2011 Guaranteed Compensation - $50,004

Andy Williams (Salt Lake)
    2011 Base - $99,225
    2011 Guaranteed Compensation - $99,225

Shavar Thomas (Kansas City)
    2011 Base - $160,000
    2011 Guaranteed Compensation - $174,375

Source: MLS Players Union

"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I'm puzzled here! How does JeVaughn Watson, Khari Stephenson, Ryan Johnson and O'Brien White make more money than Omar Cummings? How does Shavar Thomas make so much more than Tyrone Marshall? Finally, how does any of those outfield players make more than Andy Williams?

yuh WELL puzzled bredrin!!!!

Firstly, you have to look at it that the players are with different clubs and their salaries may be determined by club salary structure.

Now, if you ask why JeVaughn Watson is earning more in his first year than Lovel is in his second with the same club, then I can see with you. Also, why is it that Jermaine Taylor who has much more international caps earns so much less than Watson and they are joining the club at the same time?

Well, certain things could be the deciding factor here. JeVaughn was rumored to be heading to Birmingham City, so they could have used that as leverage to get him a better deal than Taylor.

I think a case has to be made for Cummings though as he is one of the leading strikers in MLS and they are paying him less than people who are just entering the league. And it is not just among Jamaican players either. It certainly would not encourage me to see my colleagues getting so much more than me and I am underpaid.

Anyway, that is MLS. . .
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Omar fi fire his agent....joke bizness, since him ongle have a few good years left in his tank at his age.

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
            I'm puzzled here! How does JeVaughn Watson, Khari Stephenson, Ryan Johnson and O'Brien White make more money than Omar Cummings? How does Shavar Thomas make so much more than Tyrone Marshall? Finally, how does any of those outfield players make more than Andy Williams?
            Because Cummings has a poor agent.

Watson was demanding above 200,000 +. Houston said no, he fired his agent then negociated something better. I think Taylor reached a place that he just wanted to leave the MLS.

Omar simply have to go to Europe as they just bought a player to replace him and paying that player more, so they must expect to sell him, not to renew his contract.

Tyrone and Andy took salary cut because of age and they know they can't go anywhere else. Obrien came in as one of the top draft pick so this is his third year and he has to step up or will have to get a cut this season.

Comparison with other strikers at Colorado

Andre Akpan F
                Basic: $48,000.00
                Guaranteed: $48,000.00
                Andre Akpan played 13 minutes last season in his rookie year.

Quincy Amarikwa F
                Basic: $42,000.00
                Guaranteed: $42,000.00
                Quincy Amarikwa made his debut for Colorado against Kansas City on 4/10 and played 245 minutes for the season.
                He was drafted by San Jose in 2009 and played in 24 matches for them, scoring one goal.

Conor Casey F
                Basic: $400,000.00
                Guaranteed: $400,000.00
                - Appeared in 27 games, 26 as a starter and scored 13 goals (T-6th in MLS) and added a career-high 6 assists.
                - Registered one of the best seasons in Rapids history.
                - Started 24 games, playing in 2,087 minutes and led the team with 16 goals. Also added an assist.
                - Despite entering the season rehabbing an off-season ACL injury missing the team’s first nine games while on the disabled list, produced his best MLS season finishing as the Rapids team leader with 11 goals
                - Toronto FC used their top allocation to bring Casey over from club FSV Mainz 05
                Scored one goal during the season.

