CONCACAF Men's Under 17 Championship

• CONCACAF Men's Under 17 Championship

"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Love the artwork! Didn't need the flag in there though. The ackee says it all!

Great!

Lets hope the Brazilian camp pay off and them kick up the trini dem.

whew!!..I am relieved.

Thought you would deface the artwork by dashing black paint on it.

The flag being a part of the emblem is fine. Remember you are catering to an international crowd.

Careful the Haitians dont boycott the event because of the Ackee

hope dem nuh tiyad!

Did the world cup logo have the South Africa flag? Did...think of any logo for any international sporting competition and tell me if the flag was there?

Don't tell mi crap, HL.

mosiah...be reasonable .... what else will he ... sorry ... CAN he tell you?

Ok, so the addition of the flag as part of the logo is inappropriate~~sigh~~

did I say it was "inappropriate"?

it simply spoiled a good piece of artwork. no need to throw in the obvious. two national symbols in the one design? unnecessary.

does your logo have the US flag on it?

Qualifiers gather steam with venue inspection

P Reid

Friday, January 21, 2011

MONTEGO BAY, St James — The process to select the six practice facilities for the CONCACAF Under-17 finals to be held here in Western Jamaica in February is gathering momentum following a tour by CONCACAF and Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) officials on Wednesday.

Twelve teams will take part in the tournament set for February 14 to 27 to select the four teams that will advance to the FIFA Under 17 World Cup in Mexico later this year.

Games will be played at both the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium as well as the Montego Bay Sports Complex at Catherine Hall,
                      Horace Reid, general secretary for the JFF, told the Observer yesterday that they had looked at about nine fields so far, from which the final six will be selected.

The fields that have been looked at to date are Breeze's Rio Bueno (Formerly Grand Lido Braco), Elliston Wakeland Centre, Sea Road in Duncans, Trelawny, Half Moon Hotel, Jarrett Park, Hilton Rose Hall, UDC field in Montego Bay, Tucker in St James — home of Seba United — as well as alongside the main field at the Trelawny Stadium.

Reid said work was still going on at all the facilities to get them up to shape for the teams.

Meanwhile, Reid said a major press conference would be held in Kingston on Tuesday with a view to rev up the promotion and awareness campaign for the event.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1BgXxa3nc

Downswell steps away from U-20s to focus on U-17s Understudy

Downswell steps away from U-20s to focus on U-17s
                        Understudy Edwards could take charge of 'older' Boyz
                        BY SEAN A WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor
                        Monday, February 07, 2011

National youth coach Wendell Downswell has decided to step aside as head of Jamaica's Under-20 football team to concentrate his efforts fully on the Under-17s.

Downswell, a respected youth coach, said his decision was timely and logical as the "promising" Under-17 Reggae Boyz launch their bid next week on home soil for a place in the age-group World Cup to be staged in Mexico later this year.

Wendell Downswell (pointing) lectures members of Jamaica’s Under-17 footballers at a training camp in Brazil recently.

1/1
                        "I would be stretched working with both units, but I will continue to give my technical expertise and I will continue to work with Andrew (Edwards), who I hold in the highest esteem as a youth coach," Downswell said on Saturday.

"If these youngsters qualify, it means that I will have to be away from them for another five weeks or so going to Brazil and Guatemala with the Under-20s, I think that will be too long a time from them," he added.

Edwards, who coached St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS) to football success in 2009 and who has acted in Downswell's absence, could lead the Under-20s for the Brazil camp in March and their CONCACAF qualifiers in Guatemala in April. This, however, is subject to review and recommendation of the Technical Committee.

Downswell noted that his decision was also driven by the fact that should the team qualify from the CONCACAF Under-17 Championship, which kicks off on Jamaica's north coast next Monday, he wanted to be available to work closely with the team in the critical months leading into the World Cup in June.

"And with the plans that the federation have in the pipeline in giving them (Under-17s) the necessary exposure, somewhere in Europe perhaps, means that I have to be there every step of the way," he told the Observer.

And the former senior Boyz coach is brimming with confidence that the present bunch of players have what it takes to be Jamaica's next team into a FIFA World Cup tournament.

"I am pretty confident that this bunch of players will qualify for the World Cup based on what I have seen in Brazil... and I think these youngsters can play a crucial role in revolutionising Jamaica's football," said the former Jamaica winger.

Six rigorous weeks in Brazil, Downswell claimed, have impacted in a positive way on the overall preparation of the Under-17s, who are seeking to repeat the success of the 1999 New Zealand World Cup team.

"In such an environment the exposure and hands-on experience gained cannot (be overstated)... we are better in terms of team organisation and shape which are crucial components," he stated.

Chairman of the JFF Technical Committee, Howard McIntosh, said the coach's decision made perfect sense at this time.

"He had indicated his position that he wanted to concentrate on the Under-17s and we think that was in the best interest of the programme... and we want him to give a high level of focus on the Under-17s," he said.

Downswell, who was instrumental in Jamaica's Under-20 team qualifying for the Argentina World Cup in Argentina in 2001, is highly thought of by the McIntosh-led committee, hence his appointment to head both age-group outfits.

"He is very optimistic and we are very understanding of his position to focus on what he thinks is one of the most promising units assembled in a long time. The JFF holds him in very high regard and that's part of the reason he was given the responsibility for the youth teams, all of which are critical to the JFF's plans in the short and medium term.

"I think Wendell has proven over time his value certainly as a mentor, coach and teacher and he has done extremely well and we are proud of what he has done with this unit so far and we hope it continues," said McIntosh, a long-time ally of JFF boss Captain Horace Burrell.

In continuation of their preparation for the CONCACAF play-offs, which will see four teams automatically qualifying for next summer's Youth World Cup, the Young Boyz were due to take on Costa Rica in a warm-up game on Thursday.

At press time yesterday, they were engaged in another friendly against neighbours Haiti at Ferdie Neita Park in St Catherine.

Just days after returning from their intense training camp in Brazil last month, Downswell's Boyz took on the USA in a two-match friendly series and were competitive in a 0-0 draw and 1-2 defeat to their powerful North American rivals.

Jamaica will engage the Caribbean's Trinidad and Tobago and Central American outfit Guatemala in Group C of the CONCACAF tournament to be staged jointly by the Montego Bay Sports Complex and the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium.
                        Jamaica will be hoping that lightning strike in the same place twice as the last time an Under-17 team made it to a World Cup, the qualifying tournament was played on Jamaica's north coast.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1DHdvKl3T

where does one buy tixs

Wonder how much it gonna cost to reprint the tournament schedules?

Try Tikket Masta!
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran