Scouting Eligible Overseas-based Talent

• Scouting Eligible Overseas-based Talent

Trinidad’s new football coach Otto Pfister’s first task after his appointment is to travel to London to meet with England-born players eligible to represent Trinidad’s national team. I ask, “When is Tappa going to do the same?” We shoot ourselves in the foot all the time: (1) we allow some of our best eligible overseas-based talent to play for our opponents (or not for us) because we are either poor at judging talent or bad-minded ("Wi nuh want nuh farina pon wi team!"); hence, we do not let them feel included/wanted until bigger nations show interest in them or (2) we call on the second-tier (those not good enough to attract interest from our opponents) when we are already in dire straits. Tappa needs to reach out to and gauge the interest of the following players:
    Zavon Hines(West Ham)
    Jermaine Beckford (Everton)- being targeted by Grenada
    Joel Grant (Crewe Alexander)
    Jobi McNuff (Watford)
    Chris Humphrey (Motherwell/SCO)
    Daniel Johnson (Aston Villa)
    Ryan Smith (Kansas City)
    Darren Pratley (Swansea)

He should then pick those with the requisite talent, commitment, and discipline. He should try to complement the foregoing list with a deep pool of intelligent defenders, because we are woefully lacking at the back.

The local-based newspaper reporters need to track down these players and interview them. Why does it seem that only Gordon Williams does interesting interviews with our foreign-based athletes? In the internet age, this sort of omission is unacceptable.

He also needs to call Tyrone Marshall and Andy Williams out of retirement. Tappa has been saying that the team needs a leader in the mould of Peter Cargill. Well, if he truly wants someone to play the Cargill role of '98, Marshall can do it much better on the field than Cargill did back in 98. Additionally, he (along with the fans) has been bemoaning the absence of a creative midfielder in the team ad nauseum. Williams has been Jamaica's best creative (i.e., creator of goal scoring opportunities for others) midfielder/playmaker since '98 and he is playing very well now. If Rafael Marquez, can still play for Mexico, then these 2 players along with Ian Goodison should not be discarded purely based on age. Does the name Roger Milla ring a bell?

Good points. However, I am not sure how the conclusion of Marshall being a much better on the field leader than Cargill was reached. Marshall at his current level of play looks more like Peter Cargill at the World Cup as opposed to Peter Cargill during World Cup qualifiers.

Lanny: To That List I Would Like To Add......Daniel Gordon

From Lanny's post:

He should then pick those with the requisite talent, commitment, and discipline. He should try to complement the foregoing list with a deep pool of intelligent defenders, because we are woefully lacking at the back.

I have another player I would like to add to your list. I don't know how often you visit this site, but I have been campaigning to get Tappa to give him a trial, even going so far as to e-mail Tappa and JFF headquarters.

The player is Daniel Gordon, a defensive midfielder who plays for Rotweiss Oberhausen (RWO) in Bundesliga 2, the German second division. He is 25 years old, 6-4 tall, 185 pounds. Gordon is in his second season with RWO.

I became aware of Gordon because of a friend from another site who is an RWO season ticket holder.

Gordon was born and raised in Germany. His father is a Jamaican-born Englishman, and his mother is German. Gordon has never played for England or for Germany.

Gordon is an excellent defender who does not do crazy things with the ball. He takes what the defense gives him, then looks to make a good pass.

On offense, he usually does not go forward into the other team's box, except
      when RWO takes corner kicks and free kicks served into the box. where he is
      dangerous as a target. He has a wicked header. Despite missing four months with a knee injury, Gordon has scored two goals this year, both with his head.

On the downside, Gordon has only average offensive skills with his feet, and is prone to yellow cards for hard tackles. He is fully capable of playing 90 minutes.

RWO started the season 4-1-1 before being riddled with injuries, including Gordon, and has crashed through the table, and is now facing relegation.

