Haitian anger - rage after U-17 football team sent home

Dem shoulda arrest di people responsible for putting kids from other CONCACAF Nations at risk..

Di football field scandal is one ting.. can imagine if wi responsible fi spreading disease throught CONCACAF because wi pet and powdah..

Maybe under "Black Man Time".. dem cayliss days deh done..

The medics from Haiti were remiss! No way should they have signed the medical release for the infected kids to go represent the country.
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Maybe Mosiah Garvey cousin can help me to understand..

Him bex wid di Haitian dem and a cuss di labourites..

Maybe if a mosquito did bite him when him guh di game him might have annedda argument.. lucky dem nevah play nuh game a Portmore..

lol !

Look like seh mosquito bite yuh down deh...

Yuh sound delirious...

we have a wonderful thing called the internet. read up on it!

Dr Mosiah, me done post it already, we have the type of Mosquito that can spread Marlaria. If our Mosquito bite the infected person then our Mosquito gets infected and can spread the Malaria. What is really your problem, you have a haitain chick who was using the match as excuse to cum to see you? Tell her cum to NY, let me deal with the matter for you. Cho!

the word i think you are trying to use is "come". you are welcome!

you know, maybe you are right. ever since Drogba returned to Chelsea and infected the entire team (and some fans, i understand), Chelsea can't buy a game!

the word i think you are trying to use is "come". you are welcome!

you know, maybe you are right. ever since Drogba returned to Chelsea and infected the entire team (and some fans, i understand), Chelsea can't buy a game!

Hmm, send your slick Haitian chick to me, let me teach her how to cum.

Gasp!

a diss yuh a diss rasta?

as long as i know where to get some Duracells, she'll be fine!

Cum!!!!
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

The Haitian delegation should not have sent the three, that being said quarantee isnt necessary, neither is sending home a squad.

Wasnt Drogba infected , in the EPL did they quarantee the Chelsea squad ? if its main source of spreading is a mosquito bite , then the whole carribbean needs to be locked up and cordoned off from the rest of the world.

Those Haitian kids arent the only three on the Island who had it , I am sure Jamaica probably has 3 times that currently infected at this moment some being treated some not walking around the island spreading it by mosquito bite....lol

Malaria
                        Quartan malaria; Falciparum malaria; Biduoterian fever; Blackwater fever; Tertian malaria; Plasmodium
                        Last reviewed: May 30, 2009.

U.S. National Library of Medicine
                        National Institutes of Health
                        Malaria is a parasitic disease that involves high fevers, shaking chills, flu-like symptoms, and anemia.

Causes, incidence, and risk factors

Malaria is caused by a parasite that is transmitted from one human to another by the bite of infected Anopheles mosquitoes. In humans, the parasites (called sporozoites) travel to the liver, where they mature and release another form, the merozoites. These enter the bloodstream and infect the red blood cells.

The parasites multiply inside the red blood cells, which then rupture within 48 to 72 hours, infecting more red blood cells. The first symptoms usually occur 10 days to 4 weeks after infection, though they can appear as early as 8 days or as long as a year after infection. Then the symptoms occur in cycles of 48 to 72 hours.

The majority of symptoms are caused by the massive release of merozoites into the bloodstream, the anemia resulting from the destruction of the red blood cells, and the problems caused by large amounts of free hemoglobin released into circulation after red blood cells rupture.

Malaria can also be transmitted from a mother to her unborn baby (congenitally) and by blood transfusions. Malaria can be carried by mosquitoes in temperate climates, but the parasite disappears over the winter.

The disease is a major health problem in much of the tropics and subtropics. The CDC estimates that there are 300-500 million cases of malaria each year, and more than 1 million people die. It presents a major disease hazard for travelers to warm climates.

In some areas of the world, mosquitoes that carry malaria have developed resistance to insecticides. In addition, the parasites have developed resistance to some antibiotics. This has led to difficulty in controlling both the rate of infection and spread of this disease.