Omar Cummings F
                Basic: $80,438.00
                Guaranteed: $89,188.00
                - Played in a career-high 29 games, with 28 starts, playing 2,471 minutes and scored a career-high and team-high 14 goals and added three assists.
                - Finished T-4th in MLS in goals (14).
                - Won MLS Player of the Month for September (first time earning honor in his career).
                - Scored in five consecutive games that he’s appeared in, tallying seven goals between Sept. 28 - Oct. 29. (his streak of goals in five straight games equaled the MLS season-high set by Toronto’s Dwayne De Rosario in April, and was one short of the club record of goals in six consecutive games set by John Spencer in 2003)
                - Won MLS Goal of the Week for his strike at New York (9/11).
                - Won MLS Player of the Week honors following his brace vs. Chivas USA (9/4).
                - Registered sixth goal of the season vs. Houston (8/28). His goal was the 600th scored in Rapids franchise history.
                - Playoffs: Started all four games and registered an assist in each leg against Columbus (10/28) and (11/6).
                - Started in 28 games, playing in 2,474 minutes and had a team high and new single season career-high 12 assists on the season and scored 8 goals.
                - Was named the Rapids 2009 Most Valuable Player.
                - T-1st in MLS in assists (12) and 2nd in MLS in shots (82).
                - Won MLS Player of the Week for Week 14.
                - Won MLS Goal of the Week for Week 12.
                - Registered a single-game career-high three assists vs. Chivas USA (8/8).
                - Won MLS Player of the Week for Week 14, earning award for first time in his career, after scoring two goals (first multi goal game of his career) and adding an assist vs. D.C. United (6/20).
                - Scored in the 88th minute against Real Salt Lake (6/6) to earn a 1-1 draw, as his score won MLS Goal of the Week for Week 12.
                - Recorded two assists at LA (4/4) setting up Conor Casey twice on his hat trick performance. Earned assist on Casey’s second fastest goal in MLS history just 16 seconds into the match.
                - Played 26 games, 17 as a starter and scored 6 goals and added four assists.
                - His six goals were second highest on the team.
                - Appeared in one Reserve division match.
                - Appeared in 11 matches, logging 182 total minutes and posted two goals.
                - Also recorded two goals and two assists for the defending champion Rapids Reserves playing in nine MLS reserve division games.Scored the game-winner at Chivas USA (10/14) in the 90th minute.
                - Was awarded the Rapids’ 2007 Rookie of the Year AwardCUMMINGS… Jamaica’s lone goalscorer in 2009 Gold Cup.

NATIONAL TEAM

- Omar Cummings has 21 career caps with the Reggae Boyz and has scored six goals in international competition.

Caleb Folan F
                Basic: $199,999.92
                Guaranteed: $203,374.92

Acquired: Signed on March 16, 2011.
                - Begins new chapter in professional career coming to MLS after 10+ years of experience abroad.
                - Has seven caps with the Republic of Ireland National Team.
                - Came on trial with the Rapids during the 2011 preseason and appeared in three games scoring the game-winner in match against LA Galaxy.

Macoumba Kandji F
                Basic: $120,000.00
                Guaranteed: $147,988.37
                - Played in seven games, with four starts, playing 337 minutes and added three assists with the Rapids.
                - Appeared in 13 games, eight as a starter, and tallied one goal for New York before being traded to Colorado.
                - Started in friendly against Santos FC (3/20), playing 72 minutes and earning an assist.
                - Scored goal in friendly vs. Manchester City (7/25) and had an assist.
                - Tallied career-highs in goals (4), assists (5), games played (23) and games started (20).
                - Had first career multi-goal game with two goals in 5-0 rout of Toronto FC (10/24).
                - Earned MLS Player of the Week for Week 8 vs. San Jose (5/8), having a hand in all four first half goals in a 4-1 win.
                - After being signed by New York on loan on Sept. 15, made five appearances and two starts and scored one goal and added two assists.
                - Made MLS debut vs. Colorado (9/27) as a substitute and earned an assist
                - Scored first MLS goal at Chicago (10/23).

yeah they just bought Folan this season and Kanji was traded from Metro stars late last year.

I thought the same person represented most of the Jamaican players in MLS. At least that was what I read in one of the Jamaican papers. If that is true, then he is able to get good deals for the likes of Ricketts, Shavar and others. He must not be too poor then.

...das why mi rate you 'ssasin. MetroStars!!

Shavar had a poor deal for most of his MLS career. Omar Cummings is still on his poor deal and if he does get a new deal, he doesn't have much time left. Ricketts is one of the top keepers in MLS... there is nothing great about his deal or Richard's deal.

mi nuh know nuh Red Bull

So based on this, Conor Casey ($400K/year) drive Mercedes go ah work an' Quincy Amarikwa ($40K/year) tek city bus? Somet'ing nuh right wid dat!!

Omar simply have to go to Europe as they just bought a player to replace him and paying that player more, so they must expect to sell him, not to renew his contract.
                              He better go soon then, as he turns 29 in a couple months. The clock is ticking.

And regarding the UK, there's still the work permit issue to deal with, which is what scuppered his move to Aston Villa a few months ago.