FYI

So why run my lord?????
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

What would be better is to have them host a camp in Jamaica... then not just a couple of youths would benefit.

There is a guy by the name of Dion LaFoucade in Trinidad who runs a football school; every Christmas holidays he has a week long camp where he brings in two or three coaches from Man United. He has been very successful with it. From what I understand the coaches identify the best players and work more closely with them.

I can't say what enduring benefit there has been for those players but this model might be a better model for a greater number of players. It would be up to a local club, or football school to make the link. The people whose name you mentioned might drive such an endeavour.

Excellent thoughts! And though it would require a larger budget to take the camp to Jamaica than having a couple players fly to the camp, on a whole a larger amount of young players would/could benefit.

I recall that John Barnes was able to hold tryouts in order to select a few boys for a camp in England. I don't know if the young men (Ajuran Brown et al) gained immensely from the experience/exposure but the gesture was a fine way to give back to the youths!

Still, there is time to explore how the Barca camp can be of benefit to Jamaican youths.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011