This School Boy Football problem raises its ugly

Originally posted by Time View Post
    Yes Lazie its sacred tradition and its also capitalism. Do you really believe if the JFF dares to ban ISSA football then the fan and financial support will be there for a Where You Live league?

The support that ISSA gets is rooted in the loyalty and comradery of school population, the parents and the alama mater. Look how many lawyers at Dudus commission. You hear any of them joking or showing off or cussing each other about which University they attended? No, them talking about which high school they attended.

ISSA raised the academic standards to failing few subjects. That must have excluded a few talented dunce head ballers. Where are they playing now? How is that league doing?

While we debating this, let eliminate cars in the national interest and force everybody to take the bus. Cars are competing with buses and buses are more efficient than cars. The country would save some foreign exchange.
    If we're serious about football and being as outstanding as our T&F stars, then we need to take a step back and make the necessary changes. WE have PE teachers whose speciality is Track and cricket teaching the youngster how to control a football when they themselves don't know how to do it. How about the Parish FA hiring former players through out the parish and start there until we have an academy?

There are youngsters that attend a school which is poor in the schoolboy league and as a result of not wanting to be embarrassed, stay away.

How many schoolboy stars went on to star at the int'l level? Numerous Charlie Smith 'stars' come to mind.

I see one ite talking about the poor control exhibited by our players the other night .... are we to keep doing the same thing and pray that it will work?
    Last edited by Lazie; February 27, 2011, 01:29 PM.

Talk all you want about reform this and reform that and blame all who you want, Downswell is not telling the truth, he has better players that he coudl have called but decided to stay with those he had.

He got lots of pressure to pick Melvin Blair from Mannings and there was talk that he was trying to force the kid to go to Reno before picking him.

The same scouts who saw Trench play and called him late to the camp in Brazil after the first two goalkeepers were injured MUST have seen Walker play and if they knew Trench's age they must have known Walker was younger than him.

Walker must have caught the eyes of the national Under 17 and Under coaches as he played in DCup to the end and in Olivier Shield and they must have seen what he could do.

If you read the entire story Diggy Henry who coaches Walker said he has a good relationship with Downswell and has never prevented his players from going to any national selection.

Diggy told me that when he asked Downswell about walker Downswell told him Diggy that Walker was too old..what crap is that?

Who would know the boys age better Downswell or Diggy?

the Parish FAs are the worst disorganised body in Football. Most of them are dysfuntional with politics, team politics and friendship is the order of the day. They couldn't run nothing.

Only very few of them contribute postively to football development.

Now yuh on di right track !

Tuh much man have cyar..

If we're serious about football and being as outstanding as our T&F stars, then we need to take a step back and make the necessary changes. WE have PE teachers whose speciality is Track and cricket teaching the youngster how to control a football when they themselves don't know how to do it. How about the Parish FA hiring former players through out the parish and start there until we have an academy?

There are youngsters that attend a school which is poor in the schoolboy league and as a result of not wanting to be embarrassed, stay away.

How many schoolboy stars went on to star at the int'l level? Numerous Charlie Smith 'stars' come to mind.

I see one ite talking about the poor control exhibited by our players the other night .... are we to keep doing the same thing and pray that it will work?
            ISSA Champs coaches have been know to burn out. Why not scrap ISAA champs and focus on the parish based champs? Let me guess, the track and field success that you speak of is rooted in the ISSAl Champs.

Let get back to football. If you don't want the unqualified PE teachers teaching kids bad football then work with the JFF, the parish associations and your X player to require every football PE teacher to be certified.

PE Teacha ?

Ah bwoy...

Talk all you want about reform this and reform that and blame all who you want, Downswell is not telling the truth, he has better players that he coudl have called but decided to stay with those he had.

He got lots of pressure to pick Melvin Blair from Mannings and there was talk that he was trying to force the kid to go to Reno before picking him.

The same scouts who saw Trench play and called him late to the camp in Brazil after the first two goalkeepers were injured MUST have seen Walker play and if they knew Trench's age they must have known Walker was younger than him.

Walker must have caught the eyes of the national Under 17 and Under coaches as he played in DCup to the end and in Olivier Shield and they must have seen what he could do.

If you read the entire story Diggy Henry who coaches Walker said he has a good relationship with Downswell and has never prevented his players from going to any national selection.

Diggy told me that when he asked Downswell about walker Downswell told him Diggy that Walker was too old..what crap is that?

Who would know the boys age better Downswell or Diggy?
                Your ears are closing to the ground than mine and we can also agree that has been a history of bias against the west when it comes to picking national teams, especially adult teams but let take this NON ADULT case one player at a time. We also have to accept that we have a gorilla name 'missed education classes' in the room. Its really tough for a youngster to sacrifice his classes for football.

Lets start with Walker. Let see if we can nail Downwell on this one. If Walker coach agreed for him to go can you say the same about his parents and the school?

the Parish FAs are the worst disorganised body in Football. Most of them are dysfuntional with politics, team politics and friendship is the order of the day. They couldn't run nothing.

Only very few of them contribute postively to football development.
                  don't disagree, but cannot the JFF address that?

PE Teacha ?

Ah bwoy...
                    when a youngster go to high school ... who will be teaching them the game?

Originally posted by Time View Post
                      ISSA Champs coaches have been know to burn out. Why not scrap ISAA champs and focus on the parish based champs? Let me guess, the track and field success that you speak of is rooted in the ISSAl Champs.

Let get back to football. If you don't want the unqualified PE teachers teaching kids bad football then work with the JFF, the parish associations and your X player to require every football PE teacher to be certified.
                      dude ... because it works for track, which is an individual sport, doesn't means it is ideal for football.

dem can keep di leagues.. yuh haffi leave sumting fi certain 'schools'..

Juss have separate academy fi di best of di abounding talent..
                        Now yuh finally saying something sensible.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

how so? Lazie not because one or two people in the JFF trying mean anything. These people are elected. Don't see a lot of changes coming anytime soon.

School and parents? Are you for real?

Lets re-wind a bit here...Walker was NEVER invited so his school or parents could not have withheld him.

Duncewell told Diggy that Walker was too old for the Under 17s and thus his non inclusion

Don't like to knock a man when he is down but WD is known for the above type behaviour (which has no place in INT'L football). When he was national coach (the gods must have gone crazy then) he had his select reno advisors close to him (nah call nuh name). The picking of Ja's squad was close to that of the 60s,70s and 80s (you guys knew how that went back then).

I think that only the players who played in WC98 should coach Ja's football teams other than that Ja should look at foreiners (with Brasil toping the list).

WD can point fingers but some tactical errors were there for all to see.

WD is down right now? he just qualified a national team for the World Cup and based on my thinking this is the first national team that had no foreign help to do that