• The Boss on Omar

Gerard Houllier gloomy on Villa deal for Gueida Fofana

Fofana had been in Birmingham for talks with Aston Villa

Aston Villa manager Gerard Houllier said a deal to sign France Under-19 captain Gueida Fofana was unlikely to be completed after talks stalled. Midfielder Fofana, 19, was in Birmingham hoping to complete a move from Le Havre worth about £800,000.
    But Houllier said: "The Fofana deal is not done and I doubt it will be done.
    "For the moment, an agreement has not been reached. I've got young players here already and you need a balance in terms of wages and abilities."
    Despite admitting the move was in danger, Houllier emphasized Fofana's credentials.
    "He's got potential. He's a 19-year-old player, very mature, with a strong personality," said Houllier.
    606: DEBATE

It's good to see Houllier is taking a responsible approach to signing players

Morales_Villa

"He was captain of the France side that won the European Under-19 Championships.
    "But it's more likely [the move] not to happen."
    Houllier was, however, more optimistic about signing Colorado Rapids striker Omar Cummings on loan until March.
    Cummings is having a trial at Villa and Houllier said: "The MLS season is finished and Omar will probably be here until March.
    "He is quick and can also play on the wing and, don't forget, we have not many options up front at this time.
    "I don't think we can say yet when he will be involved. We need a work permit and things like that so we will see. There's no cost, no risk."

No cost? Hmmmm... clearly the Rapids are hanging his boots in the Shop Window..

It is also to please Omar who have interest in playing at a higher level. Colorado has gotten other offer but not at the price they want, so this is the perfect opportunity for them. If he fails then they can just say come back home we are glad to have you, if he is successful I can't see him going for under 4 million pounds.

With all the talk, no doubt they are planning for his departure and that is why they bought Kondji from NY.

seeit deh...

nat dat mi kno nutten bout Rapids & dis Kondji guy..

"I don't think we can say yet when he will be involved. We need a work permit and things like that so we will see. There's no cost, no risk."
          The work permit is the elephant in the room and mi talk bout this nuff time.

Should not be a problem given he has played in the majority of the Jamaica games lately and we are ranked very high right now.

Actually the FIFA ranking is averaged over the previous two years, and not the current ranking AND he must have played for Jamaica in at least 75% of its competitive 'A' team matches for which he was available for selection during the previous two years.

Still don't see a problem since he is such a seasoned pro. Claude Davis, and stew Peas renewed permit in the last year. For the last year we have been in the 60-70s rating and now in the 50s so he will get a bly if you ask me.

Jamaica games lately and we are ranked very high right now.
                  What has Jamaica's average ranking been over the last two years? They not only look at the current ranking, but over the two year period.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Does having a green card help? Just asking don't kill me...

That may be so but I still dont see a problem with him getting the work permit..maybe I will be proved wrong but lets see.

No. Only if he has a White Granny .

I do not think a green card matters for ballers. Ballers are put into two categories, EU & Non EU ballers, and the work permit requirement applies to Non EU ballers.

yeah the same requirement needed for American players too.