Was FA Semi Final Ref Making Make Up Call?

• Was FA Semi Final Ref Making Make Up Call?

Peter R, you were right abouth this one. Right near the end of the match, Vidic fouled the man in the box when he bumbed him and then slid in on him. The first time I saw it in real time I thought it was a penalty. I have watched it several times since and I am baffled. The only explanation I would believe is that since the ref had a clear view of it, he might have felt that he was a bit harsh on Scholes and he did not want to seem to be handing a victory to Man City.

The commentators were talking real rubbish about it not being a penalty.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
    Peter R, you were right abouth this one. Right near the end of the match, Vidic fouled the man in the box when he bumbed him and then slid in on him. The first time I saw it in real time I thought it was a penalty. I have watched it several times since and I am baffled. The only explanation I would believe is that since the ref had a clear view of it, he might have felt that he was a bit harsh on Scholes and he did not want to seem to be handing a victory to Man City.

The commentators were talking real rubbish about it not being a penalty.
    Stop Westman! That was no penalty. And what make up call are you talking about? Scholes deserved his red card. Once MU went behind he was tackling as if he wanted to hurt someone. He should have been pulled.

Some refs would not have given the red card. I do not object to it being given. However, many refs will reflect on such decisions in big games and and second guess themselves and then make make-up or non calls because of their reflection. We may have a difference of opinion on the penalty. However, everybody who watched the match here thought it was a penalty. My neighbors came by afterwards and they thought it was a penalty.

Shoulder to shoulder is a foul? Since when?

Me and my ManU bredrin we go through the team each week and it is a foregone conclusion that come summer we need some wholesale changes. My Chopping Block list reads:

Paul Scholes
          Jonny Evans
          B uddyhead
          Bebe
          Darren Gibson
          Wes Brown
          Michael Owen
          Owen Hargreaves
          Berbatov

My top target for the summer would be Wesley Sneider, but if he is too expensive, i.e. above 50m then I would pass for a younger up-and-coming midfielder. I would recall all my forwards with the exception of of Diouf, whom I would sent out on another loan. I would also go for a central defender and two more wingbacks. I want to see Anderson getting more runs in the side to develop more.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

We are over achieving with the current squad. Rooney was right during his contract dispute. While I did not like the public nature of his statements, I agree with him that it seems that the team's ownership does not seem as committed to building a superior squad.

I am keeping faith that come summer, there will be a major shakeup
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

We are over achieving with the current squad. Rooney was right during his contract dispute. While I did not like the public nature of his statements, I agree with him that it seems that the team's ownership does not seem as committed to building a superior squad.
                "over achieving " ... really? That must be the emotions talking. We talking about a team that is in the UCL semis and haven't lost a game in that competition as yet. One of 2 teams to only conceed 3 goals todate. Sitting at the top of the league, has scored the most goals 70 todate.

I've been hearing this over achieving argument since August. People seem to forget the comical goal conceeded against West Brom at home, throwing away full points at Fulham and Everton ....

I recall the forum Nostradamus predicting that this over achieving team would be out of the Champions League next season ....please don't follow the losers and talk foolishness about the team.

I agree with Westman Mr. President. We are an over-achieving ordinary side. What we have going for us is belief which is more powerful than our lack of talent.

Me and my ManU bredrin we go through the team each week and it is a foregone conclusion that come summer we need some wholesale changes. My Chopping Block list reads:

Paul Scholes
                    Jonny Evans
                    B uddyhead
                    Bebe
                    Darren Gibson
                    Wes Brown
                    Michael Owen
                    Owen Hargreaves
                    Berbatov

My top target for the summer would be Wesley Sneider, but if he is too expensive, i.e. above 50m then I would pass for a younger up-and-coming midfielder. I would recall all my forwards with the exception of of Diouf, whom I would sent out on another loan. I would also go for a central defender and two more wingbacks. I want to see Anderson getting more runs in the side to develop more.
                    How easily we forget. When Scholes was running the mid the first half of the season, everyone was singing his praise .... now we want him gone.

When Rooney wasn't scoring, Hernandez was getting used to things, who was scoring the goals? When Rooney and Javier guh play int'l games who is there leading scoring the goals? Now we want him gone?

I agree with Westman Mr. President. We are an over-achieving ordinary side. What we have going for us is belief which is more powerful than our lack of talent.

Belief? I recall the commentator after realizing that Chelsea was out of the UCL that MU was peaking at the right time. Belief nuh mek an ordinary team reach whey this team reach.

Cockroach nuh bizniz inna fowl fight... but yu wan' kip Scholes?

Dem need fi keep one nice thank you ceremony fi Scholes and den fix him up as one player manager down a div 2. Den dem can bring him back occasionally and mek him tek a bow. After dis season him need fi start heng out with drunkard Keane and the Guvnor. All good things must come to an end.

By the way, Giggs can keep pon bench fi a nex season.

So Westman, what do you think of my post about the wholesale changes?

Me wouldnt stap deh so. My prablem is that the change should have been more gradual so that we keep the culture and the scheme. The coming changes are going to have to be so extensive and drastic that it may disrupt Fergie's enterprise. Rooney was right. We needed fi mek some big defensive and midfield moves. Dem two likkle twin bwoy and Smalling dont do nothing for me. Evra's best years are behind him. His biggest weakness is continuing to overlap and leaving the left back slot exposed. Me think Carrick headed down. Oshea is second rate......oh where do I stop?

Fergie just got them believing dem can eat the spinach and go out there and beat bluto. But that will ongle go on for so long. Me like la cucuracha. No disrespect with the name. Like the man dem seh, him run around and him is a big menace to the opposition.