Jamaican Player salaries in MLS - 2011

that was ONE thing that scuppered the move...don't you think villa knew there was a work permit involved? the main thing was that bent was available, no work permit issues AND bent has premiership experience. remember it was a january (mid season) transfer and they needed a player to come in right away and contribute.

on the balance it was better FOOTBALL move to go with bent although it may have cost more more ...18 million vs 3 million.

I think you have to loll at when the deals were done. It would be difficult for Omar to redonhis contrat now as the league holds the contracts not the clubs and they are hesitant to redo contracts. Thatvis what basically happened with Dwayne d in Toronto and got ohm a force trade. Tyrone was making way more in Toronto, I assume he took a pmay cut to stay in the league. I Think the same for Andy. Obrien was a high draft pick so that explain his situation.

that was ONE thing that scuppered the move...don't you think villa knew there was a work permit involved? the main thing was that bent was available, no work permit issues AND bent has premiership experience. remember it was a january (mid season) transfer and they needed a player to come in right away and contribute.

on the balance it was better FOOTBALL move to go with bent although it may have cost more more ...18 million vs 3 million.
        Sure. But even if Bent hadn't come into the picture it still would have been problematic, as the article explains.

That's the overall point that I'm making: as long as the UK work permit requirement is in place it's going to be difficult.

Again I think its the way the league holds the contracts. Its very hard to do redo it has to go through the league. Omar should have a renegotiated deal but such is the business part of it.

Once Bent came in the picture and Ashley Young stayed it was over. They must have know about the difficulties of the work permit before he came. The fact is if Bent wasn't there they would have applied for it.

suh mi seet!

The fact is if Bent wasn't there they would have applied for it.
                Applying for it is one thing, receiving it is another.

How you a go get it if you don't apply for it?

The fact is they knew the position before he came over. There is security blanket for any player, but most team a need the player apply anyway. Players get turned down all the time, but there are some success stories that seems unlikely so if they wanted him that bad they would have taken the chance.

gwaan act naive.

Why are our players not seeking other leagues were...?

This brings up the point of why are our players running to the MLS and ignoring avenues to other much more lucrative leagues?

The MLS may pay a few aging former superstars huge salaries but for new commers and up and commers there are many other leagues that offer better salaries.

jamaica had the ranking ...and cummings had the matches

If they were sold on him, he would have been taken. Whenever these clubs really want a player, the paper work always seem to fall in place.
                        Last edited by Karl; May 15, 2011, 12:02 PM.

This brings up the point of why are our players running to the MLS and ignoring avenues to other much more lucrative leagues?
                          Are there offers coming in from those more lucrative leagues?

actually i know for a fact. 'nuff said on that.

Tell him again, boss.
                              ...the offers are there.
                              The avenue to the offers is there.