Gamma, is this legal?

mi stap tek certain tings for granted...

the first question is SELF EVIDENT and i am sure you can answer it .....

as to what it is that they are being denied, their right to participate in schoolboy football is being affected, they are now being required to do something extra in order to participate....before we go any further, WHY is this now necessary? whose purpose does it serve?

what would be ideal would be for NO player to turn out for ANY football competition in protest.

Mi certainly don't understand it then, I'm not afraid to say!

You are only penalized if you don't turn in the proper paperwork...turn in the paperwork and you can do whatever you like...
          Any player who does not follow this guideline and fails to respond affirmatively to a national call-up...

Then why use the word "and" and not "or"?

Mi neva go good school or one inna Portland so see wid mi!

Any player who does not follow this guideline and fails to respond affirmatively to a national call-up...

Then why use the word "and" and not "or"?

Mi neva go good school or one inna Portland so see wid mi!
            Because using "or" instead of "and" would not communicate the new rule accurately...if they had used "or" that would mean the player would be penalized simply for turning down the invitation...which is not the case...

then what does using "and" imply?

Using logic 101..

if you fail to respond affirmatively AND you do not comply with proper reporting of negative response den yuh innah problems..

yuh realize seh is Priory Bricktop did guh ?

and mi did tink Munro was a good school...

oh dear...

so, if you respond negatively...is now yuh confuse mi!

tek time wid mi! mi did haffi all wear school uniform! maybe di road dem to Munro did too good?

yuh have two hoptions to avoid 'penalty'

affirmative HOR propah negative

yuh muss getti now !

ok mek it simple...

not saying yes is not enough to draw a penalty.. you must also (read AND) fail to properly notify of negative response...

if you do both yuh goose cook.

capuccino ?

mocha!

The thing was poorly written, the opening sounds draconian. "Players called for national duty are expected to respond affirmatively to the call up".... Really? A schoolboy is expected to give up his classes and play ball? Really, you expect students from Wolmer's, Munoe and Campion to play ball over classes?

Why does it specify punishment for the student?
                          It the problem is the coaches attitude then why it does not specify punishment from coaches who punish the youngsters should they chose country over school?
                          The poor student is still at risk for punishment given the failure of adults to promptly complete the paperwork for St Georges for Champs 2011 and Calabar US Visa for Penns 2011

yuh tink dis International football is a recreational sport ?

Give up Classes??

Ah whe di.... !?

"Players called for national duty are expected to respond affirmatively to the call up. Any player who will not be responding affirmatively must put this in writing to the Jamaica Football Federation, addressed to the General Secretary and copied to the President, ISSA. This letter should be on his/her school letter-head, signed by his or her parent or legal guardian and co-signed by the Principal of the school.
                              Any player who does not follow this guideline and fails to respond affirmatively to a national call-up, cannot represent his/her school during the period of the invitation.
                              Should the player participate in any game/s without the afore-mentioned approval, the school represented shall forfeit any points gained and maximum points awarded to the opposing team. If both teams are found in breach, then both teams shall forfeit points in the event of a draw. If any school habitually repeats the afore-mentioned violation then same will face further sanctions by the JFF/ISSA which shall not be limited to expulsion from the competition which the violation occurred".
                              This policy will be jointly executed by the JFF and ISSA and both will share all relevant information.

The "problem" for me and maybe I am being picky is that they talk about an "approval" .... Does that mean that the document submitted will be subject to "approval"?... The whole bureaucratic approach in my mind is to put pressure on players to say yes... It is easier to say yes than to go through all the paper-work.

The other thing is, how are call-ups made? directly to the player? through the school? parents/guardians? If directly to the student, the student/player might just not even read any fine print etc. Just what do they intend to accomplish other than coercing the player, with this directive?

Exactly.. if you fail to respond affirmatively is ongly one ting can save yuh..

My God.. dis must be why wi need lawyah fi everyting in Jamaica.. reading and comprehension skills lacking..

Alright lets take a different approach..

Why would one need to mention the procedure for declining in the statement if the only thing required for penalty is not responding in the Affirmative to the call.. ?

Why detail an elaborate procedure if it nuh mek any difference.. yuh still ah get penalized ? What dem gwine duh if yuh nuh fallah it ? Penalize you again ?

that spark anything ?