Trinidad’s new football coach Otto Pfister’s first task after his appointment is to travel to London to meet with England-born players eligible to represent Trinidad’s national team. I ask, “When is Tappa going to do the same?” We shoot ourselves in the foot all the time: (1) we allow some of our best eligible overseas-based talent to play for our opponents (or not for us) because we are either poor at judging talent or bad-minded ("Wi nuh want nuh farina pon wi team!"); hence, we do not let them feel included/wanted until bigger nations show interest in them or (2) we call on the second-tier (those not good enough to attract interest from our opponents) when we are already in dire straits. Tappa needs to reach out to and gauge the interest of the following players:
Zavon Hines(West Ham)
Jermaine Beckford (Everton)- being targeted by Grenada
Joel Grant (Crewe Alexander)
Jobi McNuff (Watford)
Chris Humphrey (Motherwell/SCO)
Daniel Johnson (Aston Villa)
Ryan Smith (Kansas City)
Darren Pratley (Swansea)
He should then pick those with the requisite talent, commitment, and discipline. He should try to complement the foregoing list with a deep pool of intelligent defenders, because we are woefully lacking at the back.
The local-based newspaper reporters need to track down these players and interview them. Why does it seem that only Gordon Williams does interesting interviews with our foreign-based athletes? In the internet age, this sort of omission is unacceptable.
He also needs to call Tyrone Marshall and Andy Williams out of retirement. Tappa has been saying that the team needs a leader in the mould of Peter Cargill. Well, if he truly wants someone to play the Cargill role of '98, Marshall can do it much better on the field than Cargill did back in 98. Additionally, he (along with the fans) has been bemoaning the absence of a creative midfielder in the team ad nauseum. Williams has been Jamaica's best creative (i.e., creator of goal scoring opportunities for others) midfielder/playmaker since '98 and he is playing very well now. If Rafael Marquez, can still play for Mexico, then these 2 players along with Ian Goodison should not be discarded purely based on age. Does the name Roger Milla ring a bell?
Zavon Hines(West Ham)
Jermaine Beckford (Everton)- being targeted by Grenada
Joel Grant (Crewe Alexander)
Jobi McNuff (Watford)
Chris Humphrey (Motherwell/SCO)
Daniel Johnson (Aston Villa)
Ryan Smith (Kansas City)
Darren Pratley (Swansea)
He should then pick those with the requisite talent, commitment, and discipline. He should try to complement the foregoing list with a deep pool of intelligent defenders, because we are woefully lacking at the back.
The local-based newspaper reporters need to track down these players and interview them. Why does it seem that only Gordon Williams does interesting interviews with our foreign-based athletes? In the internet age, this sort of omission is unacceptable.
He also needs to call Tyrone Marshall and Andy Williams out of retirement. Tappa has been saying that the team needs a leader in the mould of Peter Cargill. Well, if he truly wants someone to play the Cargill role of '98, Marshall can do it much better on the field than Cargill did back in 98. Additionally, he (along with the fans) has been bemoaning the absence of a creative midfielder in the team ad nauseum. Williams has been Jamaica's best creative (i.e., creator of goal scoring opportunities for others) midfielder/playmaker since '98 and he is playing very well now. If Rafael Marquez, can still play for Mexico, then these 2 players along with Ian Goodison should not be discarded purely based on age. Does the name Roger Milla ring a bell?