Reggae Boyz in Gold Cup Group B

On a more serious note, I think Atlanta could work based on the number of Jamaicans there and close by. However, these Jamaicans are not passionate about the national team.
    Me, you are not making sense here. If you read your statement, you will see that you are contradicting yourself.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Let me add to the statement to help you.

Based on the Jamaican population in ATL and south Florida, a match there involving Jamaican should do well. However, because those folks are not passionate about the team, they would not show up.

Originally posted by Me View Post
        Let me add to the statement to help you.

Based on the Jamaican population in ATL and south Florida, a match there involving Jamaican should do well. However, because those folks are not passionate about the team, they would not show up.
        Jamaicans in Atlanta..are really just numbers....

Atlanta has a sizable Jamaican/Caribbean population. One of the fastest growing in the US. The population is very spread out throughout the Metro area. The main problem Atlanta faces is that it doesn't have a centralized 24 hour radio station to get info out and to pull the community together. The Reggaeboyz have played here twice and the turnout was decent (not great but decent).

It is not an hotbed but neither is South Florida. How many people go to international games in South Florida?

Atlanta is promoting and trying to get ahead. They just open a new stadium for the Women's team and pushing a international games, and United States Junior games there.

The Jamaican population in Atlanta is big and if the JFF can reach them it definately will be profitable.

Thank you brethren. There is no centralise radio station to adveritise these things.

The Mexico game at Soldier Field in Chicago should be good for a crowd of at least 50,000.

Jamaicans are "waggonists" anyway. They will turn out in numbers if they get wind that we seem sure to qualify for the World Cup etc. Remember WC 98 how many crawled out of the woodwork to support the Reggae Boyz?

Yes, anywhere that has the Jamaican population can be right if the occasion is right and we seem on track to make it to some large stage. Jamaicans will flock to those situations in a minute. Quick time you will see some of the old Lanzera, Uhlsport and pre WC 98 Kappa shirts pulled out still smelling of moth balls. Ah suh wi people stay though, they just love a winner.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

lol !!! woiiee !!

On point !

So 'ow do you explain the over 50,500 fans who attended the Dome in Atlanta on Feb 9th to watch MexTico v. Bosnia.

How did the word get around?

How did over 30K Bosnian packed the Dome?

Thanks.

the line with radio station is specific to Jamaican.

IF you notice you there is no Jamaican station to push anything.

If you are having a Jamaican game you would have to depend on other fans to come out.

If Jamaica CYAAAAN qualify from dis yah group ... better dem tek curling!

I don't know the attendance breakdown. However the vast majority of the fans I saw while stuck in pre game traffic at the Dome were sporting Mexico flags etc. As you know there are several Spanish media outlets in the city. As for the Bosnians I don't know. I can only speak about the Jamaican/Caribbean community. The absence of a central media output is a major challenge for our community. BTW HL how long have you been in ATL? Thanks breddren.

Hopefully we nuh hear any intoxicated predictions of Jamaica winning the Gold Cup this year from fans & the ballers like the last time.

why not?

Them a come fi come count cow???