Shavar on Trials in Sweden

• Shavar on Trials in Sweden

<HR color=#cccccc noShade SIZE=1 HEIGHT="15"> <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=375 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=Verdana10>
    Shavar Thomas.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><BR clear=all><SPAN class=ArticleHeadline>"Intressant och kraftfull mittback"
    </SPAN><SPAN class=ArticleLead>Redan som 17-åring debuterade han i Jamaicas A-landslag.
    Shavar Thomas är dessutom bästa kompis med Khari Stephenson.
    I dag stämplar 25-åringen in på Kamratgården för en veckas provträning med Blåvitt.
    </SPAN><SPAN class=Verdana9>
    </SPAN><SCRIPT> CM8ShowAd("rektangel_ovre") </SCRIPT><SCRIPT language=JAVASCRIPT event=FSCommand(command,args) for=ad_209633> DoFSCommand_209633(command,args); </SCRIPT><SPAN class=ArticleBody>- En intressant och kraftfull mittback, beskriver sportchefen Håkan Mild testspelaren.
    Shavar Thomas senaste klubbadress är Kansas City Wizards i den amerikanska ligan.
    Khari Stephenson, gaisaren som i veckan skrev fyraårskontrakt med AIK och i går flög till Stockholm, har spelat ihop med Shavar Thomas under stora delar av karriären.

<SPAN class=ArticleMellanrubrik>Stark och skicklig</SPAN>
    - Jag hoppades vi skulle mötas i kväll på Landvetter. Vi pratades vid i telefon i lördags. Men Shavar kommer tydligen senare. Vi har samma moderklubb (Real Mona) och delade lägenhet under de två år vi spelade tillsammans i Kansas, berättar Stephenson.
    <SPAN class=articleBold>Hur vill du beskriva honom som spelare?</SPAN>
    - Stark, skicklig på att tackla och bra tajming i luftspelet. Han har alla möjligheter att lyckas i allsvenskan om han får ett kontrakt med IFK Göteborg.
    Enligt Håkan Mild är den 12-faldige landslagsmannen free agent och kostar därmed ingen övergångssumma.
    Blåvitt har redan värvat en mittback, isländske U-landslagsmannen Runar Sigurdsson.
    Men har även sagt farväl till Dennis Jonsson (norska Raufoss) samt till uruguayaren Alejandro Lago, lånet från norska Rosenborg.
    </SPAN><SPAN class=Verdana11><BR clear=all></SPAN><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=375 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=Verdana10>Av KJELL-OVE ANDERSSON</SPAN></TD><TD align=right><SPAN class=Verdana10>kjell-ove</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

RE: Shavar on Trials in Sweden

Gwaan my youth. If CB and Boyus never keep you outta the senior team fi three years, you may be playing in Europe already. Go Shavar! (tup)
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Wha dem hol him with? Hope him get a good lawyer cause that language look tuff to understand....(Tant)(Tant)

It is called agent Sickko.

Anyway, the club is IFK Goteborg. Here is something from their site:

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=432><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY><TR align=left><TD vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE style="FONT-SIZE: 7px; WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=2 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: medium none; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BACKGROUND: none transparent scroll repeat 0% 0%; BORDER-LEFT: medium none; BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none" vAlign=top align=left><TABLE style="FONT-SIZE: 1px" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=200 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 7pt; COLOR: #000000; FONT-STYLE: italic; FONT-FAMILY: verdana"></SPAN>
        </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><SPAN language=javascript style="FONT-WEIGHT: bold; FONT-SIZE: 10pt; COLOR: #000000; FONT-FAMILY: verdana">Ingen fortsättning för Thomas</SPAN>

<SPAN style="FONT-WEIGHT: bold; FONT-SIZE: 8pt; COLOR: #000000; FONT-FAMILY: verdana">25-årige Shavar Thomas erbjuds inget kontrakt med IFK Göteborg och får nu leta vidare efter en ny klubb. </SPAN>

<SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 8pt; COLOR: #000000; FONT-FAMILY: verdana">Under en vecka har mittbacken Shavar Thomas, med tolv landskamper för Jamaica, provtränat med Blåvitt.
        Mer än så blir det inte.
        - Vi har fått titta på honom och bedömer inte att han vore någon förstärkning, säger sportchef Håkan Mild.
        </SPAN>
        </TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN style="FONT-WEIGHT: bold; FONT-SIZE: 8pt; COLOR: #000000; FONT-FAMILY: verdana">ULF JÖRNVIK</SPAN>
        <SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 8pt; COLOR: #000000; FONT-FAMILY: verdana">Publicerad: 2007-01-23</SPAN>
        <SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 8pt; COLOR: #000000; FONT-FAMILY: verdana">Ändrad: 2007-01-23</SPAN>
        </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Gwaan Youth! (tup)(tup)<SCRIPT language=javascript> function edit_click(element_id){ &#119;indow.location.href = "http://www.ifkgoteborg.se/portal/page?_pageid=113,64766&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL& p_back_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ifkgoteborg.se%2Fporta l%2Fpage%3F_pageid%3D113,70295%26_dad%3Dportal%26_ schema%3DPORTAL&p_element_id=" + element_id } </SCRIPT></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=212><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE></TD><TD vAlign=top width=8><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY><TR align=left><TD vAlign=top width="100%"></A>
        </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD><TD vAlign=top width=212><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" background=/images/pobtrans.gif border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" backgro

