Man Utd make new Hargreaves bid

• Man Utd make new Hargreaves bid

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=629 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=3><DIV class=mxb><DIV class=sh>Man Utd make new Hargreaves bid </DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=416><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=203 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><DIV> <DIV class=cap>Hargreaves resumed training on Monday</DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Manchester United have made a fresh offer for Owen Hargreaves, the Bayern Munich midfielder has told BBC Sport.

"It's been official today that Manchester United have made an offer for me," said Hargreaves, who has been out since September with a broken leg.

"For a club like Man Utd to make an offer is something I appreciate."

But Bayern director-general Karl-Heinz Rummenigge insists it is "out of the question" that the 25-year-old will leave during January.

<DIV class=avinline>Interview: England midfielder Owen Hargreaves </DIV>

German newspaper Bild reported on Friday that United had bid £20m for the England international.

Although Rummenigge was adamant the central midfielder would not leave Munich during the January transfer window, he admitted something could be sorted out in the summer.

"We will see this summer how things work out," Rummenigge told Bild newspaper.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=208 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=5></TD><TD class=sibStdQuote><DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV id=q1></DIV>I can't really do much, it's not on my side <DIV id=q2></DIV><BR clear=all></DIV></DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV class=mva>Owen Hargreaves
    Bayern Munich midfielder</DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

United first bid for Hargreaves last summer, but Bayern blocked the move after losing Michael Ballack to Chelsea.

Hargreaves is contracted to the Bundesliga champions until 2010 but has made no secret of his desire to move to Old Trafford.

He told BBC Sport: "Manchester United have developed into such a talented team.

"They have got such a great nucleus when you look at Rio (Ferdinand) and Wazza (Wayne Rooney), and Cristiano Ronaldo is probably one of the best players in Europe at the moment."

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=208 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=5></TD><TD class=sib606><DIV class=sihf>606: DEBATE </DIV><DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV id=q1></DIV>Hargreaves to United would be fantastic news <DIV id=q2></DIV><BR clear=all></DIV></DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV class=mva>PR</DIV></DIV><DIV class=ibqlinks><DIV class=arr>606: Have your say </DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

The midfielder also paid tribute to United manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

"When you look at the success and the amount of titles he's won, he's been very successful.

"I think any player would love to have the opportunity to play for a manager like that and all the players speak in the highest tones for him."

Yet he admitted his future is in the hands of the Bayern hierarchy at the moment.

"I can't really do much, it's not on my side," he said. "T

RE: Man Utd make new Hargreaves bid

If dem get him then de title is theirs. Mind yuh though....We'll gladly take de Champion League as ah consolation prize.

RE: Man Utd make new Hargreaves bid

Bobby McMahon says he is not that good and way over rated and he would not payd 2.5m Pounds for this player.

He says the player is over rated as England has not produced any decent holding midfielders lately and any mediocre ones will all of a sudden look good.