• Under 20 Boys Draw 1-1

U20 Boyz give up late goal in 1-1 draw

LIVINGSTON SCOTT With Jamaica’s U-20 REGGAE BOYZ in Brazil

Monday, March 21, 2011

After leading 1-0 for most of the game, Jamaica's Under-20 footballers were held on to a 1-1 draw by Paulina FC at the Itapua football complex in Paulina City yesterday morning.

Jason Wallace fired the young Reggae Boyz ahead after on six minutes, but after losing Craig Foster and Ashani Walker to red cards in the second-half, the Jamaicans conceded a late goal from Elivelton to settle for a draw.

Coach Luciano Gama said it was a good test for the team, as they will more than likely experience situations like this in Guatemala during the final round of qualifiers later this month.

"We fought against some boys who were very competitive, they wanted to beat Jamaica and the referee was not too good to us, but we need to get used to these situations because that is what we are going to find in Guatemala," he said.

"But I want 20 guys who are going to fight for Jamaica and they fought here today..." he reiterated.

The Jamaicans went ahead on their first attack on goal as Wallace outmuscled his marker on a long kick from goalkeeper Kemar Foster, rounded goalkeeper Eduardo and slotted home.

Marvin Morgan then had a great chance to put Jamaica further ahead in the 11th minute, but decided to pass to Gillings after Wallace found him inside the area with Eduardo well out of position.

Paulina then countered immediately and should have equalised when Pit had only Foster to beat, but the Jamaican custodian made a superb block to keep his team ahead.

Foster then produced a number of another brilliant stops to deny the hosts from getting on the scoresheet.

With Paulina dominating possession, the Jamaicans showed good organisation and strength in defence, although Morgan came very close with shots in the 38th and 39th minutes.

After the break, the Jamaicans were put on the defensive for the first 10

minutes as Paulina created a number of good opportunities to get a goal.

The game started to get out of control when Walker was called for a foul on Dic and the Paulina defender's reaction drew anger from the Jamaican players.

And in the 74th minute things went horribly wrong for the young Boyz when Dic made a strong challenge of Foster, who responded with an elbow at the big defender, leaving the referee with no choice but to eject him.

But despite coming under increasing pressure the Jamaican defence of Alvas Powell, Jhamie Hyde, Richardo Israel and Neco Brett, who reverted to right-back in the second half, continued to defend resolutely and kept their opponents chances at a minimum.

A minute into time added, Walker clipped Para's heel from behind, as Paulina launched a counter-attack down the right, and the Jamaican midfielder picked up his second yellow of the match.

Paulina then threw everything into attack and in the second minute of added time substitute goalkeeper Shaven Paul made a diving punch on Augusto's cross, but the ball fell to Elivelton, who fired a low shot that deflected off a Jamaican defender and trickled across the goalline, much to the relief of the home supporters.

Paulina's coach Elio Sizenando said the Jamaicans showed aggression but need to be more compact in defence.

"They are an aggressive team, but they make some mistakes because they take too many touches on the ball.. but they (midfield) need to be more compact and don't leave it (defensive work) to the defenders alone," he told the Observer.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1HFg8rVSR

"They are an aggressive team, but they make some mistakes because they take too many touches on the ball.. but they (midfield) need to be more compact and don't leave it (defensive work) to the defenders alone," he told the Observer.

Every coach seeing the same thing in our players.

Given the professional enviroment that they are in ,we expect them to see it ,the question is what are we doing about it and is three weeks, time enough to rectify it ?

No! qualifying for a fifa tournament means the battle has just begun.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

they take too many touches on the ball

Is that akin to repeating a question so as to give time to think?

....or is it just poor coaching at the younger levels where the incorrect instruction is given, namely "control and then pass"...rather than the correct "make a controlled pass"?

i.e. inadvertently the coaches at our younger levels teach that "control" is a separate different act, not a part of...one unrelated to passing or doing what I have at times euphemistic referred to the player who has received the ball "making the ball do your bidding"/"making the ball talk".

That would be sorted and corrected if the Jamaican U-20 camp was in the US.

The Brazilian system has no problem with the many-touch philosophy. So please don't look for this to be corrected in the upcoming qualification games.

The US approach is simplicity.

Yuh aah-ite X?

Wow so the US system has a superior 1st touch system than Brazil, how many FIFA tournaments have you won again ? I need some hard facts to back up your assertions , like FIFA titles , struggling to beat a nation like Jamaica that holds 3 to 6 week camps before every FIfa tournament that we meet, doesnt cut it for me.

Better yet whats your win ratio against Brazil the inferior 1st touch nation.

Sorry.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You just refuse to stay on topic...

Mi nuh buy innah di too many touches theory, but di support ah di midfiel when di opponent in attack is concrete inna fi mi opinion. Wi need fi attack di ball carrier an pick up di runnah dem, dis free up di defendahs fi duh dem job. Dis easier said dan done kah it require dedication an special role playah's fi dis yah strategy.