Let's copy this one; No! Let's copy that one................

• Let's copy this one; No! Let's copy that one................

Copying the Brazilians, or the Germans, or the Dutch, or any other country is NOT the answer to having a successful soccer (football) program in Jamaica. These countries that you are looking to copy, became successful because of hard work, NOT QUICK FIXES, by their federation, and a comprehensive and continually evolving program/system.

Jamaica has the RAW talent, but you need trained and qualified coaches/teachers and trainers to nurture and develop that RAW talent, so identifying, investing in and developing your best coaches/teachers and trainers should be one of your first steps. Now you don't have the financial resources readily available, so it is the job of your federation to work their "connections" that will help to get your coaches/teachers and trainers professionally trained and qualified, because a two to three week stint will NOT be enough, that is for show.

There is NO way around it, Jamaica needs a properly staffed and funded academy that will house, nurture and develop the most talented youth players in the country. That does NOT mean you need to scrap your high school competition, because there will be "late bloomers", who look average or good (but not good enough to be a part of your academy), and take the US college route, to be a valuable member of your senior team. PLUS, your federation and the high system can work together to get the high school coaches/teachers professional trained and qualified.

The federation also has to make sure that ALL the coaches/teachers and trainers in the DPL are professionally trained and qualified.

...More to come

Hmmmmmmmm

Inn-er-esting!

We are going to have to copy some things. While we need to use a system to measure what works and what don't for us, we need not to re-invent the wheel but look at successful programs and how we can adjust.

We keep on saying we are following others yet, we are not.
      The questions are how do we get the best players and most to the national team?

How do we improve their quality?

How do we improve the coaching standard?

The fact is we don't stick to any standards and as usual start and stop.

First we have to make a firm establishment on this board about the word talent. What is talent in football? Is it in areas of technique or tactics?

In technique: Is it shooting , heading, passing, control, dribbling to name a few?

Tactics: Is it ability to read the game hence closing down attacks quickly? Is it the ability to move out of the defensive third to support a counter attack? this is just a few. I want the football minds to set this talent argument to rest once and for all.

There are a few talents in Ja but I would pou it at 1 in 500. Tappa stands as Testimony to this statement.

absolutely on point

How so?

correctly said

Originally posted by USAF View Post
              Copying the Brazilians, or the Germans, or the Dutch, or any other country is NOT the answer to having a successful soccer (football) program in Jamaica. These countries that you are looking to copy, became successful because of hard work, NOT QUICK FIXES, by their federation, and a comprehensive and continually evolving program/system.

Jamaica has the RAW talent, but you need trained and qualified coaches/teachers and trainers to nurture and develop that RAW talent, so identifying, investing in and developing your best coaches/teachers and trainers should be one of your first steps. Now you don't have the financial resources readily available, so it is the job of your federation to work their "connections" that will help to get your coaches/teachers and trainers professionally trained and qualified, because a two to three week stint will NOT be enough, that is for show.

There is NO way around it, Jamaica needs a properly staffed and funded academy that will house, nurture and develop the most talented youth players in the country. That does NOT mean you need to scrap your high school competition, because there will be "late bloomers", who look average or good (but not good enough to be a part of your academy), and take the US college route, to be a valuable member of your senior team. PLUS, your federation and the high system can work together to get the high school coaches/teachers professional trained and qualified.

The federation also has to make sure that ALL the coaches/teachers and trainers in the DPL are professionally trained and qualified.

...More to come
              ===============================================

This has already been presented to the federation in written form September 2009 (13 page proposal) and in February 2008 (20 page proposal). This was requested by them of myself and through GSM.

This was based on what could happen in Jamaica and a program designed for coaching education and player development from youth to senior football nation wide. We started the coaching education program in 2007 and graciously stopped when the fed starter their own school. This was most important. We delivered Level 1, 2 and were to do a level 3, but as I said we stopped. We did 3 day courses in football fitness, attacking football and goalkeeping. We also brought 4 outside coaches from USA, Canada and Scotland to help us. USSF A to UEAF A staff. All professional coaching educator who played the game international. We brought the Glasgow Ranger GK coach here who is also a degreed lecture in a University in Scotland. This is what is needed and more needed to move the local selected coaches forward and upward. We have more coaches who want to come and give their time to me. Great football educating friends. These courses were open to all level of coaches in Jamaica and the charge($$$) was so little anyone coud take them. Over 350 coaches went through these programs which materials were delivered that were outside the football concepts of CONCACAF. Even Carl Brown came and brought his staff from Cayman. Good guys. We think it was very well received by all and allowed through KASFA and the JFF and one course in Mandeville through the Manchester FA. We hsd others planned for the west and many invitations from other confeds. As I said we stopped. If anyone wants the above they can email me. Even Mosiah attended these course and he is available as a personal testimoney. Cheers Mate.