RWO: www.rwo-online.de

Goal #1 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFTIjYuFPWc

Goal # 2 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMzEmTQ68z8 (Goal late in game)
      Last edited by Bruce; April 10, 2011, 10:28 AM.

A wah di?

...bout kaul yuh neophyte

Good chat, Elder Statesman!
        Good Chat, sah!

Jobi McNuff was called many times but kept holding out for that elusive England call. I am not sure I would include him.
          Instead, I would see if Raheem Sterling of Liverpool would answer the call.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Mosiah, how about printing this thread and delivering it to JFF Headquarters?

Jobi McAnuff has declined the offer but I would woo him once more because he is a quality player who is worth the effort of recruiting.

Daniel Johnson is a very good good young midfielder. He was born in Jamaica so there isn't much the JFF needs to do to get him onboard.

Jermaine Pennant is quality, period! He has played for England at the U21 level but has not been called up since. We should do a complete check/research to see if there are any loopholes left to get him with the ReggaeBoyz.

Jamal Campbell-Ryce is being neglected. Give him a recall because he has some lovely skills as a right-sided linkman.

Joel Grant played many games for the Boyz U20 team. Maybe it's time to call him to camp so we can see how he fits into the senior side.

Shawn Johnson (Chicago Fire goalkeeper) needs to be looked at. I know we already have Murray, Kerr, McCallum, Ricketts and even Shaun Sawyers but Shawn Johnson is a good addition to our troop of custodians.

Bruce's boy (Daniel Gordon) of Germany could also be brought in.

Andy Williams could play a small role in qualification until we can identify a creative midfielder. The little youth (Sterling) at Liverpool, Andre Steele at H/View and Keamar Daley at TG can be groomed as creative Mids.

Not sure I would recall Granny Marshall. I am a fan of Marshall but he has slowed up quite a bit from his many injuries. Damion "Stew Peas" Stewart might be a better option at this moment.
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Jobi McAnuff has declined the offer but I would woo him once more because he is a quality player who is worth the effort of recruiting.

Daniel Johnson is a very good good young midfielder. He was born in Jamaica so there isn't much the JFF needs to do to get him onboard.

Jermaine Pennant is quality, period! He has played for England at the U21 level but has not been called up since. we should do a complete check/research to see if there are any loopholes left to get him with the ReggaeBoyz.

Jamal Campbell-Ryce is being neglected. Give him a recall because he has some lovely skills as a right-sided linkman.

Joel Grant played many games for the Boyz U20 team. maybe it's time to call him to camp so we can see how he fits into the senior side.

Shawn Johnson (Chicago Fire goalkeeper) needs to be looked at.

Bruce's boy (Daniel Gordon) of Germany could also be brought in.

Andy Williams could play a small role in qualification until we can identify a creative midfielder. The little youth (Sterling) at Liverpool, Andre Steele at H/View and Keamar Daley at TG can be groomed as creative Mids.

Not sure I would recall Granny Marshall. I am a fan of Marshall but he has slowed up quite a bit from his many injuries. Damion "Stew Peas" Stewart might be a better option at this moment.
                "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Jobi McNuff was called many times but kept holding out for that elusive England call. I am not sure I would include him.
                  Instead, I would see if Raheem Sterling of Liverpool would answer the call.
                  McNuff already played for us against Nigeria. He is not holding out for England...I believe he was not impressed with the JFF and since retired from international ball.

Johnson already rep. the US.

OK, let me put it another way. He played for us in friendlies when he was testing the grounds where it did not matter. When it came to real internationals which would have tied him to Jamaica, he declined. He was not wiling to commit as he was hoping he could earn a call from England.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

McAnuff actually plays for Reading, not Watford.

Maybe now he will have a change of heart and have more confidence in the product the JFF is trying to put on the field. Jonjo McAnuff is british in some ways but he lives a lifestyle which is deeply entrenched in his Jamaican roots.

Did he play during boxhill towel sharing days?

here is a name for you, that could work. Junior Houilett.. Blackburn..