Reggae Boyz in Gold Cup Group B

• Reggae Boyz in Gold Cup Group B

If the JFF's objective is for the Reggae to reach the semi-finals. This can easily be done with Tappa selecting the right players, which he will. That said: the JFF should renew his contract immediately so he can start preparing for the 2014 World Cup qualifiers after the draw on July 31st.

http://www.concacaf.com/page/GoldCup...310439,00.html
    Last edited by Jamaica2099; March 8, 2011, 01:48 PM.

Yeah!! June 13, NJ NY/NJ/CT crew we dehdeh pon we ears.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That is a good group for us. Definite failure if we are out at the group stage.

[FONT='Arial','sans-serif'][FONT='Arial','sans-serif']2011 GOLD CUP GROUPS AND SCHEDULE ANNOUNCED
        Ticket pre-sale begins tomorrow, general ticket sales opens Wednesday, March 16 at 10am
        [/font][/font]

NEW YORK (Tuesday, March 8, 2011) – The 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup groups and schedule were announced today by CONCACAF. The path to the next FIFA Confederations Cup begins with three back-to-back days of group matches, starting on Sunday, June 5 at Arlington’s Cowboys Stadium.

The 2011 Gold Cup champion and CONCACAF representative to the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup in Brazil will be crowned on Saturday, June 25 at the historic Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California.

CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer will discuss the announcement via media teleconference call today at 1:00 p.m. ET. Media should dial +1-877-391-5953 or +1-706-634-9483 (Conference ID # 49722720) to participate. Video interviews and past Gold Cup b-roll will be available to electronic news organizations this afternoon via FTP.

A one-week of exclusive pre-sale will begin tomorrow, Wednesday, March 9. Fans can call the local stadium box office or local MLS team for further information. Tickets will go on sale to the general public on Wednesday, March 16 through www.goldcup.org.

Mexico will anchor Group A, which will begin tournament play on June 5 against El Salvador, preceded by Costa Rica and Cuba at Cowboys Stadium. Honduras will lead Group B the following day, facing Guatemala at The Home Depot Center on June 6, with the Caribbean face off between Jamaica vs. Grenada earlier in the evening. The United States will play the following night, Tuesday, June 7, in Detroit’s Ford Field against its border rival Canada in Group C, which also will include Panama and Guadeloupe.

“We are extremely excited for this year's Gold Cup and are completely confident that it will be the best ever”, CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer said. "We are bringing our fans the region’s best football in fantastic venues - with a lot on the line. It is truly a can't-miss event."

The Gold Cup, which has generated record attendances and television ratings in each of the past three competitions, will be played coast-to-coast at 13 venues again this year, including five new stadia. New Meadowlands Stadium, RFK Stadium and Reliant Stadium will serve as quarterfinal and semifinal venues, respectively, leading up to the grand finale at the Rose Bowl on June 25.

2011 CONCACAF GOLD CUP™
        GROUP A: Mexico, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Cuba
        GROUP B: Honduras, Guatemala, Jamaica, Grenada
        GROUP C: USA, Canada, Panamá, Guadeloupe

SCHEDULE
        First Round
        Sunday, June 5 – Cowboys Stadium (Arlington, TX)

Costa Rica vs. Cuba, 5 p.m. (6 p.m. EDT)
        Mexico vs. El Salvador, 7 p.m. (8 p.m. EDT)

Monday, June 6 – The Home Depot Center (Carson, CA)
        Jamaica vs. Grenada, 6 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)
        Honduras vs. Guatemala, 8 p.m. (11 p.m. EDT)

Tuesday, June 7 – Ford Field (Detroit, MI)
        Panama vs. Guadeloupe, 6 p.m. (6 p.m. EDT)
        USA vs. Canada, 8 p.m. (8 p.m. EDT)

Thursday, June 9 – Bank of America Stadium (Charlotte, NC)
        Costa Rica vs. El Salvador, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
        Cuba vs. Mexico, 9 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)

Friday, June 10 – FIU Stadium (Miami, FL)
        Jamaica vs. Guatemala, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
        Grenada vs. Honduras, 9 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)

Saturday, June 11 – Raymond James Stadium (Tampa, FL)
        Canada vs. Guadeloupe, 6 p.m. (6 p.m. EDT)
        USA vs. Panama, 8 p.m. (8 p.m. EDT)

Sunday, June 12 – Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)
        El Salvador vs. Cuba, 5 p.m. (6 p.m. EDT)
        Mexico vs. Costa Rica, 7 p.m. (8 p.m. EDT)

Monday, June 13 – Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
        Guatemala vs. Grenada, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
        Honduras vs. Jamaica, 9 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)

Tuesday, June 14 – Sporting Park (Kansas City, KS)
        Canada vs. Panama, 6 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
        Guadeloupe vs. USA, 8 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)

Quarterfinals
        Saturday, June 18 – New Meadowlands Stadium (East Rutherford, NJ)

Group A runner-up vs. Group B runner-up, TBD (x)
        Group A winner vs. Group B/C third-place, TBD (x)
        x-matches scheduled for 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. local (5 p.m. and 8 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Sunday, June 19 – Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium (Washington DC)
        Group B winner vs. Group C runner-up, TBD (y)
        Group C winner vs. Group A/B third place, TBD (y)
        y-matches scheduled for 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. local (3 p.m. and 6 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Semifinals
        Wednesday, June 22 – Reliant Stadium (Houston, TX)

x-quarterfinal winners, TBD (z)
        y-quarterfinal winners, TBD (z)
        z-matches scheduled for 6 p.m. and 9 p.m. local (7 p.m. and 10 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Final
        Saturday, June 25 – Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)
        Semifinal winners, 6 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)

Follow CONCACAF on its official Twitter account: @CONCACAF

[FONT='Arial','sans-serif'][FONT='Arial','sans-serif']About CONCACAF
        CONCACAF “The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football” is one of six continental confederations of FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) and serves as the governing body of football in this part of the world. It is composed of 40 national associations, from Canada in the north to Guyana, Surinam and French Guyana in the south.
        [/font][/font]
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I was hoping they would have played the Jamaica match at the new Sporting Park in Kansas City, but they are gone all the hell over to Home Depot Center in California.

I may just have to go and see the USA/Guadeloupe match that day.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yeah, it looks like I should be able fi mek it there.

one match in miami too.

Yes, I am now seeing that. I could see if I would rather find a ticket to come down for that one.

why are the sending the teams all over the country fi play. The first round for each group should be held in one location (LA, Mia, NY or 3 other locals). Then they can ship them around for semis etc

The football market is not concentrated in only LA, Mia or NY. I am sure COCACAF organizers want to generate interest all over the country.
                    I was hoping and praying Jamaica would have played where I do not have more than a short drive. But is suh it guh.

Same as last goal Cup. Them want to make sure seh them get it to as many cities as possible and get the hispanic teams all over the Country. That way, even if them flop in the first two games, them fanbase in another City going still want to see them and will be more willing to spend the money.

Captain fi line up 2 practise game fi the fans. NJ Redbull stadium and Atlanta would work.

Atlanta is not a football hotbed. Not because you live there Sass.
                          The South Florida would be better for such a game than Atlanta.

LOL . Watch Assassin reply now and start talk about Corner League participation in Atlanta.

On a more serious note, I think Atlanta could work based on the number of Jamaicans there and close by. However, these Jamaicans are not passionate about the national team.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                              LOL . Watch Assassin reply now and start talk about Corner League participation in Atlanta.

On a more serious note, I think Atlanta could work based on the number of Jamaicans there and close by. However, these Jamaicans are not passionate about the national team.
                              ..not passionate bout nothing....in Atlanta