Onyewu in talks with Chelsea

• Onyewu in talks with Chelsea

<TABLE class=bdy cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=770 border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=top><TD><DIV class=storyHeadline style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 10px; PADDING-BOTTOM: 10px; PADDING-TOP: 0px">Onyewu in talks with Chelsea </DIV><SCRIPT> function BlogThisStoryTools() { var headline = "Onyewu in talks with Chelsea"; var url = &#100;ocument.location.href; var destination = "http://blogs.foxsports.com/BlogThis.aspx?r_title=" + escape(headline) + "&r_url=" + url; //alert(destination); //return; &#119;indow.location.href = destination; } </SCRIPT><DIV class=dataTable style="FLOAT: right; WIDTH: 313px"></DIV><DIV style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 10px; PADDING-BOTTOM: 10px; PADDING-TOP: 0px"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=440 border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=top><TD>Associated Press
    <SPAN id=postedTime>Posted: 4 hours ago</SPAN><SCRIPT> // front-end hack to remove postedTime from Rumors page until a better way can be determined if (&#100;ocument.URL.indexOf("/name/FS/rumors") != -1 && &#100;ocument.getElementById("postedTime") != null) &#100;ocument.getElementById("postedTime").style.d isplay = 'none'; </SCRIPT> </TD><TD width=10></TD><TD align=right><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=bdy cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=770 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD height=5></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=bdy cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=770 border=0><TBODY><TR vAlign=top><TD width=10></TD><TD width=440><SCRIPT> if(fanid.length > 0 && typeof(nflDefaultLeague)!= "undefined") { leagueId = nflDefaultLeague; //find teamId of default league (if exists) for(var i=0; i < teamsInfo.length; i++){ if(teamsInfo[i][4] == leagueId){ defaultTeamId = teamsInfo[i][0]; } } var fantasyLeaguePlayerJsPath = 'http://msn.foxsports.com' + '/nugget/200002_' + leagueId + '|||' + fanid; } </SCRIPT><DIV class=firstP>LONDON (AP) - United States defender Oguchi Onyewu could be heading to Chelsea.</DIV><ID></ID><TABLE class=emailBoothFields style="BORDER-RIGHT: rgb(0,0,0) 1px solid; BORDER-TOP: rgb(0,0,0) 1px solid; BORDER-LEFT: rgb(0,0,0) 1px solid; BORDER-BOTTOM: rgb(0,0,0) 1px solid; BACKGROUND-COLOR: rgb(238,238,238)" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=155 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=2><DIV style="FONT-SIZE: 11px; FONT-FAMILY: verdana">JANUARY TRANSFERS

Photo Gallery
    January Transfers

<BR clear=all>Stories
    Transfer List
    </DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

The two-time defending Premier League champions are looking to sign the 24-year-old Standard Liege player before the January transfer window closes. British media reported Monday that Onyewu could cost Chelsea 2 million pounds (€3.05 million; US$3.95 million).

"There is truth in regard to Chelsea (wanting Onyewu)," his agent, Will Sherling, told The Associated Press.

Chelsea, in second place in the league behind Manchester United, has struggled defensively in recent game

RE: Onyewu in talks with Chelsea

TK how do you rate this player? I haven't seen him in a while how is his development from being in the Belgian league?

respect

Shatta Cleve (1/22/2007)TK how do you rate this player? I haven't seen him in a while how is his development from being in the Belgian league?

respect
      I have mixed ratings to be honest.

He is big, strong, athletic......a great man to have onset plays and defend crosses. He is not great with the ball but the fact isthat is not a requirement to play center back.He is a legit EPL quality center back.

My biggest knock against him is that he can be reckless in the tackle. He is a penalty kick waiting to happen when a player has the ball at their feet. He reminds me of a Daley or old school Stewart inthat regards. If he can find a way to make better decisions of when to tackle he'll be golden. - T.K.

In your opinion is this guy better than Claude Davis? and is he Prem ready?

respect

Shatta Cleve (1/23/2007)In your opinion is this guy better than Claude Davis? and is he Prem ready?

respect
          Is he better than Claude? I am not ready to give that to him yet no.

Is he in the Prem yet?No. - T.K.

He is a penalty kick waiting to happen when a player has the ball at their feet.
            T.K.: The above phrase was coined by your's truly on the said player. Please ceast and desist from using the phrase without the permission of its copyright owner. As a matter of fact, I am going to have Gamma write you on this matter.

Seriously though, I have said the same thing about Onyewu prior to the world cup. He has the physical presence of a center back, but tend to want to grap forwards running at him. I think he would have problems against the Christano Ronaldo and other skilful EPL forwards.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

"We had a good offer from Fulham for him, and we agreed with Liege for a fee, but the player didn't agree to go," Sherling said
              There was a discussion once about players being the ones with the last word on an agreed transfer!

...and, some claimed the player had no say! (N)

Chelsea wouldn't be the best team for him, IMO, because he's still a bit rough around the edges. He should go to a more modest team where he could be assured of lots of playing time.

