• U-17s draw tough opponents for WCup

U-17s draw tough opponents for WCup
    BY HOWARD WALKER Observer staff reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, May 18, 2011

JAMAICA'S Under-17s have been drawn in a tough Group B alongside Argentina, France and Japan for the FIFA Under-17 World Cup set for Mexico starting on June 18, but head coach Wendell Downswell remains optimistic.

"It's a tough draw. All the games in this World Cup are going to be tough and the group will be a challenging one for us," Downswell told the Observer yesterday after training.

MEXICO CITY, Mexico — Presenter Gordon Savic addresses the audience during the draw for the FIFA U-17 World Cup at the Nezahualcoyotl Concert Hall yesterday. (Photo: AFP)

"Argentina, one of the top teams; France and Japan are on the move, but our main intention is to focus on the first game against Japan and take it from there," he said.

Jamaica will open their campaign on June 18 in Monterrey against Asian outfit Japan, while play South American giants Argentina on the same day.
    Downswell knows the task at hand will be a mammoth one and was hoping he would have drawn an African or Central American team in the group.

The official draw was held at the famous Sala Nezahualcóyotl Concert Hall in the heart of Mexico City, and ended a nervous wait for the 24 finalists as they discovered the identity of their rivals in the group phase, which kicks off with hosts Mexico taking on Korea DPR in Morelia on June 18.

The event was reportedly attended by 600 guests and some 200 journalists. The red-carpet gala ceremony was full of colour and local charm and was streamed live on television.

Howard McIntosh, head of the Jamaica Football Federation's (JFF) technical committee, also acknowledged the massive task for the Jamaicans, who qualified as the fourth best team from CONCACAF.

"The first thing that came mind was the 1998 World Cup when we also drew Japan and Argentina in France. It was an easy connection to make," McIntosh said.

"But the truth is, when 24 countries being the top in the world and playing in the world Cup, there is no easy group. In a World Cup tournament it will be very difficult not to have a tough zone and some might argue that others get a tough zone, but you have to deal with the cards that you get," said McIntosh.

"Now the work begins with the final preparations and final touches, but we have some challenges because of exam and resources. The coaches are working hard and they can now start tactical training now that we know the teams... and move seriously to June 18," he added.
    The squad will depart for Mexico on June 7 and will participate in a pre-tournament camp.

"We have games already lined up... and some players might leave on the seventh and some on the ninth because of exams," said McIntosh, who said a practice game against Canada had been cancelled because of exam commitments.

However, the Under-17s are participating in the KSAFA Under-20 Confederation League as a guest team and have already won four games, drawn three and lost one.

FIFA U-17 World Cup Groups

Group A (Morelia/Monterrey): Mexico, North Korea, Congo, the Netherlands
    Group B (Monterrey/Morelia): Japan, Jamaica, France, Argentina.
    Group C (Pachuca/Torreon): Uruguay, Canada, Rwanda, England.
    Group D (Torreon/Pachuca): U.S., Czech Republic, Uzbekistan, New Zealand.
    Group E (Queretaro/Guadalajara): Burkina Faso, Panama, Germany, Ecuador.
    Group F (Guadalajara/Queretaro): Australia, Ivory Coast, Brazil, Denmark.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1MiHo5scj
    Last edited by Karl; May 18, 2011, 11:22 AM.

ok. they have to play them ... start working!!!

Dis competition ago deh pon TV?

I would put my money on it

How is the draw done? anyone knows? Is my observation as a result of a deliberate strategy in the draw?

Of six groups:
          1. No two European countries in any one group except for Uzbek and Czech (D)
          2. No two African teams in any one group
          3. No two South American in any one group
          4. No two CONCAF team in any one group
          5. No two Asian teams in any one group

Jamaica will open their campaign on June 18 in Monterrey against Asian outfit Japan, while play South American giants Argentina on the same day.
            Am I reading this correctly? Jamaica play Japan on June 18 and later that same day play Argentina? Tell me it is not so.

Thanks.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Error by omission Tilla. France will play Arg. the same day (I'm assuming that's what they want to say).

Sometimes when you read Jamaican sports columns you have fi do you own translation.

Mek sense now Jawge.

Thanks
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Dis competition ago deh pon TV?
                    Yep! Sportsmax already showing promos.

So there is no possibility that this present crop of Young Reggae Boyz can emulate what their Young brothers did in the 2007 Pan American Games.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Footbal...American_Games

ok. they have to play them ... start working!!!
                        Good chat!