• Waiting for Man Us luck to run-out

Yeah, yeah, so they remain unbeaten so far this season blah, blah,
    but when the wheel finally comes off, and the Man U roller coaster goes careering off the 'lucky so far' tracks, the slump must start to set in for this season.

Happy new year GasX

Thanx Lasie ;-). Happy new year to you and all in your various personal dealings/affairs. Football wise, some garn have disappointment in 2011.

Lazie, you know Neville shoulda get sent off at Westbrom for the tackle on Dorans. That also should have been a penalty for Westbrom and utd down to 10 men. Utd cant keep relying on weak referree's. That luck nuh guh larse long.

Originally posted by GazX View Post
          Lazie, you know Neville shoulda get sent off at Westbrom for the tackle on Dorans. That also should have been a penalty for Westbrom and utd down to 10 men. Utd cant keep relying on weak referree's. That luck nuh guh larse long.
          Wait, I don't recall you commenting on the goal Birmingham scored to level the game against MU? When Terry handled the ball in the box against Bolton, where was your comment? Wait, the penalty that Birmingham should have been awarded against Arsenal ... point out your comment?

Yes, Neville should have been sent off, yet you missed the no call that would have awarded MU a penalty in the same game?

Yes, the refs make mistakes time and again, why not point to all the mistakes instead of pointing to the one that went in MU's favor? Every team benefit from bad calls, yuh forget last season where Chelsea won a title by 1 point after benefitting from 'weak refs' in the 2 games against MU?

Wait, I don't recall you commenting on the goal Birmingham scored to level the game against MU? When Terry handled the ball in the box against Bolton, where was your comment? Wait, the penalty that Birmingham should have been awarded against Arsenal ... point out your comment?

Yes, Neville should have been sent off, yet you missed the no call that would have awarded MU a penalty in the same game?

Yes, the refs make mistakes time and again, why not point to all the mistakes instead of pointing to the one that went in MU's favor? Every team benefit from bad calls, yuh forget last season where Chelsea won a title by 1 point after benefitting from 'weak refs' in the 2 games against MU?
            true, but MU more than the average... don' worry, we know a jus suh it guh!

GasX... we haffi give Jack him jackit; ManU creates their own luck because of confidence... yes, they might be outdoing themselves but you get the sense they believe they can always win....
              we, supporters of other teams need to step up the pressure and make our own luck. MU is not invincible, but it seems like other teams crumble in their presence...

The fact is other teams are the ones not making the most of the stumbles (the draws) that MU makes... Arsenal comes to mind, Chelsea too... how can you draw Aston Villa at home? teams need to play like they want to win the league and, this burns me to say it but, only MU is playing with a purpose.

GasX... we haffi give Jack him jackit; ManU creates their own luck because of confidence... yes, they might be outdoing themselves but you get the sense they believe they can always win....
                we, supporters of other teams need to step up the pressure and make our own luck. MU is not invincible, but it seems like other teams crumble in their presence...

The fact is other teams are the ones not making the most of the stumbles (the draws) that MU makes... Arsenal comes to mind, Chelsea too... how can you draw Aston Villa at home? teams need to play like they want to win the league and, this burns me to say it but, only MU is playing with a purpose.
                BITE YOUR TONGUE!!!!

--------------------------------

But is it any wonder that the teams at the top, end-up staying at the top or able to sustain unbeaten records when they more often than not get match changing decisions go in their favour. Dont forget Neville should also had walked against Stoke for the Etherington foul but yet again A.F & Co benefit or lucky by having another weak ref.

------------------------------------

How you mean step-up the pressure? The lesser teams must follow certain teams by getting right in the Refs face to swing decisions. You tell me, if the tackles on Etherington, and Dorans had been committed by another/ less well known player, playing for a smaller club, what are the chances he'd still be on the pitch both times? Or if the smaller team does put the squeeze on to finally get that piece of luck such as with Doran's, then they seem more likely to receive such bad refereeing decisions go against them.

