• Edson Buddle signs in German 2nd division

Buddle to add firepower to Ingolstadt

Edson Buddle has a new home as the former Los Angeles Galaxy man has signed with FC Ingolstadt in the 2. Bundesliga in Germany.

The World Cup veteran joined the team on Monday, completed a physical and was introduced to the media on Monday night. His contract with Ingolstadt will run until summer 2012 and he will start practicing with the team on Tuesday.

"Since we were searching for a striker who can start immediately, he should have good chances for the starting line-up on Sunday," said Oliver Samwald, Ingolstadt's Press Officer, to YA. "We will get more impressions over the next few days - but you can definitely expect him in the squad."

(continue)

Isn't that the same club that was supposed to be taking a look at Freddy Adu? From what I have read, he is there on trial and his trial has been extended.

Sad to see Freddy cannot find a club which fits him. How many clubs has he changes since leaving DC united again?
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Freddy needs to go back to MLS and see if he can get a starting spot in the league.

Adu on trial with German club

(AFP) – 4 days ago
        BERLIN — Former youth prodigy Freddy Adu is undergoing trials with German second division side Ingolstadt in a bid to revive his flagging career.
        The 21-year-old, Ghana-born midfielder looked headed for stardom when he took US citizenship in 2003 and made his senior debut a year later.
        But after spells with DC United and Real Salt Lake he moved to Benfica in Portugal in July, 2007 and he has struggled to make his mark there.
        Subsequently he has been on loan to Monaco in France, Belenenses in Portugal and Aris Salonika in Greece, with little success.
        Ingolstadt have called him up and will take a decision on whether to keep him on loan until the end of the season during the winter break in Germany.
        "We know all about his past and that he has failed to live up to all the expectations that were placed on him when he was 15 and 16 years old," said Ingolstadt manager Benno Mohlmann.
        "On the other hand what we need are established players who can help us out at this stage of the season, not players who have a lot of potential."
        Ingolstadt, based near Munich, are currently one place from bottom in the second division and facing a battle against relegation.

sad

The Bad News Is....But The Good News Is..

The bad news is Ingolstadt 04 is second-to last in the Bundesliga 2 standings. The good news is Ingolstadt 04 is sponsored by Audi, the car maker, so Edson might get free use of an Audi. The last two teams in Bundesliga 2 are automatically relegated to a beer league, and the third-to-last team has a playoff against a beer league team.

Ingolstadt 04 was in a beer league last year, but won a promotion playoff against Hansa Rostock, then in Bundesliga 2. Ingolstadt 04 is playing this year in a brand new stadium.

Thats where the rux dem belong

very sad

Freddy is a general but his talent and creativity was not nurtured and encouraged at DC. The present coaching system relies on the workhorse type in the middle. This can only take but so far (as proven in the past WC).

With the current coaching system Robinho and Neymar would not be in the senior mens' team of the US.
                  Last edited by Jawge; January 13, 2011, 06:25 PM.

yuh ear wah dem seh - 'for-mah prodigy'!

freddy age ketch up wid him!

Buddle scored in his debut today, a 1-1 draw against Duisburg:

must be the jamaican in him...

Zeppo, what has happened with Freddy Adu and the same club? I know he was trying out there and had his trial extended. Did they sign him?
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

He hasn't been signed yet.

And from what I understand, his situation is further complicated with Benfica owning his contract. It seems that Benfica wants to hang on to his contract, but Ingolstadt would like to sign him permanently, not on loan.

It's still hard to know for sure, because neither Benfica nor Freddy's agent will discuss the situation. Been like that for a while, too.