Captain Goodison relishing his new position

• Captain Goodison relishing his new position

Captain Goodison relishing his new position<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=headerTable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><P class=headtypea>Jan 23 2007
    </TD></TR><TR><TD><P class=headtypea></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=2><P class=headtypeb>by Nick Hilton, Liverpool Echo</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=400 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=3></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=3><P class=headtypea align=right><P align=right><P class=headtypea align=left>NEW skipper Ian Goodison is emerging as a forceful voice in the Tranmere Rovers dressing-room – much to the delight of manager Ronnie Moore.<P class=headtypea align=left>The vastly experienced Jamaican international has a reputation at Prenton Park for being cool and laid-back, preferring his performances at the heart of the defence to do the talking for him.<P class=headtypea align=left>But Moore has noticed a change in attitude from Goodison since he was handed the responsibility of the captaincy just over a week ago.<P class=headtypea align=left>Moore said: “Ian is so laid-back he could fall asleep on a clothes line, but he has certainly come out of his shell.<DIV class=center id=mpuad style="DISPLAY: none"><SCRIPT language=JavaScript type=text/javascript></SCRIPT></DIV><A name=story_continue></A><SCRIPT language=JavaScript type=text/javascript></SCRIPT><P class=headtypea align=left>“He has a little streak in him and has had a pop at one of two of the players.<P class=headtypea align=left>“That’s just what I’m looking for. When it is only myself or the coaches, John Breckin and Jason McAteer, having a go, it becomes like water off a duck’s back to the players.<P class=headtypea align=left>“It is good if one of the players sparks things off and they can do it among themselves. It is good for morale. It is better than them sitting there and starting to feel sorry for themselves.”<P class=headtypea align=left>Moore admits the captaincy had become a “problem area” because his players were all too nice to each other and reluctant to speak up.<P class=headtypea align=left>He took the armband away from Shane Sherriff because he feared the responsibility of the role was undermining the young Australian’s personal form.<P class=headtypea align=left>Moore is confident Goodison will shake off a painful ankle injury in time to lead Tranmere out in front of the live TV cameras at Gillingham on Friday night.<P class=headtypea align=left>The 34-year-old limped off the field in the closing moments of Tranmere’s 1-1 draw with Bradford City last Friday after taking a painful blow in a tackle.<P class=headtypea align=left> <P class=headtypea align=left>Moore said: “There is no swelling around the ankle but the ligaments are quite sore.<P class=headtypea align=left>“He won’t train until Wednesday and it will be touch and go for Friday. But knowing Ian, I think he will be okay. He does not miss many games.”<P class=headtypea align=left>Rovers will also be nursing Calvin Zola through this week as the striker attempts to shake off a hamstring strain.<P class=headtypea align=left>Moore explained: “The problem prevented Calvin from going full out in the last two games. That was unfortunate for Calvin because while Chris Greenacre was out with the ‘flu, he had a chance to do himself some justice.<P class=headtypea align=left>“As it was, we had to be careful with Calvin because if he had pulled the hamstring it means he will be out for six weeks.”<P class=headtypea align=left>Greenacre demonstrated his full recovery

RE: Captain Goodison relishing his new position

<P class=headtypea align=left>“Ian has been magnificent for us this season. Now he is captain he is leading by example and we are beginning to hear his voice in the dressing room as well.<P class=headtypea align=left>“It is good when players have a pop without the manager having to do it all the time.”<P class=headtypea align=left>Few of Tranmere’s regular followers would disagree with the manager’s assessment that Goodison has been Tranmere’s outstanding player this season.
    It would be really great if Goodison could be player of the year for Tranmere this year at the age of 34. That would be an accomplishment and a half.- T.K.

he would make a great coach if he decided to qualify as one......

Spot on Gamma. The JFF need to encourage him to take his Eufa, FA licenses. He would be a great asset to the country's football. - T.K.

I wonder if these guys are thinking that way? We have seen Fitzroy Simpson doing his license.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I don't know Tilla but seriously. If we are to really progress in football we need Jamaicans like Goodison and Simpson to become certified and gain experience. Can you imagine Goodison works on his licensing while as an assistant at Traneme? The experience he would bring to Jamaica after5-6years of coaching in Englandwould be invaluable. I really hope Boxhill grabs a hold of him and plants a bug in his ear.- T.K.

I am so proud of our boyz. It inspires when I read these reports on their success. Now, I don't hear anybody calling Pepe's name for another run in the national team. Even though I have retired him a long time ago, I wouldn't feel too bad if he was given another opportunity to strut his stuff.....only if he can make the team. Tappa now, at this point, is a total waste of time.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015