• How many players have 1/2 the medals

this player have?

I think this picture is too early. A UCL trophy will be added nex week.

Yuh gwaan gloat.... Not sure who mi supporting fi the CL final.

Btw, Zlatan Ibrahimovic has won eight consecutive league titles and has more medals...

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          Btw, Zlatan Ibrahimovic has won eight consecutive league titles and has more medals...
          When yuh ready mek mi know. More medal in what? Hope yuh know taekwondo nuh count!

Paul Scholes

Good call dude.

How many of those players have won a World Cup at any age group stage. Now that would add to the overall achievement for any footballer. Just saying!

Originally posted by Jamaica2099 View Post
                  How many of those players have won a World Cup at any age group stage. Now that would add to the overall achievement for any footballer. Just saying!

Camronesi of Italy have a World Cup medal. Are you saying that bug was better than those who didn't win the World Cup? Zico, Socrates, Best, Cryuff?

Lazie, don't fall for that bait. It is a long standing position of many football pundits that a great player must be able to lift his team to the heights of world cup glory to be amongst the pantheon of football stars (Pele, Maradona, Beckenbauer etc). This is Messi's challenge for Brazil 2014. If he is to be among those illustrious names, he has to "carry" Argentina to a victory in 2014.

On one level, that is totally acceptable to me, as some great players play for teams with enough top talent and so should be able to rise to that test. CRonaldo is an example. Cruyff yet another. Messi as well. But not Giggs. Pele could have played for Wales and he would never have gotten any closer to hoisting the World Cup than you and me, well me anyway.

Giggs is among a select few to have won so many club honours. Unfortunately, he will never be given the respect outside England that DiStefano, Puskas, Zidane, Maldini etc. have been given because he has never won enough individual awards or a World Cup.

Lazie, don't fall for that bait. It is a long standing position of many football pundits that a great player must be able to lift his team to the heights of world cup glory to be amongst the pantheon of football stars (Pele, Maradona, Beckenbauer etc). This is Messi's challenge for Brazil 2014. If he is to be among those illustrious names, he has to "carry" Argentina to a victory in 2014.

On one level, that is totally acceptable to me, as some great players play for teams with enough top talent and so should be able to rise to that test. CRonaldo is an example. Cruyff yet another. Messi as well. But not Giggs. Pele could have played for Wales and he would never have gotten any closer to hoisting the World Cup than you and me, well me anyway.

Giggs is among a select few to have won so many club honours. Unfortunately, he will never be given the respect outside England that DiStefano, Puskas, Zidane, Maldini etc. have been given because he has never won enough individual awards or a World Cup.
                      Individual Awards? In 1999 when MU won the treble. Who was leading goalscorer in the EPL? Who was leading goalscorer in the UCL?

Lazie, why you always looking for argument? You didn't even acknowledge that I am giving Giggs his due but trying to tell you that despite his monumental career, he won't be regarded in the same esteemed way as some of his peers because his list of individual awards are not in the same league as the others I mentioned.

For example, compare Giggs individual awards to his peers, all recognized greats in football: Zidane, Maldini, Messi, Ronaldo, etc. Not one of Giggs' awards is outside of England or Wales. No individual international awards or European awards are on his mantle (except for the Bravo youth player award, which isn't all that highly regarded). None. There are no "World Player of the Year", "Euro Player of the Year", "Ballon' D'or" or any such pieces of silver (or gold) which all of the "greats" have been honoured with at least one. Even Michael Owen with one Ballon D'Or has more than him in that regard. Had Giggs played for England, France, Spain, Germany, Argentina, Italy, it may well have been very different.

Don't blame me. I'm just the messenjah. Keep in mind, that takes nothing away from him as a player of great ability, skill and enviable success.

Lazie, why you always looking for argument? You didn't even acknowledge that I am giving Giggs his due but trying to tell you that despite his monumental career, he won't be regarded in the same esteemed way as some of his peers because his list of individual awards are not in the same league as the others I mentioned.

For example, compare Giggs individual awards to his peers, all recognized greats in football: Zidane, Maldini, Messi, Ronaldo, etc. Not one of Giggs' awards is outside of England or Wales. No individual international awards or European awards are on his mantle (except for the Bravo youth player award, which isn't all that highly regarded). None. There are no "World Player of the Year", "Euro Player of the Year", "Ballon' D'or" or any such pieces of silver (or gold) which all of the "greats" have been honoured with at least one. Even Michael Owen with one Ballon D'Or has more than him in that regard. Had Giggs played for England, France, Spain, Germany, Argentina, Italy, it may well have been very different.

Don't blame me. I'm just the messenjah. Keep in mind, that takes nothing away from him as a player of great ability, skill and enviable success.
                          Dude, spin it all yuh want .... again. Which player have won half the trophies Giggs won. You tried to spin it into individual awards. Stick to the issue.

Lazie, since I could only get back to you now. I will give you another link to check out.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lionel_...ds_and_honours.

Need I say more.

Originally posted by Jamaica2099 View Post
                              Lazie, since I could only get back to you now. I will give you another link to check out.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lionel_...ds_and_honours.

Need I say more.

16 ...excellent try ..... but not quite 1/2.