RE: Greetings Massive...sorry I..
T.K,
First things first... a nuh suh it go. Contrary to what you might think mi brethren...The Digicel Cup is very important to player development. When I say player development I mean in terms of the U-23, U-20, and the U-17 teams. Where did you think Latapy and Yorke came from massah? Di same Digicel Caribbean Cup tournament. Yorke was 17 yrs old when he played and Latapy was 20 at the time before they went on to achieve success.The key is to get exposure of younger players to the international game even at Caribbean level.
You make valid points about the importance of the Gold Cup and the confederations cup and Iagree withyouon that, but this is a long term developmental project andit has to start from somewhere. Trinidad did it this year in the tournament with alot of young players aged 18-22. That exposure is priceless as the soca warriors like the boyz are preparing for the future when WC qualifying comes around.
Player development doesn't only come with quality opposition,but also with the right coaching, proper facilities, and huge financial investment.
You see it at the bigger clubs in Europe like Barca, Man Utd, R. Madrid, Chelsea Ajax and the Liverpools of this world. Their academies are strong and produce some scintillating players. One example is the young 17yr old black Mexican player Giovanni Dos Santos. He's benefitted from Barca's youth team academy....so this thing isn't one dimensional at all.
Now going back to the digicel cup, the problem with this tournament is that it's not FIFA sanctioned like the Euro championships and the African Nation's Cup so you will never see a full strength team for either side as clubs are not obligated to release their players.
Just my 0.02 cents
Hey breds your 2 cents is worth just as much as mine.....
I do not disagree about exposing our U20's and U23's against a higher level. If the Digicel Cup was not a Gold Cup qualifier I would say by all means use it for the U20's and U23's.
Since it is our Gold Cup qualifierI disagree that the Digi Cup should be used for anything else but victory. With it being our qualifier for the Gold Cup we do not have a choice but to have our strongest team compete. Since the CFU has decided against giving us an equal opportunity to compete as any other team we should tell them to **** off. We should simply not play.
The Jamaican and T&T Federations should insist that a different criteria or method is used to determine how caribbean teams qualify for the Gold Cup if they don't move the tourney to the summer. They should insist that the Digicel Cup is played during the month of June. If the CFU is unwilling to make such a move we should shame them into it and boycott. The pressure from Concacaf will mount and they will have no choice but to stop the nonsense and comply.
I just feel that the tournament as it is right now is rigged. - T.K.
T.K,
First things first... a nuh suh it go. Contrary to what you might think mi brethren...The Digicel Cup is very important to player development. When I say player development I mean in terms of the U-23, U-20, and the U-17 teams. Where did you think Latapy and Yorke came from massah? Di same Digicel Caribbean Cup tournament. Yorke was 17 yrs old when he played and Latapy was 20 at the time before they went on to achieve success.The key is to get exposure of younger players to the international game even at Caribbean level.
You make valid points about the importance of the Gold Cup and the confederations cup and Iagree withyouon that, but this is a long term developmental project andit has to start from somewhere. Trinidad did it this year in the tournament with alot of young players aged 18-22. That exposure is priceless as the soca warriors like the boyz are preparing for the future when WC qualifying comes around.
Player development doesn't only come with quality opposition,but also with the right coaching, proper facilities, and huge financial investment.
You see it at the bigger clubs in Europe like Barca, Man Utd, R. Madrid, Chelsea Ajax and the Liverpools of this world. Their academies are strong and produce some scintillating players. One example is the young 17yr old black Mexican player Giovanni Dos Santos. He's benefitted from Barca's youth team academy....so this thing isn't one dimensional at all.
Now going back to the digicel cup, the problem with this tournament is that it's not FIFA sanctioned like the Euro championships and the African Nation's Cup so you will never see a full strength team for either side as clubs are not obligated to release their players.
Just my 0.02 cents
I do not disagree about exposing our U20's and U23's against a higher level. If the Digicel Cup was not a Gold Cup qualifier I would say by all means use it for the U20's and U23's.
Since it is our Gold Cup qualifierI disagree that the Digi Cup should be used for anything else but victory. With it being our qualifier for the Gold Cup we do not have a choice but to have our strongest team compete. Since the CFU has decided against giving us an equal opportunity to compete as any other team we should tell them to **** off. We should simply not play.
The Jamaican and T&T Federations should insist that a different criteria or method is used to determine how caribbean teams qualify for the Gold Cup if they don't move the tourney to the summer. They should insist that the Digicel Cup is played during the month of June. If the CFU is unwilling to make such a move we should shame them into it and boycott. The pressure from Concacaf will mount and they will have no choice but to stop the nonsense and comply.
I just feel that the tournament as it is right now is rigged. - T.K.