Platini unseats Johansson for UEFA presidency

• Platini unseats Johansson for UEFA presidency

<DIV class=mainbody><DIV class=logoimage>Soccer: Platini unseats Johansson for UEFA presidency </DIV><DIV class=logoimage>The Associated Press
    Thursday, January 25, 2007
    DUESSELDORF, Germany
    </DIV><DIV class=logoimage>France soccer great Michel Platini was elected UEFA president Friday, defeating Swedish incumbent Lennart Johansson to become head of European soccer's governing body.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>The 51-year-old Platini won by 27-23, with two invalid votes, in a secret ballot of UEFA's 52 federations, ousting the 77-year-old Swede after 17 years at the helm of world soccer's biggest regional body.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>"The establishment was fighting for Lennart, but I counted on many friends to help me," Platini said. "It took a lot of work to get to 27 (votes). This is a great victory for me but I'm not going to do a lap of honor because now the work starts."</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>Platini was a three-time European player of the year who led France to the European Championship title in 1984. He helped organize the 1998 World Cup in France and has worked closely with FIFA president Sepp Blatter, who publicly endorsed him on the eve of the vote.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>Immediately after the result was announced, Platini asked the congress to elect Johansson as honorary president. The Swede was approved by acclamation.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage>"Lennart, this is for you," Platini said. "I will need you. We have to be all together."</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>In a tight runoff, Blatter had actively intervened for his protege to replace Johansson.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage>"It is no surprise for me," Blatter said after the vote. "I am very happy I will be working with someone that has the same vision on soccer as I do — not only as a means of collecting money."</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>On Thursday, Blatter said in a speech to UEFA delegates that Platini was his choice to lead European soccer.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage>"I cannot appreciate the FIFA president interferes in an election process," Johansson said Friday just before the vote, with Blatter in the audience.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>Platini said he doubted Blatter's endorsement had made the difference.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>"Perhaps in one sense, but maybe in another too," he said, noting Blatter's intervention had created some bad blood on the eve of the election. "Sepp told everyone what he felt."</DIV><DIV class=logoimage>Johansson, who had been president since 1990, turned UEFA from an old-fashioned federation roiled by hooliganism and stadium disasters into a smooth professional organization, with the lucrative Champions League as its flagship event.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>With Johansson out, CEO Lars-Christer Olsson is expected to go, leaving Platini to revamp the UEFA front office and introduce more of an executive-style management.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>Platini wants to cut the maximum number of clubs from England, Spain and Italy in the Champions League from four to three.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>While UEFA is only one of the continental federations under the umbrella of FIFA, UEFA covers the biggest and richest leagues in the world and the sport's biggest clubs.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage></DIV><DIV class=logoimage>Platini toured smaller European nations to canvass support, while Johansson had big nations like Germany and Spain backing him.</DIV><DIV class=logoimage>--------------------------------------------------------------------------------</DIV><DIV class=logoimage>Copyright © 2007 The International Herald Tribune | www.iht.com </DIV></DIV>

RE: Platini unseats Johansson for UEFA presidency

<H1>Platini has won the UEFA presidential election</H1><BR clear=all><DIV class=text11 style="BACKGROUND: #fff"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>

Michel Platini has won the race to become the next UEFA president after a stunning election victory over Lennart Johansson. <DIV class=phinline>
    <DIV style="WIDTH: 275px"><DIV class=photocred2>GettyImages</DIV><DIV class=photosubtext>Lennart Johansson: Ousted at UEFA.</DIV></DIV></DIV>

