• JFF looks to Brazil fo Kit Sponsors

Penalty first!
    BY IAN BURNETT Sport Editor burnetti@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, March 23, 2011

THE Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) has opened discussions with Brazilian sports manufacturer Penalty, as it begins its search for a new kit sponsorship deal.
    JFF General Secretary Horace Reid met with directors of Penalty -- Carlos Saraiva and Jordi Camps -- at the company's headquarters in Sao Paolo, Brazil last Thursday. However, details of that meeting were not disclosed.
    JFF general secretary Horace Reid (centre) with Professor Walter Gama (left), coach of the Jamaica Under-20 team and Jordi Camps, sports director of Penalty after last Thursday’s meeting with the sports manufacturer.
    1/1
    The JFF is currently out of contract with Italian sports good company Kappa, after their two-year, US$1.77-million sponsorship deal ended last year. Kappa has the option to renew its contract and had expressed an interest to do so.
    Penalty is the current kit provider of the Brazilian national basketball teams, the Brazilian national handball teams, as well as the famous Vasco de Gama and Portuguesa football clubs.
    The company is said to produce high quality sports products and distribute extensively to South America and Central America, but is now looking to broaden its marketing reach to include the Caribbean.
    “The JFF is looking for the right long-term partner to outfit our various national teams and support our ambitious technical programme,” said Reid, who recently returned to the island.
    “The next few years will be an extremely busy one for the national programme. This year alone we have Under-20 World Cup qualifiers in Guatemala, Gold Cup in the USA, Under-17 men’s World Cup in Mexico, Under-20 men’s World Cup if we qualify, Pan American Games qualifiers and Finals, 2014 World Cup qualifiers and women’s Under-17 and Under-20 World Cup qualifiers,” he said.
    Reid told the Observer that the JFF has received interest from other sporting goods manufacturers in Brazil, including Olimpicus, the sponsors of Flamengo FC, who boast a fan base of 40 million, and Topper.
    The previous deal with Kappa was said to be the most lucrative in the JFF’s history, and included signing fees, cash incentives dependent on qualification to the World Cup, Gold Cup, as well as bags, apparel, footwear, sporting equipment and accessories.
    Reid was, however, upbeat about the prospects of securing a good deal from one of the interested parties.
    “The next four years hold tremendous promise and potential for sponsors of the national programme and the fillip received from the Under-17 qualification will serve as great motivation for our players and staff and we intend to use this achievement to drive future successes.
    “Now is as good a time as any for association with the Reggae Boyz brand. The benefits will be enormous for the early investors, as the popularity of the brand has wide appeal and reach beyond the Jamaica community at home and abroad,” he said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1HT2WfC6E
    Last edited by Don1; March 23, 2011, 07:15 PM.

Someone on her had suggested that the JFF may want to check with Under Armor as they were looking o broaden their sporting apparel offerings and could possibly offer an attractive deal to the JFF. I know the football purists among us may say no as they do not have any name recognition in the sport.

I would not be against checking into it though. They could possibly sweeten the pot just to get a foot in the door. Who is to tell?

http://www.underarmour.com/shop/us/en/sports/soccer
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Would be good if they could pull that off with the UA Brand.

It's pretty good quality. (On the pricy side though).

Yes I agree it is good quality. The Jamaican brand is still in demand despite our limited success on the football field.

i think it would be an EXCELLENT fit ... under armour that is (sbsolutely no pun intended). i see they are making football boots too....usually that is the one thing that players get to choose their preference ....

What is this fascination with Brasil?

Ax X..........

what is your fixation with argentina? maybe it is because brasil has won the most world cups?

Right!!!

So we should get them to make crappy football kits for us? Their own team doesn't wear crappy Brasilian gear...

My yute yuh couldn't post two with some ass?

you mean the 5 time world cup champions? yuh think dem haffi seek out kit sponsors?

5 time world cup kit champions?

"their own team" ...... yuh cognitive senses have taken leave of you?