------------------------------------

How you mean step-up the pressure? The lesser teams must follow certain teams by getting right in the Refs face to swing decisions. You tell me, if the tackles on Etherington, and Dorans had been committed by another/ less well known player, playing for a smaller club, what are the chances he'd still be on the pitch both times? Or if the smaller team does put the squeeze on to finally get that piece of luck such as with Doran's, then they seem more likely to receive such bad refereeing decisions go against them.
                      Even if the smaller clubs were to get into the refs face I don't think it would matter. Part of the problem is that the refs appear to be intimidated by the big clubs, especially when they are on their own park. I guess with 75,000 people screaming at you, most people would buckle...but they are not supposed to be "most people". My problem is that the favoritism (and this is with all the big clubs, not just Manu**) is so blatant it is embarrassing, it nuh right.

Lazie, if Neville had been sent off and WBA had converted, it would have been a very different game and probably would have gone in WBA's favor. That is what most people object to. As I said in another post, it happens with other teams as well, not just Manu**, but the frustrating part is that it happens at all. Based on the way both teams played on Saturday, a 10 man Manu** would have had a very difficult time beating an 11 man WBA holding a 1-0 lead. A draw - maybe...but a win? I don't think so.

Even if the smaller clubs were to get into the refs face I don't think it would matter. Part of the problem is that the refs appear to be intimidated by the big clubs, especially when they are on their own park. I guess with 75,000 people screaming at you, most people would buckle...but they are not supposed to be "most people". My problem is that the favoritism (and this is with all the big clubs, not just Manu**) is so blatant it is embarrassing, it nuh right.
                          --------------------------------------
                          Agree with you there. Especially when its between a team packed with well known international players Vs a team of ordinary, not so famous players where a decision may cost the winning/losing of a cup, a CL place, or even the title itself. Im getting to the stage where it seems that there's almost a secret memo given to refs to ensure only the bigger, glamourous, richest teams shall be allowed to win at the expense of the unfashionable clubs. Example, remember back to Man U (YET AGAIN!!) against Villa in the league cup final last season, and Utd/ Owen been awarded a blatant non- penalty to help tem lift the trophy.
                          Last edited by GazX; January 3, 2011, 06:54 AM.

--------------------------------------
                            Agree with you there. Especially when its between a team packed with well known international players Vs a team of ordinary, not so famous players where a decision may cost the winning/losing of a cup, a CL place, or even the title itself. Im getting to the stage where it seems that there's almost a secret memo given to refs to ensure only the bigger, glamourous, richest teams shall be allowed to win at the expense of the unfashionable clubs. Example, remember back to Man U (YET AGAIN!!) against Villa in the league cup final last season, and Utd/ Owen been awarded a blatant non- penalty to help tem lift the trophy.
                            Don't get me started on conspiracies. My theory is that corrupt FIFA is against technology because that way, they can't control the outcome of games. Take Henri's handball in the playoff with Ireland, which team (Ireland or France) do you think would generate more revenue for FIFA at the world cup? I unfortunately do not have any evidence to support my theory, but if it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, then...? The unfashionable clubs as you call them are really just supporting cast for the money spinning machines controlled by a small handful of people. What is most bizarre with officiating is that the people who (presumably) need to know the facts most (the refs) are the ones who are denied means (technology, replays etc) to make them make a just and fair decision. It nuh right!!

Lazie, if Neville had been sent off and WBA had converted, it would have been a very different game and probably would have gone in WBA's favor. That is what most people object to. As I said in another post, it happens with other teams as well, not just Manu**, but the frustrating part is that it happens at all. Based on the way both teams played on Saturday, a 10 man Manu** would have had a very difficult time beating an 11 man WBA holding a 1-0 lead. A draw - maybe...but a win? I don't think so.
                              WBA got another penalty and missed it. I've seen MU rally to draw and win games that are out of this world, so going down to 10 men doesn't mean they would have lost the game.