JFF plans Coaching GameChanger ...via Brazil

• JFF plans Coaching GameChanger ...via Brazil

GOJ juss need fi organize one exchange program wid Brazil... wi teach dem track...an dem teach wi ball ... simple. Whey Babsy email deh? Mi wi aks mi Executive Sexetary fi shoot har one email

JFF plans to get more local coaches to Brazil
    Livingston Scott
    Tuesday, March 22, 2011

PORTO FELIZ, Brazil — As the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) continues to seek ways to help with the advancement of the local football programme, the wholesale development of coaches remains one of the areas of emphasis.
    JFF's general secretary Horace Reid, who returned home after spending more than a week in Brazil, said the administration intends to organise a group of coaches for a two-week development stint in Brazil some time soon.

"To be specific, one of the ideas we are exploring for this summer is to see if we can put together six to 12 coaches in a programme for two or three weeks in Brazil. At this point we are looking at the Premier League and a combination of the schoolboy leagues.

"I will be having discussions with the directors of our coaching school set-up, the Premier League Clubs Association and the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) to see if we can collectively sit down and look at how we can enhance what we started two years ago at UTech when we launched the coaching school," noted Reid.

Critical in any broad-based programme, Reid notes, is to have local coaches exposed and familiar with new and more advanced training methods, as it is recognised that trainers have the awesome responsibility of preparing and developing our players for domestic and international competitions.
    "We have recognised that football is evolving, the game is ever changing and most of our coaches in Jamaica have not been exposed sufficiently, if any at all, to the international community and what's happening out there," said Reid, who was in Brazil finalising a training camp for the senior Reggae Boyz in preparation for this summer's CONCACAF Gold Cup in the USA.

"Yes we watch games on television, we see different styles and systems, but in terms of how we break that down, how we conduct training sessions, how we help our players to improve on the fundamentals and take advantage of the science in the sport, we still have a huge gap between what we are doing at home and what obtains in the developed football communities," said the experienced football administrator, who has coached at the club level in Jamaica.

Reid, also chairman of CONCACAF's administration committee, said Jamaica as a footballing country has been enamored with the Brazilian way of preparing teams and playing the game, so it's natural to continue with this as the country's first taste of international success came with a Brazilian at the helm of the programme.

"Through the stint we made with coach (Rene) Simoes and his team, we've had success at the international level with this philosophy... but we have to go one step further, we need to broaden our base so more coaches need to be more exposed to the philosophy," he argued.

Senior head coach, Theodore Whitmore, recently returned from Brazil after a three-week attachment with top clubs in the football-mad country.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1HJpG4ER7
    Last edited by Don1; March 22, 2011, 05:50 AM.

H.L didnt tell Burrell to send them to US colleges ? They need to develop in the best system in the world, didnt he know that the USA has won the Gold Cup X amount of times ? and qualified to almost every FIFA tournament at every level !

waste of funds!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

lol

Coaching Development Produces Players

H.L didnt tell Burrell to send them to US colleges ? They need to develop in the best system in the world, didnt he know that the USA has won the Gold Cup X amount of times ? and qualified to almost every FIFA tournament at every level !

waste of funds!
        Maybe you are correct and time will tell.

Bring those in Brazil into the JFF coaching school. This is what we are doing through GSM Guatemala. The GFF is to bring our coaching education program into their coaching development in 2011 and 2012.

The football coaching school in Jamaica was a great start and open the those who can afford to go. A good enough effort to see a need for greater development. It is however missing an international football education information outside the shores of Jamaica and CONCACAF as heard now by Horce and Tappa. The Level 1 course provIdes a small amount of football development in its course outline, but more design is needed to get the job done in field training sessions, keeper training and FOOTBALL COACHING/LEADERSHIP.

A designed program is so necessary and wanted by those in Jamaica who coach from youth to senior football and if the JFF wants to go the Brazilian route a designed football educational program can be had. The proof is in player development and if it works the results of player development maybe had with the right coaching leadership and plan for a national coaching education effort.

It needs though to be open to all coaches at an affordable price. The recession and general cost to take the Level 1 stops football education in it's tracks. Keep praying as the JFF is making an effort to think out of the box. Well done Horace and Tappa for begining to think where the senior team could one day come from......higher standards of a coaching education programs from outside CONCACAF.

Paul Banta
        GSM International
        http://www.globalsoccerministries.or...cation=Jamaica