Chelsea Planning Ronaldinho Rejuvenation?

• Chelsea Planning Ronaldinho Rejuvenation?

Chelsea Planning Ronaldinho Rejuvenation? <HR class=hrcolor width="100%" SIZE=1><DIV style="OVERFLOW: auto; WIDTH: 100%">

Reports coming out of London suggest that Chelsea are looking to rejuvenate themselves by swooping for Barcelona's Ronaldinho in the summer.

It is common knowledge that banks will have to be broken, and transfer records smashed, for a club to come close to snatching Ronaldinho from Barcelona.

However, the Mirror suggests that it is exactly what Chelsea are looking to do, as owner Roman Abramovich looks for a more imaginative and dynamic team.

While Jose Mourinho's future has been secured through recent comments, the Portuguese is still being linked with a move away. Abramovich is also said to be contemplating saying "Adios," particularly if Mourinho is unable to deliver at least one out of the Premiership and the Champions League trophies.

The reports suggest that Chelsea's rebuilding will start with an offer in excess of £50 million for the Barcelona ace, who allegedly believes Barca are not backing him whole-heartedly anymore.

"Ronaldinho doesn't feel he is properly backed at Barcelona any more," a source has been quoted as claiming. "He knows that Barca's special advisor Johan Cruyff doesn't like him, and everybody knows that when Cruyff talks, the president Joan Laporta and his board listen."

The Brazilian, meantime, simply could be looking for a fresh challenge after four successful years at the Nou Camp.

AC Milan have also expressed interest in him in the recent past, but failed to get any leverage from either the player or from his club.

The official version of the situation, though, still is that Ronaldinho is close to extending his current contract - which runs to 2010 - by another four years.

http://www.goal.com/en-us/Articolo.a...enutoId=213529</DIV>

RE: Chelsea Planning Ronaldinho Rejuvenation?

Essien needs to leave Chelsea right away and go to a club that he is appreciated. At the end of the day after sacrificing and playing defense for them they still don't even notice the world's greatest 2 way midfielder.

Familiarity breeds contempt a full time the man cut.

Shatta Cleve (1/19/2007)Essien needs to leave Chelsea right away and go to a club that he is appreciated. At the end of the day after sacrificing and playing defense for them they still don't even notice the world's greatest 2 way midfielder.

Familiarity breeds contempt a full time the man cut.
      Boy Shatta I don't agree with this at all. Essien and Chelsea have been very good to one another. He does not need to leave at all. On top of that Ronaldinho and Essien are completely different players so bringing one in will not affect the other.

A move like this is clearly would benifit Didier Drogba. Now Mourinho can stop the two forward experiment with Shevchenko andallow Drogba to go back as a true center forward. The team was much more succesful when they played that way.Before that can happen however he needs true wingers. He already has one in Robben and will just be bringing in another in Ronaldinho. Essien would not be affected one way or the other. You should be thrilled for Drogba. It will confirm even further the formula. - T.K.

TK if you were Essien and you could play both defense and midfield but you are currently in defense helping out the team wouldn't you be upset that the team is bringing in a midfielder and so it seems as if they expect Essien to play defense forever and dem not evena talk bout bringing in defenders in the transfer &#119;indow.

Since when Chelsea a skim pon money?

thats a slap in the face of Essien and the man dem a move hard fi break his confidence as dem a stifle him in defense.

the youth too humble and needs to speak up. Where is the transfer money for defenders so the man can cut and move midfield.

Ronaldinho can't cut it in the Prem its too physical because as dem brush against him the man drop and Prem refs nah give him dem call deh so him better stay a Spain.

Right now the Prem belongs to the AFRICANS.

Shatta Cleve (1/20/2007)TK if you were Essien and you could play both defense and midfield but you are currently in defense helping out the team wouldn't you be upset that the team is bringing in a midfielder and so it seems as if they expect Essien to play defense forever and dem not evena talk bout bringing in defenders in the transfer &#119;indow.