Falciparum malaria, one of four different types of malaria, affects a greater proportion of the red blood cells than the other types and is much more serious. It can be fatal within a few hours of the first symptoms.

Symptoms

Anemia
                        Chills
                        Coma
                        Convulsion
                        Fever
                        Headache
                        Jaundice
                        Muscle pain
                        Nausea
                        Stools, bloody
                        Sweating
                        Vomiting
                        Signs and tests

During a physical examination, the doctor may identify an enlarged liver or an enlarged spleen. Malaria blood smears taken at 6 to 12 hour intervals confirm the diagnosis.

Treatment

Malaria, especially Falciparum malaria, is a medical emergency requiring hospitalization. Chloroquine is a frequently used anti-malarial medication, but quinidine or quinine plus doxycycline, tetracycline, or clindamycin; or atovaquone plus proguanil (Malarone); or mefloquine or artesunate; or the combination of pyrimethamine and sulfadoxine, are given for chloroquine-resistant infections. The choice of medication depends in part on where you were when you were infected.

Aggressive supportive medical care, including intravenous (IV) fluids and other medications and breathing (respiratory) support may be needed.

Expectations (prognosis)

The outcome is expected to be good in most cases of malaria with treatment, but poor in Falciparum infection with complications.

Complications

Destruction of blood cells (hemolytic anemia)
                        Liver failure and kidney failure
                        Meningitis
                        Respiratory failure from fluid in the lungs (pulmonary edema)
                        Rupture of the spleen leading to massive internal bleeding (hemorrhage)
                        Calling your health care provider

Call your health care provider if you develop fever and headache after visiting the tropics.

Prevention

Most people living in areas where malaria is common have acquired some immunity to the disease. Visitors will not have immunity, and should take preventive medications. It is important to see your health care provider well before your trip, because treatment may begin is long as 2 weeks before travel to the area, and continue for a month after you leave the area. The types of anti-malarial medications prescribed will depend on the area you visit. According to the CDC, travelers to South America, Africa, the Indian subcontinent, Asia, and the South Pacific should take one of the following drugs: mefloquine, doxycycline, choroquine, hydroxychoroquine, or Malarone.

Even pregnant women should take preventive medications because the risk to the fetus from the medication is less than the risk of acquiring a congenital infection.

People on anti-malarial medications may still become infected. Avoid mosquito bites by wearing protective clothing over the arms and legs, using screens on windows, and using insect repellent.

Chloroquine has been the drug of choice for protection from malaria. But because of resistance, it is now only suggested for use in areas where Plasmodium vivax, P. oval, and P. malariae are present. Falciparum malaria is becoming increasingly resistant to anti-malarial medications.

For travelers going to areas where Falciparum malaria is known to occur, there are several options for malaria prevention, including mefloquine, atovaquone/Proguanil (Malarone), and doxycycline.

Travelers can call the CDC for information on types of malaria in a given geographical area, preventive drugs, and times of the year to avoid travel. See: www.cdc.gov

Review Date: 5/30/2009.

Reviewed by: David C. Dugdale, III, MD, Professor of Medicine, Division of General Medicine, Department of Medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine; Jatin M. Vyas, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor in Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Assistant in Medicine, Division of Infectious Disease, Department of Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital. Also reviewed by David Zieve, MD, MHA, Medical Director, A.D.A.M., Inc.
                        Last edited by Sir X; February 22, 2011, 12:06 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

and i take it you have a background in medical sciences?

but Sickko, all of a sudden, have faith in the words of Ken Baugh, a man who has sided with the Liad in Chief. Come Sickko man, mi lose offa yuh!

could they have fielded a team?

2 players and coach were diagnosed. Sickko says it was several more than that. Haiti is saying they could have fielded a team.

who is telling the truth?

Discharged an african 6 months ago after after spending 2 weeks in the hospital back in the community......I think he is out there spreading it by mosquito bites in NYC...lol

Yuh know Siccko , im ead tuff.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.