Gamma, is this legal?

How I read the above is that if you are turning down the invitation you have to submit in writing with the bells and whistles attached...if you do not respond in that specific way THEN you can't play for your school for the duration of the invitation...

Why should that be so?

I guess it has to do with the relationship between
        ISSA and the JFF.If both parties agreed then....

I guess it has to do with the relationship between
          ISSA and the JFF.If both parties agreed then....
          ...it is a done deal.
          Agreed!

I guess one day a parent and a student shall challenge it. I cannot see it never being challenged as it appears that eventually a parent will have to make a call that a request to join the national team is declined as seen as being in the child's best interest. The child being still available to represent the school save the JFF's/ISSA's 'rule'...is then seen as being unfairly barred from representing the school.

This would be even more blatant if the child was a part of the school team and the call came in the midst of the football competition.

btw - Totally irrelevant but I am just wondering on the possibility of all members of a school's 'first 16' being invited and a competitive team cannot be found. Would the school send in the 'second raters' or withdraw form the competition?

What would be the fall out of such? Just wondering?

Where is Jamaicans for Justice? This must be llegal, they are not professionals, they are students and their job is to do school work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know unnu rate JFJ, but they can't do everything. Where are the freaking parents? Where is the JTA, the PTAs? Where is the Public Defender? Where is common sense?

They are trying to stop the coaches from keeping the players to play ISSA competitions instead of national duties but they need to look at the fact the the national duties take them away from classes whereas the ISSA competitions don't have to.

This rule will last until it affects the chances of one the top traditional boys school in an ISSA competition.

ISSA is going to need the BIG BALLA to play for their school. Who is that pull the crowd to the games, certainly not the mediocre players. Every one wants to see the magic and tricks of the star player, they want to witness the moment so that they can talk about it for years and years to come. There is already talk that the standard is low and can not be compared to yesteryear when schools paraded 'big ballas' who made national teams.

Well thank God seh I get the chance to see my school's big ballas play and win Manning Cup.

exactly karl! EXACTLY!!!

I wonder if 'I will not allow my son to miss so many classes' is an acceptable reason for turning down a national invitation but still want to representing a school?

One day ...lol , yuh mean it is being challenged now , and it will continue to be challenged in a formal way of course.

Dumb on the part of the JFF.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

All they have to do is formally decline the invitation (submit on school letterhead etc) then they can play for thir school...what is unfair about that?

If they do not respond then they decline, I think it is a money move,they intend to have their hands in the pockets of the clubs.

Why should they? and more importantly why should that be tied to them palying schoolboy football? more bureacratic BS to put pressure on the STUDENT athletes!

it is patently unfair and represrents a FARCE! so who represents the interest of the student athlete, cannot be the school because ISSA is over that (they can kick out the school). Are the students now to each get lawyers?

The madness continues. Say what you want bout USA but JFF/ISSA would be looking at xmillion lawsuits right now if they tried this up north. Crazy. An individual should be free to choose which competition he or she chooses to particpate in. What next? man can't play corner-league without a letter-headed memo to Burrell? There's that letter-head reference again I wonder if...... Naw couldn't be.