Haitian anger - rage after U-17 football team sent home

Well you see nothing wrong with it , so to hell with common sense.The Haitian interpretation of events means squat , their protest or anger has no merit, because someone in Jamaica made a determination that they all had malaria based on symptoms ? after the Haitians declared some members were in need of medical treatment.

Plane and boat nuh travel from Haiti to Jamaica everday ? car nuh drive guh the DR republic everyday from Haiti ? With your way of thinking lock the trade routes to and from Haiti a mosquito might bite wi.

Yuh and Baugh a Big fren ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

This is a disgrace , forcibly detained and quarantined ? I just saw this article , truly embarrasing.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

They need to sack whoever did this .

The kids came to play a two week tournament. The medical people said some of them check themselves out. Must the Haitians get special treatment? Is this the the way Malaria is treated in Jamaica?

I really don't see the discrimination sorry. Never met Baugh. The fact is if 14 people suspected sick I don't see how they can partake in such a tournament.

You are right Mo. The doctor who made the decision is probably the stupidest physician on the planet. He may have exposed a soft underbelly in our medical training system, or probably this idiot is just uninformed. People with malaria don't even have to be isolated, I don't think. I don't think it is anti-Haitian bias, it was more lack of medical knowledge.

There you go. Knowledge, training, and exposure to current information and standard of care are always going to trump lack of the above, and knee-jerk response.
              Send the poor doc to a continuous medical education course at UWI or better yet at UT.

you think you coulda come a tournament in the US and have a diease and refuse treatment and check yourself out?

Malaria can kill, it is not just common cold we talking here.

You are right Mo. The doctor who made the decision is probably the stupidest physician on the planet. He may have exposed a soft underbelly in our medical training system, or probably this idiot is just uninformed. People with malaria don't even have to be isolated, I don't think. I don't think it is anti-Haitian bias, it was more lack of medical knowledge.

R U an idiot ? You think its a concentration camp ? The haitain delegation brought it to the Jamaican authourities attention , they had a prescription from Haiti and asked it to be filled !

Apparently they were already being treated !If the Haitians conducted themselves as per Fifa medical guidelines and it seems they did , then the JFF screwed up .

As for refusing treatment , YES you can !No way should anyone of them be quarantined, no way , if they were already recieving medical care , which they proved by asking for prescriptions to be filled.Even if not recieving medical care, if they choose to succumb to malaria so be it (ITS NOT CONTAGIOUS )

Common sense man, as for you comparrison to the US , a better case study would be Drogba or European soccer , how they treated the team and individuals.

You sir are trying to justify treating the Haitians like mosquitos, you want them quarantined and exterminated.

1st and foremost try and comprehend its not contagious *(human to human transmission is impossible)

Sorry for the Harsh tone but your ignorance calls for it.

Thats it for me on the topic.

See you,X, and Mo is forgetting one critical factor. The fragile tourist industry. How much it would cost the tourist board in PR to repair the dmamge. You guys present some solid facts on malaria but how many tourists, and parents of the other competing teams are aware of these facts?

X , question to you: Is chelsea a tourist resort (with thousands of foreigners moving back and forth within the area)? Was drogaba playing with and against players with concerned parents hanging around?

I had to defend the decision again yesterday. when I asked why was the three sick boys allowed to fly to Mobay; the response was ah , umh well FIFA paid for it and you guys should just take care of them. The foundation of soccer is endurance, once you are ill to that degree you cannot compete (especially at the INT'L level). The Haitian govt. should explain to its people why they allowed three sick children to fly to Ja and seek prescription.

There is a positive from this though. I've always said that CRH is a cash cow and it's under untilized. The Haitians showed us up here, big time. Our system is based on colonialism, hence little is put in to get alot. Thousnads visit Mobay at certain periods, we have top notch building that could be a beacon in the caribbean (research, rehabilitation and other things that apply to the medical field) we sit and say ah we have no money, yet billions pass through Mobay. Mobay is a sleeping giant, avery wealthy town.

1st thing I said was the haitians should never send the individuals,2nd thing is the jff dealt with it badly,not saying the should not deal with it ,send home the individuals would seem like the proper thing to do,the govermental decision to quarantine and forcibly medicate ,is cruel and unusual punishment which are grounds for a criminal suit,...you would not forcibly quarantine a aids patient and medicate them ony in china or cuba ,not even in jamaica.....it could have been dealt with differently

you have proven this ?

lol !

rebel without a cause...

If it were members of the USA team that were suspected of having malaria, would Dr. Baugh et. al have been so hasty and direct in their decision to send home the entire team?

Let's say the tournament was being staged in Haiti or any other CONCACAF nation, and after having invested in a costly 6-week training stint in Brasil the Jamaican U-17 team were told to go home because several members were suspected/tested of having malaria. How would you react?
                              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Drogba is one man on Chelsea team. You talking about 14 people on a squad showing signs.

Are you suggesting all the pharmacy should have done is full the prescription and everything fine??? Can a prescription from a Haitian doctor be filled in Jamaica?

Again Mosquitos are not a problem in England most of the time and in the Winter it is even less of a problem.