sad news regarding Eric Abidal. Cancer?

• sad news regarding Eric Abidal. Cancer?

Wish yuh a speedy recovery.

It is not too bad. . .

Mar 15 9:34p by Ryan Rosenblatt

Early on Tuesday Barcelona announced that defender Eric Abidal would undergo surgery to remove a tumor on his liver. After Barcelona's release revealed the surgery, many speculated that Frenchman would miss the remainder of the season recovering from the surgery. Guillem Balague has since revealed that reports indicate Abidal's tumor is benign and that his recovery will only be five or six weeks.

If the report is accurate, it is fantastic news for Abidal. The operation that Abidal will undergo is reportedly a common operation and that his prognosis is very good. That is in addition to the good news for Abidal that the tumor is not cancerous.

Of course, the news of Abidal's tumor being benign takes precedence and any encouraging news with regards to his health is paramount, but Barcelona will also be excited to get their defender back at some point this season. Normally a stout left back, Abidal has also filled in very well in the center in a season that has seen Carlo Puyol miss long stretches of the season due to injury. With Real Madrid just five points behind them in La Liga and their continuing UEFA Champions League play, Barcelona could certainly benefit from a quicker Abidal return.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Mar 15 9:34p by Ryan Rosenblatt

Early on Tuesday Barcelona announced that defender Eric Abidal would undergo surgery to remove a tumor on his liver. After Barcelona's release revealed the surgery, many speculated that Frenchman would miss the remainder of the season recovering from the surgery. Guillem Balague has since revealed that reports indicate Abidal's tumor is benign and that his recovery will only be five or six weeks.

If the report is accurate, it is fantastic news for Abidal. The operation that Abidal will undergo is reportedly a common operation and that his prognosis is very good. That is in addition to the good news for Abidal that the tumor is not cancerous.

Of course, the news of Abidal's tumor being benign takes precedence and any encouraging news with regards to his health is paramount, but Barcelona will also be excited to get their defender back at some point this season. Normally a stout left back, Abidal has also filled in very well in the center in a season that has seen Carlo Puyol miss long stretches of the season due to injury. With Real Madrid just five points behind them in La Liga and their continuing UEFA Champions League play, Barcelona could certainly benefit from a quicker Abidal return.

Thanks for the update Tilla.

You are welcome.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

My understanding is as far as tumors go - benign is good, malignant is bad!

So I read it as, Abidal is fine!
          Farmah and the other Massive whose area of expertise covers things medical may be able to help us here.