A simple plan to improve U-17 & U-20 football

a so it look on the TV. LOL

I agree... on the surface

Problem is we've heard this logical-sounding argument every 4 years since 1998. Short term has a funny way of turning into long term

Something needs to change
      How can you disagree with putting our best on the field at all times?
      Dunny never said at all times our best shall come from foreign residences?

...that putting of our 'best foot foarward' at all times in all spheres is the only way to 'pull others on'...have other 'pull up socks'!!!

What a thing if at school...err in the institutions of learning you attended the culture was 'nuh badda try ard'? ...pure 'dunce' wudda graduate! ...has hin-cen-tive udda lang time walk tru di door dem!

=Karl;410214]How can you disagree with putting our best on the field at all times?
        Dunny never said at all times our best shall come from foreign residences?
        I don't disagree with that policy. However if one only considers that position in the development of our game we will get nowhere... which is what has been happening since 1998....yes it's a paradox. Taking your argument to its logical conclusion the JFF should ALWAYS be recruiting a team of 100% European-Jamaicans.... mostly players born in Europe

Since we all know we can draw the English card at will there's no great incentive to develop yutes systematically...that's pretty clear to me

...that putting of our 'best foot foarward' at all times in all spheres is the only way to 'pull others on'...have other 'pull up socks'!!!

What a thing if at school...err in the institutions of learning you attended the culture was 'nuh badda try ard'? ...pure 'dunce' wudda graduate! ...has hin-cen-tive udda lang time walk tru di door dem! [
        I'm not advocating that

I don't disagree with that policy. However if one only considers that position in the development of our game we will get nowhere... which is what has been happening since 1998....yes it's a paradox. Taking your argument to its logical conclusion the JFF should ALWAYS be recruiting a team of 100% European-Jamaicans.... mostly players born in Europe

Since we all know we can draw the English card at will there's no great incentive to develop yutes systematically...that's pretty clear to me

I'm not advocating that
          What you state on
          ... which is what has been happening since 1998....yes it's a paradox. Taking your argument to its logical conclusion the JFF should ALWAYS be recruiting a team of 100% European-Jamaicans.... mostly players born in Europe
          is not logical!

Logic suggests all the 'best players' in the senior squad would most often be a mixture of local born Jamaicans and overseas born Jamaicans.

Not a stretch to logically conclude that in earliest years the majority would be playing in professional leagues outside of the island as the local top league lags far behind the quality of many of those professional leagues and our best would, all things being equal, be plying their trade in such professional leagues. Surely it is not inconceivable that in the future we could be putting on the field - (as has some top national squads done recently) - a senior team with only players from professional leagues outside of the island.

...at the lower levels for a variety of reasons - costs, convience of travel arrangements, personal decisions to during formative years through to U-17s and U-20s where 'home' is outside of the island be reluctant to travel far from home... - most of our age-group players will be chosen from those playing locally.

As the local players and leagues grow in quality more and more of the senior players will be drawn from the top local league. ...but that could be far in our future.

...there is also no logic in an interpretation that suggests my statement leads to selecting overseas born professionals in our national teams would depress numbers willing to work hard to surpass the quality of the overseas professionals and make for selves own path.

Nope! ...no
          logical conclusion the JFF should ALWAYS be recruiting a team of 100% European-Jamaicans.... mostly players born in Europe

The answer is simple Karl

I am sure if the JFF makes it a priority they can find 15 or more English nationals who qualify for Jamaica....and who have superior technical ability, tactical awareness, consistent exposure in a competent league, fitness etc than ANY Jamaica-based player

If Jamaica wants the so called "best" players available to the country that's a logical route to follow

The JFF, ISSA and the ministries of sport & education need to cooperate to ensure that kids in the national program both get a sound academic education...and learn to play team ball.

1. Form a permanent national player pool at U-17 and U-20 levels based at the Academy -- World Cup Development -- WCD program.... players evaluated and selected islandwide

2. With assistance from ISSA & Min of Education, recruit say 10 willing & suitable schools in easy reach of UWI to serve as "home" schools for the student athletes in the pools. Rural players can be transferred to one of these schools...players in the KMR can remain in their current schools.... suitable accommodation for out of towners to be provided.
              WCD players will not be available to the schools for their competitions but only for the Academy program...the schools will just be responsible for their academic development in all aspects. Tutors to be provided for students needing remedial work

3. Training at the Academy to be structured around the school schedule... transportation to and from the academy (and any accommodation expenses) to be arranged by the JFF/Chase Fund/sponsors

4. If feasible/desirable.. enter the U-17 team in the club U-20 competition and the U-20 in the KSAFA Major League...or competition deemed most suitable for their age group & development.
              Otherwise proceed with whatever development program is suitable for competitive games...

5. JFF & ISSA to cooperate to build coaching & player development expertise in the high schools and their competitions
              Remedial Player Development 101

You're making a fool of yourself now...yute start play football at 14...15...16?

Brickflop you're a straight up idiot...mi ah deal wid di HS level. Others can deal wid U-11. Mi nuh deh yah fi address evvyting

Kids don't start playing at HS age...but they are currently playing in HS...and some of them like Powell, Mattocks & Brown start playing for the national team in HS or shortly thereafter... This remedial plan would produce more ballas like dat...but FASTER

Now run along an wait fi smaddy build 2 academies fi run yuh foolfool academy league...woooiiee

Brickflop you're a straight up idiot...mi ah deal wid di HS level. Others can deal wid U-11. Mi nuh deh yah fi address evvyting
                    Man seh him nah deal wit the most crucial stage of development...and a call me idiot...luckily i've got an app for that...woieee...rum bar tunup

Yep... mi deal wid weh mi feel fi deal wid.... but mi definitely naw bank pon pie-in-di- sky academy league.

By time dat set up yuh ah push up di roses
                      Last edited by Don1; October 19, 2013, 08:21 PM.

woieee...master builder...

yuhseeit now