why does NY teams never have time to groom youths
"Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....Tags: None
RE: why does NY teams never have time to groom youths
They spent a cool $1 million on the retired German "great' Lothar Matthäus who played just one season!:w00t:Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
Trust me Fabian Taylor will make them wish they showed some faith in him, the youth is tearing up the league here and he is not fully fit yet.
I remember meeting him during the 2002 WC campaign when we went to Honduras andI have watched him mature into a serious professional player...just ask Mosiah
Saw him at Elliston on Sunday and chatted for a few minutes and kid has his head screwed on right.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
Sicko when Fabian was at the Metrostars I went to every home game and watched all the away games on tv. His first game here saw him scored 2 goals in beautiful 3-2 win over Diss Cee United (mawning T.K) and everyone at the game including HL, Lazie and myself were all happy for him and looked forward to big things, but he fizzled out shortly after.
I dont know if it was the pace of the game or his mental state was not 100% but after so much promise he never really showed his true form.
He was given many chances to prove himself but many times nagging injuries kept him out plus at same time Cornell Glenn was an up and coming star who performed very well when he got in a game so Fabian was overlooked.
I think he is a good player but he just seems unable to get sustain a higher level of play.
Scaly (1/25/2007)Sicko when Fabian was at the Metrostars I went to every home game and watched all the away games on tv. His first game here saw him scored 2 goals in beautiful 3-2 win over Diss Cee United (mawning T.K) and everyone at the game including HL, Lazie and myself were all happy for him and looked forward to big things, but he fizzled out shortly after.
I dont know if it was the pace of the game or his mental state was not 100% but after so much promise he never really showed his true form.
He was given many chances to prove himself but many times nagging injuries kept him out plus at same time Cornell Glenn was an up and coming star who performed very well when he got in a game so Fabian was overlooked.
I think he is a good player but he just seems unable to get sustain a higher level of play.
Mosiah if was was in that bad a shape why did he even play come here then ? No I don't know the full extent of his injury but if it was that bad how in the world did he pass the team fitness test week in week out ?
If I go to a game and see him playing I must assume he is fit enough to be on the field maybe not 100% but good enough that they would take a chance.
Beyond that though he did not play very well here, he might be tearing down the place now at HV ANDI AM GLAD TO HEAR but WHILE IN NYC HE DID NOT PLAY WELL....that don't mean he is bad but he had a bad spell here.
Mind Chatter Box and him friends dem come call you Hater cause you not pouring out tons of ratings on the baller.
Or maybe them ongle have strength for me when I point out Santa Claude's myriad of short comings on the football field.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
<DIV>I got yah! Facts are facts - he had a bad spell in NY. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Can't wait to see Bora's first game with the team though. Will be real interesting who he selects.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Meanwhile, Bora is still up at Munro about to watch a match with the U-20s today. Absolutely love the man's enthusiasm. On the other hand, pay me 25% of what he's making and see how enthusiastic I get about any and everything!</DIV>
I have seen Fabian Taylor play while he was in the United States. He was at best borderline average.
You are only as good as your competition.
Taylor looks good--now that he is performing at a lower level.
Injury or not, my assessment (and forumite Scaly's too), is based purely on whatwas seen.
Easy yuhself Scaly, Mosiah just being eMotional. Sorry, Mo, but its the truth. After his first game, there was alot of enthusiasm, but that was his best performance.
Sickko, mashing up the NPL is no big deal boss. The day people realize that .. the better."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
ForFar (1/25/2007)I have seen Fabian Taylor play while he was in the United States. He was at best borderline average.
You are only as good as your competition.
Taylor looks good--now that he is performing at a lower level.
Injury or not, my assessment (and forumite Scaly's too), is based purely on whatwas seen.
It may sound good, but this, like many sayings, is crap! You can be way better than your competition. You think Federer is as good as his competition? He is way better! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>There are 100s of players who are better than their competition, pointless going through the expansive list. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>So, I guess Shevchenko is playing badly because his competition is crap, huh? (N)</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Time wi stop dissing our NPL. Less than 2 years ago a certain player by the name of Luton Shelton was as good as his lousy NPL players. Now he is in the EPL. Those of us who really know him know that he is still far from the finished article, yet...</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And while we are on useless proverbs, here's another one: You can be anything you want to be! Well, I wanted to be the Olympic 100m champion. </DIV><DIV>(waitin)</DIV>
I didn't see all his games, but I did see most of them. What I didn't see televised or Live, I'd see excerpts of on the Metrostars report. Afterall, there is a Jamaican playing for the team, you think I'm gonna miss it?
Mek we get something straight, Lazie is not a sports fan .... Lazie is a football FANATIC. If you notice every week I post the football Menu?"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)