All will work out in time and there's only one way for football to forward in Jamaica and that is to a positive level of production and continuation of what is being attempted. Everyone is ready, most willing, each one has been chatting about it for 3+ years and everyone wants to move forward. It can be done on less money than one would think. It's finding the resources outside and inside Jamaica and this is possible and we've shown this already. It's now about coordination and prayer and action.

All the best,

Paul Banta
              GSM International
              pbanta@sc.rr.com
              843-23-3762

That is the problem we have. Following through with standards and stop and start. Nobody do any assessment to see how successful it was and what is needed for the next step instead we get great promises and some people who think they know it all.

We have to borrow from others but as you say the most important thing is building our own. Lennie Taylor went to St.Kitts and put in place a coaching program with the Ministry of Education that didn't cost the coaches anything much.

The fact is we can do much better and we need to have something consistent and assess it every so often and use what works and make ourselves better.

How? Simple..
                  All the points he made are correct

Big up every time, Coach! You lit the fire under the JFF's azz!

Gama: Brazil training camp not enough
                      SEANWILLIAMS AT THE CONCACAF U-20 CHAMPIONSHIP in Guatemala
                      Sunday, April 03, 2011

GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala — Though it will offer little or no comfort for those who had high expectations of them, Jamaica's Under-20 footballers had a mountainous challenge to do well in the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers even before a ball was kicked.

When the young Reggae Boyz's preparation and development programme were compared to that of their Group A opponents in hosts Guatemala and Honduras, the odds were stacked firmly against the Jamaicans to deliver another World Cup qualification for their country.

GUATEMALA CITY, GUATEMALA — Jamaica’s Under-20 head coach Walter Gama makes a point to members of his technical staff (out of picture) at the team’s hotel on Wednesday ahead of the team’s CONCACAF Championship game against Honduras on Thursday. (Photo: Sean Williams)

1/1

The basis of Jamaica's preparation was a three-week training camp in Brazil, which involved six matches against local club opponents and mostly at their age-group level, and their Brazil coach Walter Gama, conceded that "it was not enough".
                      In those games, the Boyz suffered four losses, while they had one draw and a win.
                      Before departing Jamaica for South America early last month, the team, under Jamaican coach Anthony Edwards, played five practice matches with mixed results against Premier League outfits Boys' Town, Arnett Gardens, Tivoli Gardens, Waterhouse and Duhaney Park.
                      Though those games would have helped, they were clearly insufficient in providing the team with high-quality opposition ahead of a high-stakes international tournament.
                      Unlike the successful Under-17s, who had the benefit of a six-week camp in Brazil and four quick international warm-up matches against the USA (twice), Costa Rica and Haiti before the qualifying tournament in Montego Bay, the Under-20s had no first-class international match exposure.
                      The Hondurans, who formalised Jamaica's elimination from the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship here by beating them 2-1 on Thursday, had a total of six high-quality pre-tournament matches, inclusive of five internationals.
                      They played strong Mexico and Costa Rica twice, hosted Trinidad and Tobago and engaged Mexican Premier Division team, Toluca FC.
                      Hosts Guatemala, did not have international practice matches, but played 13 matches againt local opponents, including a game against their senior team.
                      Though Guatemala are not considered a comparatively strong side, being together for two unbroken months preparing for the tournament and their home advantage status, have given them a fillip.
                      Coupled with bad football by their opponents and the support from approximately 5,000 cheering fans, the home side conjured up a 2-0 victory over Jamaica in the opening match of the group.
                      Both countries, already qualified for the quarter-finals, were due to meet last night in Central American derby to decide group winners, which will ultimately determine who they play in corresponding Group B. Qualifiers from that group, the USA and Panama, were also scheduled for a showdown at the Mateo Flores National Stadium last night.
                      Both Honduras and Guatemala have full professional players in their outfits. All of Honduras' 20 players, for instance, are attached to professional clubs -- both inside and outside the country. With the exception of four players, all the other Guatemalans are being nurtured in professional environments at home and abroad.
                      Contrastingly, 18 of Jamaica's 20 players here are still associated with their school sides, while playing for club teams in Jamaica's deficient 'semi-professional' Premier League. Some also play in amatuer parochial competitions around the island. It must be noted that many of these players would have had their last season playing in the Manning Cup and daCosta Cup schoolboy competitions last year.
                      Only Reno's Craig Foster and Waterhouse's Jason Watson, who are not attending school are solely playing for their clubs.
                      "I think that some of our players were playing their first international in this tournament and that shouldn't be the case, especially when you are playing against professionals, while we are using a number of schoolboys," lamented Howard McIntosh, chairman of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) Technical and Development Committee.
                      It was clear that Jamaica were at a disadvantage from the get-go, but that does not excuse some of the terrible football the team played, especially in the first match.
                      "At the same time some players were disppointing like those who play at the Premier League level and those who have played at the senior international level. Players like young Craig Foster and Allan Ottey disappointed, and also Marvin Morgan and Sergio Campbell," McIntosh noted.
                      "We had great hopes for our youth programmes generally, obviously the Under-17s have qualified and we were hoping for similar achievement by the Under-20s... in terms of the preparedness of the team, what we found is that most of the people that we have to play against in CONCACAF, our level of preparedness was way below theirs," he added.
                      The team's lack of international match practice showed up in the team's overall play, and realistically it would require lots of luck, a miracle even if, they were to be successful in the tournament.
                      "There is no substitute for match experience across all teams; I think we saw it clearly with the Under-17s because after they did their programme in Brazil and came back, they were able to have four games... in this case, we just came straight to Guatemala without the benefit of international practice games," McIntosh said after the team's decisive game on Thursday night.
                      Meanwhile, in the Central American zone qualification competition for the CONCACAF finals, Honduras were imperious in brushing aside El Salvador, 4-0, and Belize, 3-0, while Guatemala gained automatic qualification to the ongoing tournament as hosts.
                      Jamaica, in their Caribbean qualifiers, defeated Grenada 6-1, hosts Guyana 2-0 and US Virgin Islands, a whopping 13-0.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1ISbyHRhr

