RE: Jamaica's best left back, Bibi

T.K. (1/28/2007)
    Lazie (1/28/2007)opps! Mi figet, Scarlett, and others can tek it from him any day. Anyway, he and his team just went into the fortress called the Emirates Stadium and drew 1-1 in their FA Cup tie.

Pity Bolton never have the likes of a Daley or Reid.
    Yeah man Lazie....with our football in the hands of these geniuses on the rock we should be in real good shape. - T.K.

T.K. (1/28/2007)[

Mosiah you show your ignorance time and time again. Bibi has just come off a LONG layoff form injury. When healthy he is one of the best left backs inthe EPL period. Stop trying to paint false picture of what is really going on. Gardner is simply rusty. It has nothing to do with his quality. It makes you wonder why you would leave that little information out. - T.K.
      Hence my very first post on the issue. So many of you failed to catch those few important words - "on present form". I do realise that he just came back. In my view, he came back a little too soon. But that's just the benefit of hindsight. Obviously, the gaffer knows his talent and thought if he replicates his wonderful performances last season, even 70%, then he should be okay. Well, I don't think the gamble worked. When was the last time you saw Bibi being substituted?

Pity we didn't all see the game to assess his performance.

Mosiah (1/28/2007)
        T.K. (1/28/2007)[

Mosiah you show your ignorance time and time again. Bibi has just come off a LONG layoff form injury. When healthy he is one of the best left backs inthe EPL period. Stop trying to paint false picture of what is really going on. Gardner is simply rusty. It has nothing to do with his quality. It makes you wonder why you would leave that little information out. - T.K.
        Hence my very first post on the issue. So many of you failed to catch those few important words - "on present form". I do realise that he just came back. In my view, he came back a little too soon. But that's just the benefit of hindsight. Obviously, the gaffer knows his talent and thought if he replicates his wonderful performances last season, even 70%, then he should be okay. Well, I don't think the gamble worked. When was the last time you saw Bibi being substituted?

Pity we didn't all see the game to assess his performance.
        Well on that I agree with you fully. I completely missedwhere you talkedabout present form. So if you did myapologies sir. If you goonpresent formthen I can see where Scarlett could take his spot on the Boyz. You play a must win game tomorrow a coach could easily decide that Scarlett gets Bibi's game. We see eye to eye on that. - T.K.

<DIV>We see eye to eye most of the time, but sometimes our emotions get the better of us.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And yes, Sensi was a bit harsh with the dunce talk. </DIV>

<DIV>"Bibi does not have TOP OF THE WORLD pace." - Joke of the Week!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Then again, by the looks lof this pic...</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV><DIV id=printReady>

Arsenal snatch 1-1 draw
            published: Monday | January 29, 2007
            <DIV class=KonaBody xVlvo="true">

Arsenal's Theo Walcott (right) is challenged by Bolton Wanderers' Ricardo Gardner during their FA Cup fourth round football match at the Emirates Stadium in London yesterday. The game ended 1-1. - Reuters

LONDON (Reuters)

Arsenal had to come from behind to snatch a 1-1 draw against bogey team Bolton Wanderers as champions Chelsea cruised into the FA Cup fifth round with a 3-0 win over third division Nottingham Forest yesterday.

Arsenal were heading for a first defeat at their Emirates Stadium after Kevin Nolan fired Bolton into a 50th minute lead and were only saved by a 77th minute header from Kolo Toure.

Chelsea had no such trouble, with Ukraine striker Andriy Shevchenko giving the Premier League champions a ninth-minute lead. Goals from Ivory Coast striker Didier Drogba and Nigerian midfielder John Obi Mikel decided the tie before half-time.

Manchester City joined them in today's fifth-round draw after coming from behind to beat second division <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Southampton</SPAN> 3-1, while West Bromwich Albion are through after a 3-0 win over Wolverhampton Wanderers in a second-tier Midlands derby.

Arsenal will not relish their <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">trip</SPAN> to the northwest and no love will be lost in the replay on February 14, St. Valentine's Day.

Hammered

Manchester City's Damarcus Beasley celebrates after scoring during their FA Cup fourth round football match against Southampton in Manchester, northern England yesterday. City won 3-1. - Reuters

Bolton, who hammered Arsenal 3-1 at the <A class=kLink oncontextmenu="return false;" id=KonaLink2 &#111;nmouseover=adlinkMouseOver(event,this,2); style="POSITION: static; TEXT-DECORATION: underline! important" &#111;nclick=adlinkMouseClick(event,this,2); &#111;nmouseout=adlinkMouseOut(event,this,2); href="http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20070129/sports/sports5.html#" target=_new><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! imp

Mosiah (1/29/2007)<DIV>"Bibi does not have TOP OF THE WORLD pace." - Joke of the Week!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Then again, by the looks lof this pic...</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV><DIV id=printReady>

Arsenal snatch 1-1 draw
              published: Monday | January 29, 2007
              <DIV class=KonaBody xVlvo="true">

Arsenal's Theo Walcott (right) is challenged by Bolton Wanderers' Ricardo Gardner during their FA Cup fourth round football match at the Emirates Stadium in London yesterday. The game ended 1-1. - Reuters

- Mosiah, Jan. 2007</DIV></DIV></DIV>
              What is the joke?

Have you been taking note of the many of his opponents who run by and away from him?

I am saying as I have always said, I need a REGGAE BOYZ TEAM where our X1 on the field and our reserves are top drawer in technical skill, quickness across ground, great reaction time - physical and with thought (mind) - and who naturally always play TEAM.