The 51-year-old Frenchman becomes the most powerful man in European football after he was elected at the UEFA Congress here in Dusseldorf by 27 votes to 23. He will serve as UEFA president for the next four years and will also be a FIFA vice-president. It follows a tense election campaign which descended into bitterness in the days leading up to the vote. In his final address to the 52 UEFA member associations, Johansson launch an angry attack at FIFA president Sepp Blatter who had publicly backed Platini at the opening of the Congress yesterday. Johansson said: 'I appreciate the FIFA president's words about what we have achieved in the 17 years of my presidency but I cannot appreciate it when the FIFA president interferes in an election process here in UEFA. 'It's not the FIFA president, it is you the Congress taking the decision.' Johansson also drew attention to his track record during his 17 years in power, especially in establishing the Champions League. He added: 'I tried to tell you my philosophies through the years and I have allowed myself to refer to the track record of what we have established over these years. 'Along with [former UEFA chief executive] Gerd Aigner I am called the father of the Champions League. 'But I have always protected the small and middle-sized countries in Europe. 'You should never change a winning team and I think I have been the coach of a winning team.' In his speech Platini tried to limit any damage caused by Blatter's remarks. Platini said: 'You have the future of European future in your hands. I have been able to carry out the campaign I wanted and without attacking my opponent. 'I stand before you with respect, modesty and resolve.' Platini has tried to appeal to the smaller countries and wants to limit the number of clubs in the Champions League to a maximum of three from any one association. He added: 'We must always see to it that the strong help the weaker ones. Let's defend the national associations against the interests which are threatening them. 'It is a game before a product, a sport before a market, a show before a business.' Platini immediately invited Johansson to become an honorary president of UEFA. The former France forward said: 'This is just the beginning of an adventure. 'I'm happy today to be able to represent European football, I'm very moved and very happy. 'This is a great victory but I have huge admiration for Lennart and I would ask for Lennart Johansson to become an honorary president of UEFA.' Johansson was given a standing ovation by the delegates at the invitation of Platini. The Frenchman added: 'When I was a footballer, when you won a great victory you received a cup and went on a lap of honour. This is a great victory for me but I'm not going to do a lap of honour because now the work starts.' The election result was close - had Platini won two fewer votes he would not have achieved an absolute majority of the 50 valid votes and a second ballot would have been held. Irish FA president Jim Boyce said: 'I am not surprised - Lennart Johansson's age has definitely been a big factor but I have great respect and admiration for the man.' FIFA president Sepp Blatter welcomed the win for Platini, who worked as his special adviser between 1998 and 2002. Blatter said: 'The result is no surprise to me. I'm happy I will be working with someone who has the same vision for football as I do.'

i like most of his ideas, except cutting from 4 to 3 the number of teams from the EPL, La Liga and Seria A. Why? To let in teams from the Faroe Islands?

It benefits sponsors when the "big" teams advance, since ratings are higher, and there is much more interest. I knowI would set my DVR to tape Barcelona instead of Danish club Brondby in the group stages.

The other half of that coin is that countries like Scotland should have automatic berths which they don't have now. I can see what he is saying.

By the way -- I CAN'T WAIT till dat teef Blatter get out of the FIFA job...look at what he said:

"It is no surprise for me," Blatter said after the vote. "I am very happy I will be working with someone that has the same vision on soccer as I do — not only as a means of collecting money."

What a dyam liad!! Him and Jack Warner tired fi go ah Switzerland fe count dem ill-gotten money. :Frus:

... but doesn't it water down the league? The fact that all 4 EPL teams finished on top of their groups says alot. Can the champions of EStonia beat the 4th place team in the EPL?

Good or bad?

...an improvement over what held?

Lennart Johansson worked hard to prevent technical support, funds and increased influence flow to countries outside of his confederation. For example, he was totally against usingreferees out of the 'football super powers' handling FIFA World Cup Final matches and the creation of and funding of ( both introduced under Havelangue's leadership) programs like the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Football Development Program.

That program which had infastructure, coaching, refereeing, administration, sports medicine as components directly led tolater programs .eg. Goal Program, etc.

Platini is all for development of such assistance...and as we are aware that improved assistanceis to/for the 'lesser developed'European countries. The question is; does Platini also support improved levels of assistance to lesser developed countries in the wider world? If he is...great!

One good thing about Platini'selevation to the presidencyof UEFA is, he is an ally of Blatter. Blatter as we all know isa driving force behind improved offers of assistance to thelesser developed football countries.

Aside:

It would also appear on the surface that the "Jack"/Blatter - Blatter/"Jack" axis has been strengthened. (tup)(Clap)(Clap)(Clap)

Well - the problem is that we don't know who he would give automatic berths to. If it is to Scotland at the expense of one of the other leagues, I support that. I don't think that the very small countries will be the ones that get the berths, it will be the fringe ones...for example, I don't believe that Russia gets an automatic berth either...and remember...I think he is only talking about the CHAMPIONS of those countries and only 3 countries at that. We have to wait to see the details of his proposal.

