Beckham wage 'causing resentment'

• Beckham wage 'causing resentment'

<TR><TD colspan="3"><DIV class=mxb><DIV class=sh>Beckham wage 'causing resentment' </DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR><TD width="416" valign="top"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=203 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><DIV> <DIV class=cap>Vagenas has been with the Galaxy since 2000</DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>LA Galaxy midfielder Peter Vagenas said there is resentment at the club over the deal signed by David Beckham.

The Major League Soccer club agreed a deal that is worth £128m to Beckham over the five years of his contract.

And Vagenas told BBC Five Live: "I think, as we all are fans of soccer, he is David Beckham and a wise man told me you're worth what you negotiate.

"But at the same time, of course there's resentment, I'd be lying if I said there wasn't."

Vagenas, a holding midfielder, has been with the Galaxy for six years and was a member of the US football team at the 2000 Olympics.

He has made more than 150 appearances for the club and captained them to a cup double in 2005.

Vagenas, who is thought to earn in the region of £63,000 a year, added that he does not blame Beckham for accepting the contract he has been offered.

"He's not stealing the money," said the Pasadena-born player.

"On the one hand more power to him and on the other you say 'why can't I be getting some of that?'."

Beckham agreed his deal with the Galaxy on 12 January and is expected to join them when his contract with Real Madrid expires at the end of the current season.

His deal means that Beckham will be earning 500 times more each week than most of his team-mates at Los Angeles. </TD></TR>

RE: Beckham wage 'causing resentment'

'why can't I be getting some of that?'."
    Him ever sellout a stadium yet? Him ever play in the EPL? Him ever play fi Manchester United? Him ever play fi Real Madrid? Him ever put ball pon Yorke, Ruud and Ronaldo forehead yet?

Boy .. stop complain. Unless him getting stage fright.

So I guess you don't believe in minimum wages or competitive salaries?

Can Beckham one go on the field?

This maybe the only league inna the world that a man is making 128 million and people on the same team making 10,000.

Suh a Beckham fault man a mek 10 grand? If you followed the news you would see that MLS is paying about 400,000. Isn't that less than what some players mek?

The rest of his salary is being covered by sponsors.

By the way Sass, yuh nuh complain when the goons in the other leagues get big money? All dem unskilled clowns that play rugby wid the shoulder pads .... why dem get so much money and MLS baller a mek in grand? Ask yuhself dat.

Money well spent Sass. Time money like that guh inna football.

Lazie basic pay in the NFL is 250,000 and very few getting that.

Most is making over a million bucks.

How would you like a man with a PHD come and do your job and making 500 what you are making?

I understand that Becks bring more to the table but the disparity is appauling anyway you look at it. I like how you skipped my questions them.

how about sponsorship toward the player's salary?

Maybe them should name the team TEAM BECHKAM.

Sounds like a good idea. This LA Galaxy sounded like an outa space ting. Yuh drink guiness Sass? That idea was BRILLIANT!

250,000 fi NFL? Talk bout robbery? Why the fornication dem getting so much? That think requires no skill.

just imagine that and tell me the MLS can't do no better.

yeah Guiness please. Forget the Red Bull

Wow, Becks swap the Galacticas for the Galaxy...nice headline right here...

Lazie - while the youth might feel a way, as you say, it is not Beckham's fault and the youth so much as said so. However, for there to be consternation (not resentment) is understandable because of the massive disparity. Footballers and professional athletes generally need to be given lessons in business because (as you said), this youth has never sold out a stadium. Business -- not football -- is at the foundation of the disparity in wagesas Beckham's star power and media pull will do more to bring the club revenue than all of his squad mates combined and multiplied by 500. More power to him and bravo to the MLS.