Tilla have you heard anything on Dane Richards? When he was drafted by Red Bull the announcers said they were not sure if he would report for Red Bulls as he is trying to play in Europe. - T.K.

No I have not heard anything. But I would not be too surprised if he tried for greener pastures. It is difficult trying to play professional sport earning minimum wage and holding down two jobs. I say if he can find something else go for it.

BTW, is when Mo gwine announce Hue's new deal?

<DIV>Here is the translation:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">“Interesting and powerful middle back”<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">He debuted for <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comffice:smarttags" /><st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1lace w:st="on">Jamaica</st1lace></st1:country-region>’s national team as a 17 year old. Shavar Thomas is also good friend of Khari Stephenson. Today, the 25 year old player is at Kamratgarden for a week’s trial with the blue and whites.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">An interesting and powerful middle back, describes manager Hakan Mild of the player. Shavar Thomas’ most recent club is the Kansas City Wizards in the American league. Khari Stephenson, who last week signed a four year contract with AIK and yesterday flew to <st1:City w:st="on"><st1lace w:st="on">Stockholm</st1lace></st1:City>, has played with Shavar Thomas for much of his career.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">Strong and skilful<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">“I hope we meet tonight in Landvetter. We were speaking on the phone last Saturday. Shavar is bit older but we have the same motherclub (Real Mona) and we shared an apartment for those 2 years we played together in <st1lace w:st="on"><st1:State w:st="on">Kansas</st1:State></st1lace>, says Stephenson.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">How would you describe him as a player?<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">“Strong, good tackler and good timing in the air. He has all it takes to succeed in the Swedish Premier Division if he gets a contract with IFK Gothenburg.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">According to Hakan Mild, Shavar is a free agent and therefore there was no transfer fee.<o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">Blue-white has already recruited a middle back, <st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1lace w:st="on">Iceland</st1lace></st1:country-region>’s Runar Sigurdsson. But Dennis Jonsson left for <st1:country-region w:st="on">Norway</st1:country-region>’s Raufoss and Uruguayan Alejandro Lago is on loan to <st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1lace w:st="on">Norway</st1lace></st1:country-region>’s Rosenborg.</DIV>

Thank you sir! Mosiah Gunbjörn Ericcson Marshall, the on board Sweed! (tup)

Tilla (1/23/2007)No I have not heard anything. But I would not be too surprised if he tried for greener pastures. It is difficult trying to play professional sport earning minimum wage and holding down two jobs. I say if he can find something else go for it.

BTW, is when Mo gwine announce Hue's new deal?
                  Unno love diss MLS pay salary. Hey if Dane Richards would marry a spice girl he too would get $250 million dollars.Don't blame MLS.....blame Dane for choosing the single life.

As for Mo.....The Maestroneeds to go to Bradford. Dead ball specialists are at a premium and Colin Todd would sign him in a heart beat after watching him take a couple of corners andfree kicks outside the eighteen. When you consider that a third of all goals are scored from set plays you can understand why slow and unathleticplayers like Beckham, Etcheverry, Riquelme etc., hold down spots. There ability to hit dead balls is priceless. Hue fits rightinto that mold.Mosiah fi stop the foolishness and get him the trial with Bradford now!

You get the feeling that Mo and Hue have been on the outs these days? - T.K.

Unno love diss MLS pay salary.
                    T.K. Let us keep it real. If you are earning $8,700 per year in this country, you are earning minimum wage.

Tilla (1/24/2007)
                      Unno love diss MLS pay salary.
                      T.K. Let us keep it real. If you are earning $8,700 per year in this country, you are earning minimum wage.
                      Man stop start controversy. Minimum wage job........$18,489........Playing in MLS........$8,700.....Being able to step on the same field as DC United........Priceless! - T.k.

<DIV>Shavar was spotted at the HVFC/Waterhouse game last night. Thought he was still in Sweden. He said his trial consisted of some running and weightlifting. No football was played.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Oh well! Let's see what happens from here.</DIV>