and the truth shall set you

• and the truth shall set you

free http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=si01y...415D9F60DB53B2 aah now that you have exhaled, do you want to go further with the truth? The US game was the real qualification (the bar was set very low to enter mexico). I will say it again: If Ja cannot beat the US nor Mexico, Ja will only go to a WC to make up numbers and be abused by S.America, Europe and Africa.

Let's go to the tapes (x,Hl and the rest of the forum, shall we):
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zITCdv0eST8#t=1m04s

Now look at the teacher:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7p-5iwfl8A#t=04m19s

Now bonus to teach how to come from behind:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMcEy...feature=relmfu

Playing the US is more of mental game (more to come on this) their style of play is rugeed and direct but very effective if you aren't prepared for it.

Re: "..the US...style of play is rugged and direct but very effective if you aren't prepared for it."

And as X is noted for saying: "If you fail to prepare, then prepare to fail."

It is surprising therefore, that many here oppose a paradigm shift in our coaching philosophy! I see a need for new teachers delivering the game to our youngsters.

If we keep ahead of the changes in the way soocer is taught, then we should have an advantage over most of our opponents. If we just keep up with the changes then we might win some and lose some. But if we stay behind our fences and recycle the same old coaching techniques, we will be left in the dust gasping for clean air!
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

On the mental preparation not going to fault WD there (I know he also has no clue). There is a need for socilogist and sport psychologists as permanent fixtures in the JFF admin (more on this later).

The JFF is really in a bind: They have to epend a lot of money to get quality players and at the same time if these players are picked by a rich Euro club, they will get nothing.
      The system in Ja is very poor; first the youth league which feeeds the INT'L progam lies within high schools and this MUST change.

More to come will talk later.

Mental preparation is needed too. I watched the players and even Lewis and Benbow are quality players. What they lack is discipline on and off the ball. I have to chalk the problem down to improper coaching.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

King Jawge, please revisit Jamaicas' record against the USA and MecTico.

Thanks in advance.

Last time:: The USA is an excellent place for Jamaica to learn football.

Thanks again!

There is so much we could learn from US Soccer. Their record at this youth level is far superior to what we have achieved. Yet, you will be laughed at for suggesting and I will be berated for agreeing with you that "the USA is an excellent place for Jamaica to learn football." Say what!!!! And for the record, the USA is the only country which has qualified for all of the U17 World cups.

We have a love affair with Brasil's soccer. Oh yes, it's hard not to love the Brasillian game and even the Americans are admirers of the beautiful Brasillian art. But we have to come to grips with this hatred which some of us have for the USA. We think we know more about soccer than the USA and so we think it's beneath us to sit at their feet and learn. As a CONCACAF neighbour it would behoove The Captain to work closer with Soccer USA, take whatever help is extended and learn a new approach to the game. Pride is not a gift, it is an hindrance!

Why have our 'old coaches' = present coaches learn new ways?
              Would it not be holding us back if we threw out the 'old' with a period of lull as 'new' coaches are found?

...as I said Wendell can do the job. He needs the players for more than the few weeks gained in Brazil.

Our players lack TEAM...the talent is there for them to use as foundation to walk to the TOP OF THE WORLD!

Farmah and HL, answer this: The US plays just as Germany did back in the days. No one is saying the germans can't be imitated. Brasil is the best team on the planet and all eleven players must be technically sound (something Ja is yet to achieve). Why can't Ja learn from Brasil? It was the same camps in Brasil that had Ja beating Mexico in the Office and sprung that surprise in RFK 97.

