• University of Harford soccer: Built by (Jamaican) Labour

US coach targets J'can core this season

BY LIVINGSTON SCOTT Observer staff reporter

Thursday, January 13, 2011

HIGHLY-RATED University of Hartford head coach Dan Gaspar, who was a member of Portugal's coaching staff during last summer's FIFA World Cup Finals in South Africa, says for the upcoming US college football season he intends to build his team around Jamaican players.

Gaspar, who was at the University of the West Indies' scholarship festival at the UWI Bowl last week, told the Observer he has travelled the world coaching, and Jamaican players are among his favourites.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...season_8288464

hhhhhmm. Would UCONN, St. Johns or Rhode Island be a better choice on the east coast with a player like Campbell?

Anyway wish them luck.

Its going to take a while for him to build UH, also the quality of competition is not on the level of the Big East.

Been to UH a few times and like it. Also have a few friends who went and play ball too but I don't think their program is that great either and Campbell is seen as one for the future. For sure he will get a good education still.

what makes a program great?

The conference they play in. The program they have. Some team who are d1 just play from September to November, they have no spring or summer training programs. The Schedule up here is set up based on your conference and other schools who you invite to play. The better programs will play the top schools as their out of conference games. Even though you have D1, it is almost like you have different levels within D1.

Hartford is ok but will not be a top program anytime soon.

They play in the America East, a third tier conference and the quality of opposition is far from being the strongest in the US. Only the winner of AE is likely to quality for the NCAA tournament, while you would have 5 or 6 teams from the Big East compete in the NCAAs.

really , do you rate the Big East ?/ other than a few schools st. J and SFU nothign nuh really play deh..

At the 2010 NCAA Championships, Providence, Georgetown, West Virgina, and South Florida played in the first round. Louisville, Notre Dame & UConn, received a bye to the 2nd round. Louisville was the runnerup and lost to Akron in the NCAA final.

I am aware of the tournament make up but whats your view of the quality of play in the big E. i know the BiG E and ACC is most diserable but ?