Overseas-based players a must

RE: Overseas-based players a must

<DIV>My next question is, do Jamaicans love their extended families more than everyone else in the world? Is there another country that looked for UB40s as much as we did? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Or are other countries taking the time to develop their local players? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Again, nothing against UB40s, but only if they aren't plucked out of the family tree and shoved into a Reggae Boyz jersey just because they played Conference football in England!</DIV>

look at Costa Rica finding ways to develop their small player pool and we with all our foreign players cant achieve what they achieve in world football at any level.
      SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

I have no problem inviting any player even if a conference team he is with.

However we need to either plan camps in England or have some during the off season. These players need to play a few practise games as well if possible.

OJ as a coach do you have the habit of calling "star" players for big games or you rather working the "star" player in your team?

Not because you see player on TV and them look good you think they will fit in, because they can be lost in the game which is what happen to some of the decent English based players them. Right now we just call players for FIFA and one or two games a year. That nuh mek sense. By the time they get their act togather the game over.

Ignorance is holding the son of a Jamaican to a different standard simply because he did not develop his skills in Jamaica.

Parochial Mentality that is apparantly unable to grasp the reality of the Jamaica Diaspora and understand its benefits.

No wonder Jamaica is wallowing in mediocrity, unable to harness the Diaspora beyond a Western Union transaction.

Maudib (1/19/2007)Ignorance is holding the son of a Jamaican to a different standard simply because he did not develop his skills in Jamaica.
            And that's the key! For far too long, we have held UB40s to a lower standard than our local players. As long as they play in England, EPL or Conference, some of us assume they are quality. There is a long list that proves otherwise. Time to stop looking over the heads of our local players.

Yes, everyone knows that it is much easier to make itto the EPL than the NPL.

EPL player must prove that they are worthy to compete against local NPL stars.

Alert Bora, he seems to be confused.. he should be focusing on the Foreign based players..

Heh, heh.

This phenomenon manifists itself in other areas.. Intelligencia trained overseas.. it is akin to shortman syndrome.. lots of defensive behaviour, stunting growth.

Right they should not be held to a lower standard. However, before we get to the quality of their play the fundamental questions/issues are:

1.Dothey qualify to represent JA. Yes they do, based on our laws on who can carry a Jakan passport, legally. Or who wants one for that matter

2. Does it increase our sourcing options. Yes, especially given our population size ranked at 6th or 7th in CONCAF

3. Can we tap into a broader economic market through this and exploit (good way)our overseas community? Yes, I think so.

I think people who write off the diaspora from any elements of our society are extremely myopic to say the least. This doesn't mean that there shouldn't be optimal balance to allow our local develop to continue.Some of the hyperboles and fringe criteria that we seem to want to apply are baffling.

I don't think it is unusual for people to behave in this manner. I think it is basic human natureand/or conditioning. And for that we shouldremain critical but still try to have a balance view.

I think Bora is doing the right thing. He should apply the strainer to the local crop first. Invariably, I am convinced he will have to look overseas and at people born in the UK, not jsut Bibi, JJ, et al. Is doesn't make sense not to.

Basic human nature and conditioning ?

How are the Indians, Chinese, Singaporeans, Jews etcable to harness their Diaspora ? Given this 'human nature' and 'conditioning' ?

Let us recognize the problem, then we can seek to address it andmove forward..

OJ (1/18/2007)Assasin would you invite Jermaine Pennant to the natl team?
                      As long as someone else drove him to practice and games.

GaryD (1/19/2007)Right they should not be held to a lower standard. However, before we get to the quality of their play the fundamental questions/issues are:

1.Dothey qualify to represent JA. Yes they do, based on our laws on who can carry a Jakan passport, legally. Or who wants one for that matter

2. Does it increase our sourcing options. Yes, especially given our population size ranked at 6th or 7th in CONCAF

3. Can we tap into a broader economic market through this and exploit (good way)our overseas community? Yes, I think so.

I think people who write off the diaspora from any elements of our society are extremely myopic to say the least. This doesn't mean that there shouldn't be optimal balance to allow our local develop to continue.Some of the hyperboles and fringe criteria that we seem to want to apply are baffling.
                        <DIV></DIV><DIV>All well and good. But at the end of the day, the UB40 player must be chosen because he is indeed a better fit on the TEAM than another player. I would have no problem with that.</DIV>

Maudib (1/19/2007)Yes, everyone knows that it is much easier to make itto the EPL than the NPL.

EPL player must prove that they are worthy to compete against local NPL stars.

Alert Bora, he seems to be confused.. he should be focusing on the Foreign based players..

Heh, heh.

This phenomenon manifists itself in other areas.. Intelligencia trained overseas.. it is akin to shortman syndrome.. lots of defensive behaviour, stunting growth.
                          <DIV></DIV><DIV> And where would that leave Maestro and, dare I say it, the great Tappa? </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Spin your way out of this one, why don't yah!</DIV>

We better update Milutnovic about this.

Only select players that are a fit for the TEAM.

We might as well just argue

if the sky is blue or not sigh

He knows this already.