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Is Gamma a bad coach ? The JFF program bad coaching included is part of the problem, we have been seeing the results of a Jamaican program , its called prepare for a FIFA tournament in two weeks or as Laza said hack and chop.

Let me reiterate coaching is a part of the problem but our bigger problem is lack of a continous youth program.

Look at the preparation our adversaries had , one even played its senior team , the other had 13 games, we had what two weeks or 5 games in Brazil ?

JFF screwed us.

It was clear that Jamaica were at a disadvantage from the get-go, but that does not excuse some of the terrible football the team played, especially in the first match.
                        "At the same time some players were disppointing like those who play at the Premier League level and those who have played at the senior international level. Players like young Craig Foster and Allan Ottey disappointed, and also Marvin Morgan and Sergio Campbell," McIntosh noted.
                        "We had great hopes for our youth programmes generally, obviously the Under-17s have qualified and we were hoping for similar achievement by the Under-20s... in terms of the preparedness of the team, what we found is that most of the people that we have to play against in CONCACAF, our level of preparedness was way below theirs," he added.
                        The team's lack of international match practice showed up in the team's overall play, and realistically it would require lots of luck, a miracle even if, they were to be successful in the tournament

He concluded a miracle..lol
                        Last edited by Sir X; April 3, 2011, 08:10 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"...coaching is a part of the problem but our bigger problem is lack of a continous youth program." Well said X. We need what Zadie (SG) called in 1999, "Perpetual Renewal," in order to keep our football moving forward.

Very good topic USAF. Solid points.

Nuff Respect Paul Banta for your continued effort to help the program in whatever way passible.

"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

The thing that people overlook is even the Brazilians said we dont have a program and its not that they wish to implement their program but a professional program , forgive them for wanting to implement the best in the world, anyway that being said I believe that we can implement ours, and it will never be Brazilian even the Brazialins know this because a program like the Brazialins requires millions of dollars that we dont have.

Simoes , Clovis, Laza , Gamma and whoever has stated and whomever follows will state this as a fact.

It would be more cost effective if the JFF had a coaching exchange program with the Brazilians and those camps in Brazil should be cut out and be reversed in the order of coaching stints by Brazilians to help us implement a national program.

We need the Brazilians minds ,philosophy train of thought to mold into our program.

Hope all going well in Guatemala. I would like to think it as a gentle fire that can warm all of us together to move football in Jamaica ahead as all pray for.

Coach