JFF Targets Valencia camp for U17s

• JFF Targets Valencia camp for U17s

I salute Mr Burrell's and the JFF's effort to seek higher training and preparation for the young world-cup bound Boyz. The program needs US70,000 to become a reality. We as fans can help! Talk is cheap, let's send whatever little we can afford to to the JFF to help underwrite the costs for the Valencia camp.

JFF targets Valencia camp for U-17s
    BY SANJAY MYERS Observer staff reporter
    Thursday, April 07, 2011

JAMAICA Football Federation (JFF) president Captain Horace Burrell has announced that the National Under-17 squad has been offered the opportunity to camp in Valencia, Spain as they prepare to partake in the June 18-July 10 World Cup to be staged in Mexico.

Speaking on Tuesday at the launch of this year's Next Generation Valencia CF Kids and Coaches' Camp at the Spanish Court Hotel in New Kingston, Burrell said the JFF is awaiting input from the Ministry of Youth, Sports and Culture and the private sector to confirm if the Young Reggae Boyz will make the estimated US$70,000 trip.
    (From left) Andre Virtue, director of the Next Generation Camp; Monique Todd of Scotiabank Ja Ltd; Spanish Ambassador to Jamaica, Celsa Nuno Garcia; Next Generation’s founder, Victor Salazar-Chang; Claro’s public relations officer, Kerry Moxam and JFF president, Captain Horace Burrell pose with sponsorship cheques from Scotiabank and Claro in New Kingston on Tuesday.

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/1

"We are hopeful that both the government and the private sector will give these youngsters the opportunity by providing the funding for them to take up this recent challenge.
    "I'm just imagining these players camping in Spain and then going on to Mexico to the World Cup finals... that would be superb," he said.
    The seasoned football administrator praised the efforts of Spanish Ambassador to Jamaica, Celsa Nuno Garcia, and Next Generation's founder, Victor Salazar-Chang, in creating the opportunity for the Under-17s and insisted that the camp in Spain would provide an ideal platform for success at the FIFA Under-17 Championships.
    "The Spanish group has been very instrumental in offering this to the JFF and we have to thank the Ambassador of Spain and the Valencia group (led by) Victor Salazar-Chang and all the others who are responsible.
    "Two-and-a-half-weeks' training in Spain would go a far way in helping our players to gain a lot more confidence than they now have," Burrell asserted.
    He added that the offer to the Jamaicans is open for some time between late April and early May of this year.
    A much-heralded six-week training camp in Brazil was the foundation for the team's preparation for their successful CONCACAF qualifying campaign in Montego Bay last month, and Burrell is anxious to expose the youngsters even more ahead of the global event.
    "The cry has always been that we've not been given enough exposure. We believe that sending our youngsters to Spain, into a professional environment where they would be living together and training together, would impact positively on their ability to perform.
    "It would be an experience which I'm sure would manifest itself in the results," said Burrell, who was in his first stint in charge of the Federation when the senior team (1998), Under-17s (1999) and Under-20s (2001) qualified for the World Cups Finals during a flourishing era of local football.
    The Next Generation programme is a subsidiary of Taino Trade and Investments Limited, which is owned by the Valencia-born Salazar-Chang, who has been residing in Jamaica for over two decades.
    Valencia Football Club is widely regarded as the third best team in the Spanish League over the last decade — behind Barcelona and Real Madrid — while Spain are the current senior European and world title-holders after triumphing at the respective 2008 and 2010 Championships

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1IpxCYC00
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

70,000 us . H.L the US can play a role here , tell US soccer di JFF a beg a smalls , nothing to their multi million dollar budget whip their ass.
    Last edited by Sir X; April 7, 2011, 10:08 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Wrong view X! We can make this about us (ReggaeBoyz Fans). Let's put the onus on ourselves as fans who can help to make the difference. In this case the help can come in the form of cash donation. We talk alot...especially here on this forum...but we forget that even as individuals we can help make this a reality.

A little sacrifice can go a long way!
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

The sarcasm is shared between X and H.L , you just wouldnt get it, well maybe you will...Check H.L

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I think that HL is ...believe it or not...a huge ReggaeBoyz Fan. He defends the USA staunchily but deep down nothing makes him happier than to see the Boyz and the program doin well. I hope I'm right!

So what's your take on the possibilty of the U-17s doing a camp with Valencia? I think it can do wonders for the young Boyz being that this might be a different/new way of doing things in training. Whadduthink?

Any camp in a professional enviroment is a plus.

why should you have to hope that you are right?

Well there is always the possibility that my Lab Pardna is more a USA fan than a Reggaeboyz fan. Nothing wrong being a fan of both teams but it would be nice if his first team is The Boyz and his second team is Sam's Army.

agreed.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I donate money all the time to various non-profits including the Mustard Seed communities, Dikembe Mutombo foundation etc. One ting in common is that dem all have an audit pon file, and if the JFF come through with that, mi would not hesitate fi give dem sumtin.

Good talk Hortical....transparency sweetens urgency!