seconds.

Mosiah (1/30/2007)Roberto Carlos' biggest asset to me is his speed (over ground, of course!) and fitness, back in the day, especially. He would sprint 80 metres back in the defence, and sprint back up to cross, all within seconds.
                          Certainly! - T.K.

Mosiah (1/30/2007)Roberto Carlos' biggest asset to me is his speed (over ground, of course!) and fitness, back in the day, especially. He would sprint 80 metres back in the defence, and sprint back up to cross, all within seconds.
                            ...and, he was also TOP OF THE WORLD in other areas - a) technical skill; b) free-kick taker; c) TEAM! = TOP OF THE WORLD player. (tup)(Clap)

Suh nuh badda wid dat...si-neee-kin way of trying to equate Shelton wid Roberto Carlos of yesteryear...damn..even today! Nuh badda! (N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)(N)

HUH?!?!?!