Bibi is quick of thought and physical reaction time...he has excellent technical skills...and, he has good speed...but, his speed is not TOP OF THE WORLD. He cannot run as fast as Henry, Drogba, Michael Owens, E'to, Ronaldinho, Theo Walcott, Aaron Lennon, anhd a whole host of wingers WE (the REGGAE BOYZ) SHALLMET as we climb to the TOP OF THE WORLD!

Will Bibi be able to hold his own and do more at the TOP OF THE WORLD? Damn right he shall if....if....if...he is surrounded withother REGGAE BOYZ who haveattributes similar to his!

Bibi's speedacross ground is not TOP OF THE WORLD pace!

Honest to God, I do not know what you want and expect of our REGGAE BOYZ? TOP OF THE WORLD TEAM or just "oh dem good, but cannot defeat the other TOP OF THE WORLD TEAMS"?

Well I want us to be at the very TOP OF THE WORLD...and, that makes me look for TEAM REGGAE BOYZ with TOP OF THE WORLD players with all the attributeswith which to make that TEAM.Sure it may be (I will not stop looking) not possible to have the X1 on the field and our reservesall at the TOP OF THE WORLD in everynecessary player skill...but, that does not...cannot mean we should not aim for such players in our TEAM...and, it damn well means we should see/observe andadmit our players are what they are.

Bibi is damn good...but, I wish he weresomewhat faster across ground! ...just as I wish he was more adept at using his right foot. The man is what he is - damn good...but...!!!!!

What is wrong with wanting more for ourselves!!!!??? ...and, refusing to lie to ourselves???

one player will always be faster...sorry, let's start again. One player will always have more "speed over ground" than the other. (In water, that's another matter all together, of course!) So, to simply write off his performance because of his inferior speed over ground...please!
                You are mixing up posts...or your thought process has gone haywire!

Write off Bibi? You are out of your f@#$%^&amp;in mind!

The man is our best defender! (tup)...forget the silly argument about best LB!

If that's the case, Jamaica should have no problem. I'm sure we could find 11 players who are faster than any other 11 in the world, so we should eventually be TOP OF THE WORLD in short order! No?
                The only answer to the above I can give is - :w00t:<DIV></DIV><DIV>
                First time I've ever heard somebody complain that Bibi's speed is not enuff to do the job. I don't care how fast Walcott, Lennon or Fabregas are, slower defenders can still do a good job to contain them, if they are any good at all.
                </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>That ofcouse is total nonsense if you are referring to any earlier post I made. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>
                In my opinion, Bibi is not having a particularly strong season, and his mistake today could have been very embarrassing
                .</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Yes! ...but, there is a reason his season has been not of his usual high standard.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The man is coming off a serious injury and I repeat - is a bit rusty! For Christ sake, how many matches has he played? Do you think it is normal for a human coming off serious injury to take some time to return to former full fitness...to former full abilities? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>mi dun!</DIV><DIV></DIV>

damn...now this is a football discussion..of sorts. i have seen no argument to sway from my position.....reasonable minds may differ but i see the deployment of bibi in the midfield as being more beneficial to us than having him at left back....

over and OH YOU TEE

Gamma (1/29/2007)damn...now this is a football discussion..of sorts. i have seen no argument to sway from my position.....reasonable minds may differ but i see the deployment of bibi in the midfield as being more beneficial to us than having him at left back....

over and OH YOU TEE
                    Um....Gamma with all due respect....what the hell are you talking about? Thanks in advance. - T.K.

Gamma (1/29/2007)damn...now this is a football discussion..of sorts. i have seen no argument to sway from my position.....reasonable minds may differ but i see the deployment of bibi in the midfield as being more beneficial to us than having him at left back....

over and OH YOU TEE
                      I can understatnd that! ...but, and I am somewhat open on how we goforward...i.e. what the composition ofTEAM may be. Now if Garfield Reid steps up to anywhere near to his full potential...???? ...and, Bibi proves to be great distributor and improves his threat to goal...then???? Could it then be that Bibi woulddevelop into being one of hopefullythree or four - (at this moment we do not have even one deggie-deggie midfield ace)- 'mid-field aces'?

Worked wonders in the qualifying game VS Haiti in Miami.

Good sense prevailedin the re-match.

That experiment hopefully met its desireable end against Haiti.

Bibi in midfield is not our best option.. he is a tweener and there is no player that Jamaica has at LB that good to put a tweenerlike Gardner (who happens to play LB in the EPL)in the Reggaeboyz midfield.

There is no other position on the Reggaeboyz that has an 8 year EPL veteran occupying it.. strange how 'fans' find that as a weakness.

hmmmm...mek i seh it louda.........we lack crativity and ball possession the midfield....i think if we can do that it will take the pressure off our defense and minimise the outa mi wife (heheheheh life)passes we need 2 or three midfielders to box the ball around...jj is a dribbler, omar is a dribbler, andy..less of of a dribbler but..

khari, maestro and bibi in the midfield can give us good ball possession...you disagree that's ok

Also imagine the threat on Goal Bibi presents.

At what point would you sub him... you do plan to sub him right ?

I was not harsh bredrin, the man is a damn idiot! He simply cannot have a civil discussion about a particular issue without resorting to tearing down Jamaica and Jamaicans...wellI guess it builds his self esteem.

<DIV>
                                Sensi (1/29/2007)I was not harsh bredrin, the man is a damn idiot! He simply cannot have a civil discussion about a particular issue without resorting to tearing down Jamaica and Jamaicans...wellI guess it builds his self esteem.
                                </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>That he does a lot, along with HL. And I hate it too!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>But, yeah, maybe you never had to go for the DUNCE term for this one. Not yet anyway.</DIV>