United announce profits rise

• United announce profits rise

<P class=big>David Gill believes the future is 'promising' for Manchester United after the club announced an increase in profits.<P nd="1">In the first full year of the Glazer era at Old Trafford, The Red Devils saw turnover rise from £157.2million to £165.4million for the year ending 30th June 2006.<P nd="2">The current Premiership leaders also reported a pre-tax operating profit of £30.8million, compared to a figure of £10.8million for the previous 12 months.<P nd="3">And with a new television deal to start next season, United chief executive Gill is expecting the numbers to stay on the increase.<P nd="4">"In the course of the next two years, I expect the club's revenues to show dramatic growth, due to a combination of increased stadium capacity and greater sponsorship and television income," said Gill.<P nd="5">"The club are in a very healthy position. Our attendances are now the envy of European, not just UK football, and with a burgeoning season ticket waiting list, watching United at Old Trafford is still in great demand.<P nd="6">"The future is promising for the club. We continue to operate by budgeting sensibly and managing our affairs through stable business practices.<P nd="7">"Success on the pitch will always be a driver for success off it and from this base, the club are healthily placed to begin a period of renewed growth."<P nd="8">United's borrowings, however, also rose from £580million to £660million, although this was part of a restructuring programme which has been attributed to 'good housekeeping'.

RE: United announce profits rise

Lazie - are you happy with the Leprechaun dem now? What a ting eh...I bet you never expected this.

Manu has always been operated as a business bredren. The Empire was always making a profit, the expansion of Old Trafford was also on the way before the Leprechaun tek over.

All he has done thus far is saddle the club with this enormous debt.

But at least he is making the team MORE money -- so the real question is whether the increased profits can be used to pay down that debt with some end in reasonable sight. You should also give them credit because they have expanded the stadium and REDUCED ticket prices which means MORE people can watch them at a LOWER price. If I recall correctly, part of the uproar was that they expected him to RAISE ticket prices, but that didn't happen...so call you friend dem at FC United and tell them to come "home" Tell me if a lie me a tell - you happy wid this news, don't it?

Paul Marin (1/26/2007)But at least he is making the team MORE money -- so the real question is whether the increased profits can be used to pay down that debt with some end in reasonable sight. You should also give them credit because they have expanded the stadium and REDUCED ticket prices which means MORE people can watch them at a LOWER price. If I recall correctly, part of the uproar was that they expected him to RAISE ticket prices, but that didn't happen...so call you friend dem at FC United and tell them to come "home" Tell me if a lie me a tell - you happy wid this news, don't it?
          No boss .. you got it wrong. The expansion of the Kingdom (Old Trafford) was occurringbefore Glazer took over. Suh why should he be given credit? Secondly,he increased the ticket prices,as a matter of fact, some season ticket holders have now gone to followthe newly formed Fc United. Its just that the Empire is a gigantic club many fans are waiting in line for season tickets.

Lazie (1/26/2007)Manu has always been operated as a business bredren. The Empire was always making a profit, the expansion of Old Trafford was also on the way before the Leprechaun tek over.

All he has done thus far is saddle the club with this enormous debt.
            Yuh still gainst di tek-ova? :w00t:

...wonda iffen yuh still want Fergie hout?

Karl, Manchester United was a debt free entity until the Glazer's took over. Roman took over Chelsea and provided money for them to buy players, Aston Villa and West Ham have new owners, money is available for them to buy players. At this point the Liverpool fans ... ask Paul, Mosiah and X what dem pray fah a nite time .... Fi the Shiek tek over the club. Of all the rich men that want to buy an EPL team, MAnu got stuck with the Glazers and all they've brought to the table is this enormous debt.

Unlike you and other fans, if I disagree with a move Fergie mek ... I'm gonna express it. He has proven that he is determined to stop Chelsea this season, pity Arsenal and Liverpool not up fi it.

MAnu got stuck with the Glazers and all they've brought to the table is this enormous debt.
                I refuse to believe you really believe that!

Unlike you and other fans, if I disagree with a move Fergie mek ... I'm gonna express it. He has proven that he is determined to stop Chelsea this season, pity Arsenal and Liverpool not up fi it.
                Yes! ...but, although mi nuh business wid unnuh...mi neva ha-gree seh Fergie did-a duh a poor job.

Yuh neva didseh Fergie must guh-weh...im fi si-dun? im a get senile? :w00t:

Karl (1/26/2007)
                  MAnu got stuck with the Glazers and all they've brought to the table is this enormous debt.

Yes! ...but, although mi nuh business wid unnuh...mi neva ha-gree seh Fergie did-a duh a poor job.

Yuh neva didseh Fergie must guh-weh...im fi si-dun? im a get senile? :w00t:
                  When yuh can prove mi wrong, mek mi hear it.

Of course I've called for his head, that said, he had turned it around since last February and i've given him credit. He has made some mistakes this season, but there is no need to crucify him.