But he could definitely handle the league.

And if Mourinho rates him then that says something.

I think a team like Middlesboro would be a good fit, but he turned them down. If he goes to Chelsea, he would most likely not see a lot of playing time.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

So why when mi did say Claude to Chelsea everyone almost take off mi head?

How did Garvey do it? I mean really how did he do it? Maybe thats why he died young because it no easy at all when you a try help a drowning man and him same one a pull you under.

Maybe thats why mi take it to dem wicked because if mi did soft a long time dem woulda run mi off here like Jam Down Dread and Archie. You think a likkle man run way from round yah when the pressure reach dem?

Ask Tilla if him no see a whole heap come and whole heap go.

TK laugh when mi tell him say a Guru is never honored on his own forum but no watch nothing big man respect for the big ups below but I must say that me seeing certain things came from all sort of people teaching me and the most I can say is that maybe it was because I learned to listen as a little youth as mi granny used to always lick mi in the back of mi head and tell me to listen!!

Just hate to see us selling ourselves short, Nothing against a fellow African(Onyewu) but if he can make it to Chelsea why couldn't we at least see Claude Davis there too?

A wonder what Sickko have to say now?(still nah back from taking it to guy wicked round here, a wah guy hear bout?)

respect

Shatta Cleve (1/23/2007)So why when mi did say Claude to Chelsea everyone almost take off mi head?

Probably because you're the only one that's been saying it.

How long has he been playing in England? It's not like Chelsea wouldn't have had a chance to look at him.

If Mourinho rated Davis he would have already have him by now.

Shatta Cleve (1/23/2007)So why when mi did say Claude to Chelsea everyone almost take off mi head?

How did Garvey do it? I mean really how did he do it? Maybe thats why he died young because it no easy at all when you a try help a drowning man and him same one a pull you under.

Maybe thats why mi take it to dem wicked because if mi did soft a long time dem woulda run mi off here like Jam Down Dread and Archie. You think a likkle man run way from round yah when the pressure reach dem?

Ask Tilla if him no see a whole heap come and whole heap go.

TK laugh when mi tell him say a Guru is never honored on his own forum but no watch nothing big man respect for the big ups below but I must say that me seeing certain things came from all sort of people teaching me and the most I can say is that maybe it was because I learned to listen as a little youth as mi granny used to always lick mi in the back of mi head and tell me to listen!!

Just hate to see us selling ourselves short, Nothing against a fellow African(Onyewu) but if he can make it to Chelsea why couldn't we at least see Claude Davis there too?

A wonder what Sickko have to say now?(still nah back from taking it to guy wicked round here, a wah guy hear bout?)

respect
                        Probably because Claude is not ready for Chelsea. He has had a great past two years but right now he is still a D1 player. He is getting his EPL legs as we speak. It normally takes at least a year for a player to get comfortable in that league. We've seen it time and time again with players like Christiano Ronaldo and Michael Essien as examples.

As for Jam Down Dread and Archie they need to come back and post again. I am not sure why anyone would have to run away from the forum. No one agrees with anyone on here. That is the nature of the place. When you post something you should expect that people are going to disagree.

As for Onyewu making it at Chelsea.....well I am not sold on that myself. I believe he like Claude should get his feet wet first in the EPL. The Fulham situation would have been perfect for him from a playing stand point. He probably figures with Chelsea being so thin at the back he can try and cement a place over the next five months. Who knows. Then again....Roman money stretch ffffaaaarrrrrr.

I think the right now we only have two players with the ability/potential to play in the upper echelons of the EPL. One is Ricardo Gardner whohas the abilitytoplay for Arsenal or Man U right now. The other is Luton Shelton who has the potential to develop into a player that could fit into an arsenal or a Man U.

I don't see Ricardo moving anytime soon as Bolton are a succesful side and pay him very well. Luton if he can really improve over the next two years could open the eyes of a big club in the EPL. We shall see. - T.K.

Suh yuh start quoting people full posts like Karl now? Nuh badda wid it, cause I cannot understand Karl's rational for doing that.

I wonder why Chelsea wants Onyewu, when they have the one whe tief the tilet seat on loan to another EPL side. Mi talking Glen Johnson. Onyewu is physical and have the physique. I do not think his game is ready for Chelsea as yet though. I see him earning some a$$ blistersfrom ridingthe pine, unless things get much worse at Chelsea.

Tilla (1/23/2007)Suh yuh start quoting people full posts like Karl now? Nuh badda wid it, cause I cannot understand Karl's rational for doing that.
                            Sorry Tilla....I meant to cut the quote down but I forgot to rhatid. It won't happen again. (N) - T.K.

T.K.: The above phrase was coined by your's truly on the said player. Please ceast and desist from using the phrase without the permission of its copyright owner. As a matter of fact, I am going to have Gamma write you on this matter.
                              Here is what I think of you, your lawyer Gamma and your royalties.....:P- T.K.