Karl - Blatter is a corrupt TEEF. If there is ANYTHING about the Platini ascendency is that he is friend with that charlatan.:crazy:

Paul Marin (1/26/2007)Karl - Blatter is a corrupt TEEF. If there is ANYTHING about the Platini ascendency is that he is friend with that charlatan.:crazy:
                      I wonda why di lesser developed countries luv im suh?

Paul: Any increase in assistance 'we' - i.e. lesser developed countries - have received since Blatter arrived at the helm?

Why was it before Havelangue we were all on the outside?

Why is it before Platini - "before Platini" meaning time/period...not that Platini has helped us...there has always been this *big fight for Blatter toget improved assistance to 'us' - lesser developed countries?

*Jack always had to deliver his 'boys' - i.e. his voting friends/votes of his 'cartel' - to get measures passedin 'our' favour passed!

iffen demsuh bad, why dem aduh fi wi?

...and, sometimes good things happen for the wrong reasons...but, I luv di good ting dem bad-bad!

one man one vote...some votes are easier to influence than others however, it comes down to sheer numbers

Karl - Warner delivered Concacafdelegation voteto Blatter when he ran for the presidency which tipped the scales. Blatter couldn't remain president without Concacaf.

It is the Warner/Blatter TEEF-MACHINE that allowed Warner to go from school teacher to millionaire. If you think that the Simpaul Travel scandal was the only example of Warner and Blatter corruption, think again, that's the one we hear bout but I suspect there are MANY MANY others.

From my point of view, I would rather starve than takemoney from a crook. Mek dem go weh. If the rich countries don't want to help us, we have to help ourselves...if you don't believe me...ask Shatta

Warner delivered Concacaf delegation vote to Blatter when he ran for the presidency which tipped the scales. Blatter couldn't remain president without Concacaf.
                            Paul it is a mistake to think that it was only for the FIFA presidentialseat that "Jack" delivered. "Jack" has been working to put in place his "sure votes" as far back as whenI first met him at a schoolboy tournament in Dec. 1987.

Some of us listened to him explain his vision of movingCaribbean football forward and the part 'coming together' and staying together could play. I did not realise the depth of his vision. But, he was suggesting a voting block...and, the placing of persons on strategic positions within football organisations to be able to make things happen.

I would invite you to take the time to look at the Caribbean people he has placed on manyCONCACAF and FIFA committees. He has alsoengineered the appointments of others from other regionsof the world on FIFA committees. Those placementsinfluence directiontaken by FIFA and CONCACAF programsbeneficial to 'minnows'.

Trust me he has the CFU under wraps. Gets it to vote in its own and his self-interest. ...and, the CFU boys are beneficiaries of his benevolent oversight. How do you think for example in our area-Harold Taylor (FIFAGoal Development Officer...overseeing our academy),Horace Burrell, Tony James, Richard Braithwaiteand other CFU persons make it on FIFA Committees?

"Jack" may have lined his pockets...but, he has helped us and is helping us...and, has helped others within the CFU...many from Trinidad...to line their pockets. Even a simple being on a FIFA Committee improves one's financial position.

Damn - I know of FIFA referees...who I may add benefitted from "Jack's" opening the opportunities to officiate matches - whobenefitted significantly from their earnings from refereeing international matches. Imagine something as simple as that..changing some persons lifestyle?

If the rich countries don't want to help us, we have to help ourselves...if you don't believe me...ask Shatta
                            Agreed! We have to help ourselves...but, we move even faster if we are being helped by others such as "Jack".

If not for "Jack", would there be so many FIFA Goal projects in the CFU area?

...would there be one in the making in Jamaica today?

I doubt it!

<DIV>Dag! What simplistic reasoning Karl! I wonder, would we have had this site if Paul Marin didn't start it?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Would we have had the Internet if Al Gore had not invented it? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Would the JLP have built Highway 2000?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Would any other CFU president have done anthing? And before you come with the tiyad ansa bout "they didn't", let me let you in on a littlesomething -football then is not football now. It is more a bizniz now than it has ever been!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Sorry, Karl, but I refuse to believe that only Jack could have done these things. In fact, I cansee others doing much more than Jack without scheming and dealing their way to the bank.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>How the saying go again, Karl? I think it goes a little something like this:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>what Jack can do man can do</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Right?</DIV>