Right now Tappa need a sociologist to go interview players' famiies. This way he will know who as a child went to sunday school as kids and were performing before crowds for anniversaries. Tappa will aslo know how much positive/negative reinforcements players got when they were small (mi nuh wha yuh ah do dat fah, yuh nah come to nutten) these things can be easily extracted by asking carefully worded questions. The sport's psychologist will then Work with the players and make recommendations to Tappa. Do you think it's easy for a kid who never got into a traditional high school (in a slavery system; where people say cho him nah reach nuh way) who suddenly gets a ball in fron of goal with keeper to tie a game in which Ja is behind? The factors mentioned above (which is just a few); manifest in fears and destroys the best of players (who may do extremely well in practice). BTW Brasil has been using psychologists since the 50s . If Ja wants serious results against mentally strong teams (such as the US) they have to go the above route.

On playing in the US: I would not advise this because there are no real structred Pro youth leagues in the US (akin to that of S.America and Europe) what the US does is hold tournaments (as was the case this Dec. past) and have top teams such as Brasil and the likes to play. In brasil Ja will have the luxury of seeing top coaches whilst getting competitive games aginst clubs such as Vasco, corthinthians (if we press for it). The Knowledge of football is far too deep and estensive to be missed. Too much distraction in the US. When In Brasil it's just futebol!

Crack head reasoning , the psychos have taken over the nut house , so the USA has qualified for every U17 WC and ?

1) Which zone did they qualify out of ? one of the weakest in FIFA ! I am a 100 % sure if they were in an African , S.America or European zone they would be lucky to make the playoffs.

As for needing new teachers , or throwing out the baby with the bath water, again if we dont have a consistent program what will they be teaching ?

We qualified for numerous FIfa tournaments when the Brazillains were King in Jamaica, as soon as they left so went our FIFA tournaments.

Again what is it you want us to look to america for that we havent achieved already with the brazillians?

If its teaching get the brazillians , if its qualifying for Fifa tournaments get the brazillians , if its consistency of a national program talk to the JFF!

Until then , we will play like our program , hack it chop it and plug it with 4 to 6 week trips to brazil everytime a FIFA tournament comes around.

Blaming our coaches is a smoke screen for the real problem! which is lack of a consistent program.Until then unnuh Low W.D

BTW the USA qualify fi every U17 Tournament dem eva win one yet or reach the finals ?

Most successful team Nigeria & Brazil (3 titles each)

Performances by continental zones
                  Africa is the most successful continental zone with 5 tournament wins (3 for Nigeria, 2 for Ghana) and 5 times as runner up. Notably the 1993 final was contested by two African teams, the only occasion when the final has been contested by two teams from the same confederation.
                  South America has 3 tournament wins and has been runner up twice (all Brazil). Additionally Argentina has finished in third place on 3 occasions but has never appeared in the final.
                  Europe has 3 tournaments wins (1 each for France, USSR and Switzerland) and has been runner up 5 times. Spain has been runner up on 3 occasions.
                  The CONCACAF zone has 1 tournament win (for Mexico in 2005), the only time that a team from this confederation has reached the final.
                  Asia has 1 tournament win (for Saudi Arabia in 1989), the only time that a team from this confederation has reached the final. (Australia was runner up in 1999 but at that time was in the Oceania Football Confederation).
                  Oceania has no tournament wins and 1 occasion as runner up (for Australia in 1999). Australia has since moved to the Asian confederation.
                  [edit]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FIFA_U-17_World_Cup
                  Last edited by Sir X; February 28, 2011, 01:18 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Boss yuh muss leff some arguement whe over yuh ead , Tappa need fi know bout youth sunday school fi wah ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Real talk dat X. Yuh notice anything on the two first vids that I contrasted?

Did you read anything I said? Did I intimate in any way that Brasil's soccer isn't good? Bossman you need fi check yuhself before yuh attck man post. The crack-head reference is disrespectful and inappropriate bredrin. If you disagree with stance that's fine but respect is due. I have always respected forumites even when I disagree with their take on issues. If that's the level of reasonong here, then.....

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
                          There is so much we could learn from US Soccer. Their record at this youth level is far superior to what we have achieved.
                          Or any level, for that matter!

This post was meant for the one below.

USA! USA! USA!

A football superpower extraordinaire!!