• Stadium rejection sets U-17 tournament in a Spin

REJECTED! CONCACAF Disapproves Trelawny Stadium For U-17 Championship
    Published: Thursday | February 10, 20110 Comments

Adrian Frater, News Editor

Western Bureau:

CONCACAF yesterday rejected the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium, declaring the US$30-million facility as below the required standard to host games in the 12-team CONCACAF Under-17 Championship, which is slated to start in four days.

"We have serious concerns about this venue ... there is no grass and this is not what we expected," said Tim Howard, the general secretary of CONCACAF, following a tour of the facility with an inspection team yesterday.

"As we speak, only way we would reconsider is if we can't find a suitable alternative venue," Howard added.

As a consequence of the rejection of the Trelawny facility, the search is now on to find another venue as soon as possible.

Jarrett Park

Jarrett Park, which was initially rejected during CONCACAF's first inspection of venues back in September, is now high on the list.

"We will be going to Jarrett Park later this afternoon to see what is there," said Howard. "There is no way we are going to have grass growing at the Trelawny stadium in four days so we are basically ruling out that venue."

Jamaica Football Federation's general secretary Horace Reid, who was understandably em-barrassed by the situation, blamed the management of the stadium for the fiasco, arguing that they had repeatedly promised that the venue would be ready.

"Even after the trampling it took on the final night of the recent Jamaica Jazz and Blues Festival, I was promised that it would be ready," said Reid.

"This is embarrassing, disgraceful and unacceptable ... this is not what we were promised," he said.

Negative impact

Reid believes the rejection of the Trelawny facility and the last-minute attempt to find a replacement venue is bound to have a negative impact on Jamaica's reputation in CONCACAF.

"This is going to harm our reputation in the CONCACAF and might hurt our chances to stage future tournaments," said Reid. "I believe there is going to be serious repercussions."

Prior to the Jamaica Jazz & Blues Festival, the Trelawny facility was lush green and, according to Howard, it was the local venue they had the least concern about in their inspection prior to the musical fiesta.

"Initially, we were very pleased about this stadium. In fact, it was the one we had the least concerns about," said Howard. "To come here and see it in this state today is just so disappointing."

The inspection team was slated to visit the Catherine Hall Stadium, the other main venue for the tournament, last night. Based on previous inspections, it was widely believe the venue would be accepted, making it available for Jamaica's opening game against Trinidad and Tobago on Tuesday.

However, Howard made it clear that CONCACAF was not contemplating playing all the games at Catherine Hall as, according to him, "as a new facility it would not be able to stand up to such heavy use".

REJECTED! CONCACAF Disapproves Trelawny Stadium For U-17 Championship
    Published: Thursday | February 10, 20110 Comments

Adrian Frater, News Editor

Western Bureau:

CONCACAF yesterday rejected the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium, declaring the US$30-million facility as below the required standard to host games in the 12-team CONCACAF Under-17 Championship, which is slated to start in four days.

"We have serious concerns about this venue ... there is no grass and this is not what we expected," said Tim Howard, the general secretary of CONCACAF, following a tour of the facility with an inspection team yesterday.

"As we speak, only way we would reconsider is if we can't find a suitable alternative venue," Howard added.

As a consequence of the rejection of the Trelawny facility, the search is now on to find another venue as soon as possible.

Jarrett Park

Jarrett Park, which was initially rejected during CONCACAF's first inspection of venues back in September, is now high on the list.

"We will be going to Jarrett Park later this afternoon to see what is there," said Howard. "There is no way we are going to have grass growing at the Trelawny stadium in four days so we are basically ruling out that venue."

Jamaica Football Federation's general secretary Horace Reid, who was understandably em-barrassed by the situation, blamed the management of the stadium for the fiasco, arguing that they had repeatedly promised that the venue would be ready.

"Even after the trampling it took on the final night of the recent Jamaica Jazz and Blues Festival, I was promised that it would be ready," said Reid.

"This is embarrassing, disgraceful and unacceptable ... this is not what we were promised," he said.

Negative impact

Reid believes the rejection of the Trelawny facility and the last-minute attempt to find a replacement venue is bound to have a negative impact on Jamaica's reputation in CONCACAF.

"This is going to harm our reputation in the CONCACAF and might hurt our chances to stage future tournaments," said Reid. "I believe there is going to be serious repercussions."

Prior to the Jamaica Jazz & Blues Festival, the Trelawny facility was lush green and, according to Howard, it was the local venue they had the least concern about in their inspection prior to the musical fiesta.

"Initially, we were very pleased about this stadium. In fact, it was the one we had the least concerns about," said Howard. "To come here and see it in this state today is just so disappointing."

The inspection team was slated to visit the Catherine Hall Stadium, the other main venue for the tournament, last night. Based on previous inspections, it was widely believe the venue would be accepted, making it available for Jamaica's opening game against Trinidad and Tobago on Tuesday.

However, Howard made it clear that CONCACAF was not contemplating playing all the games at Catherine Hall as, according to him, "as a new facility it would not be able to stand up to such heavy use".
    This is a very sad moment for the future of the JFF and football development in Jamaica from an administrative point of view, which will of course no doubt continue to affect player and coaching development and the view others in CONCACAF will continue to think about Jamaica and there administrative abilities. They had been given a great priviledge in hosting and will now been not capable. We hurt for them. Paul Banta

in the meanwhile t&t have several quality fields ... a wha suh?

why is Boxhill still involved in local football? doesn't he have a car muffler or two to go look up under?!?

What?? yuh want him to look at our Escalade

What an embarrassment, how hard it it to just water a field.

I think it is more than just water the field Shola. The field was in good condition at the first inspection. The management of the complex allowed a concert to be held there too close to the start of the competition and not having enough time to effect repairs.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

well they allowed a concert without the proper precautions . I think we have all seen what happens before, after and during half time of a good pitch. the feild is quickly top filled raked and water. Maybe they should have Brandon Murray dem as contractors to maintain field. How can you live somewhere with sun and water and cant maintain field. But you know what sad no one will get fired. for this...

I would not be surprised if the players had to be bussed to play at Harbour View or Arnett Gardens.

Heh haaay! Wait till after the track meet this weekend at the Catherine Hall Stadium! Wi might have to bring the tournament to Miami!

Sad that things like this have to happen in Jamaica before any action is taken.

After listening to the various parties, it is clear that Horace has been trying to get people to work and they have not been up to par. Someone from out West needs to be kicked out.

kicked! PERIOD!!!

Horace needs to shoulder the blame...the management told you the field would be ready so he washes his hands of the matter? Wouldn't it have been more prudent to have periodic status updates and not just show up four days before the tournament to make sure things are okay?

We nuh ave nuh weh dat sell grass?

Suh di olla fiel cudda regrass innah quick - quick time?

Dont get MWR Relays mixed up in this soap opera, MWR is one of the best run and managed track meets in jamaca and as such in the entire region

The reason MWR has been staged continuously for 33 years is that the people in charge are sensible and understands what it needs to stage a world classed event.

Why do you think the best teams come here every year including MVP?

Maybe you need to stop by Saturday, I can hook you up with a VIP seat..