Since when Chelsea a skim pon money?

thats a slap in the face of Essien and the man dem a move hard fi break his confidence as dem a stifle him in defense.

the youth too humble and needs to speak up. Where is the transfer money for defenders so the man can cut and move midfield.

Ronaldinho can't cut it in the Prem its too physical because as dem brush against him the man drop and Prem refs nah give him dem call deh so him better stay a Spain.

Right now the Prem belongs to the AFRICANS.
          Shatta you bring good points. If I was in Essienor any other Chelsea playerI would ask the question to myself of why go after a mid-fielder when their #1 priority should be getting a center back to cover for Terry.

If you remember Abramovich has closed the purse strings to Mourinho. Mourinho has been threatening to leave after the season and right now Peter Kenyon is the only one keeping this thing together by scotch tape.

Jose wanted to buy Oguchi Onyewu for a small transfer of $1 milliondollars and Roman told him no. That set off this whole thing now and the likelyhood of Jose returning after the season is small.

As for trying to break Essien's confidence I do not buy that for a second. Here he is a regular starter on a team that could be argued is the hardest roster to crack anywhere in the world. If that is breaking his confidence I would love to see what building his confidence would be. Probably give him his own eastern european repulic to run?

Yeah he does seem like a humble guy. He is consumate team player and you never hear him complain. What else can a coach ask for. Essien is in a good place right now yaw. He is a regular starter for a team that is always in the thick of every title race on planet earth.No need to cut off his nose to spite his face. While he probably would prefer an attacking mid-field role he is still in the best situation for himself right now.- T.K.

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl5_lblFullMessage>TK if you were Essien and you could play both defense and midfield but you are currently in defense helping out the team wouldn't you be upset that the team is bringing in a midfielder and so it seems as if they expect Essien to play defense forever and dem not evena talk bout bringing in defenders in the transfer &#119;indow.</SPAN>
            Unlike you Shatta, Essien has no issues with his importance to the team. He is the consummate professional and team player and therefore will put team before self.

Chelsea has a defensive crisis and that is why Essien has been asked to play there. If you realize that Maclelele is getting old and they will need Essien to control that midfield when Mac leaves. Moreover, since when playing defense is considered a "diss" in the professional game? Also, because Chelsea may be looking at Ronaldinho, it does not mean that they are not exploring defensive options as well.

The last month or so, Essien's personal statement to the public was that he was happy with the situation at Chelsea.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

So Tilla, can Ronaldinho play at centerback? Does you side belive that by getting a vaunted mid-fielder somehow centerback positions will get better? I nah stap jive oonu. You see if Man U ever beat the GREAT BIG SIDE tomorrow, Karl better change him cell phone number.

I guess it is a Cornall thing now? You read an article about the possible acquisition of one player, who happens to be a midfielder/ forward. This means that because the man is a midfielder it will keep Essien in desense. Where did you guys get it from the said article that Chelsea are not actively searching for defensive players?

Hey Westman (and Shatta), all I am trying to say is that Essien is no Onandi Lowe. He is one of the best midfielders in the game today, but if called on to play any position he will and give it his best. Just the type of player I would want on my team if I were coach.

X, before yuh tek mi on, the reference to Lowe was at the Mexico/Jamaica game at the Azteca, where we were in dire straights and the TD asked Lowe to move from forward to defense. His response was that he was not going to defend anybody's mess.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Hey Tilla, let us work with the Onandi quote you just posted. I believe Chelsea is yet to find someone to adequately defend their mess. LOL. Is just a likkle jiving bredrin. I remeber the years when Man U was on top. All of oonu used to gang up on just me and a couple more. I never would have know that there were many other sides in the EPL. I often felt it was Man U against everybody else.

By the way, is jealous you jealous of Cornwall. I going to take up a collection from Sicko, Jawge and Shatta and buy you a red and gold souvenir.

<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl4_lblFullMessage>Hey Tilla, let us work with the Onandi quote you just posted. I believe Chelsea is yet to find someone to adequately defend their mess.</SPAN>
                    Seems as if you are on a roll tidday?