Cummings to train with EPL's Aston Villa

• Cummings to train with EPL's Aston Villa

Forward led Colorado with 14 goals in 2010, will train with Premier League's Aston Villa

German Sferra
    ColoradoRapids.com
    December 27, 2010

Cummings dribbles by Crew midfielder Brian Carroll

Commerce City, Colo. – Colorado Rapids forward Omar Cummings received an unexpected gift this Holiday season. The Jamaican forward will be heading to England to train with English Premier League-side Aston Villa.

“Aston Villa contacted us a few weeks ago with interest to see Omar up close,” Rapids Managing Director, Jeff Plush, told ColoradoRapids.com. “After discussing the opportunity with Omar, we felt it would be a good chance for him to get a leg up on preseason training and at the same time get the experience of training with a Premier League club.”

Plush noted that although Cummings will initially be training with the Birmingham, England club, discussions have taken place that could lead to Aston Villa taking Cummings on loan.

“Omar is a Colorado Rapids player,” said Plush. “We explained to Aston Villa that we would be open to discussing a loan agreement for Omar until our season starts on March 19 if it benefitted Omar and the Colorado Rapids.”
    The Rapids begin defense of their MLS Cup title on March 19, 2011 against the Portland Timbers at Dick's Sporting Goods Park.

Cummings is expected to join Villa in the coming days to begin training with the club.

The 28-year-old striker led Colorado with 14 goals in 2010 and helped the club win their first-ever MLS Cup title. He also continued scoring goals for the Jamaica National team and helped the team repeat at Caribbean Cup champions in early December by scoring a goal in the final.
    READ: CUMMINGS CLAIMS 2010 RAPIDS GOLDEN BOOT

Last summer, the Rapids confirmed that Necaxa, a club from Mexico, made a bid to acquire Cummings. An agreement could not be reached, though it was explored.

At the moment, neither Aston Villa nor Colorado are looking beyond the next few weeks. However, in the world of soccer, should a player go on loan, the possibility of a buyout could be added to a loan agreement.

“It would take Aston Villa or any club making a significant offer for us to even consider transferring Omar,” added Plush.

Before leaving for Jamaica in December for the offseason, Cummings talked to ColoradoRapids.com about his status.

“I’m happy here," Cummings said of Colorado. "Everyone knows that I’m happy and very comfortable being in Colorado. But if the opportunities are there to make a move, I’m also open to that.”

“If the Rapids feel that it’s a good opportunity for the club and for me to move on, I understand that. At the same time, as a player, you don’t want to feel held back from taking that opportunity even if it’s just to see.”

Cummings still has two years left on his contract with the Rapids. However, Colorado have often re-signed players before their contracts ended, including Cummings and then defender Ugo Ihemelu in February 2009.

A month prior, the club had re-signed Colin Clark, Nick LaBrocca, Jordan Harvey, and Kosuke Kimura to new deals while they were already under contract. And this December, Colorado also re-signed defender Marvell Wynne before his contract was up.

Plush confirmed that the Rapids have begun discussing a new deal with Cummings’ representatives.

When asked if he would stay with the Rapids if an attractive new offered was proposed or if he would wait for opportunity overseas, Cummings quickly answered:

“I’m here. You always want to explore, but I consider Denver home now.”

http://www.coloradorapids.com/news/2...ls-aston-villa
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Good for him. I have no doubt he will make it.

The few times I have seen Cummings...I thought his work out-put would fit in the EPL system.

Hope he remains health and enjoy the new opportunity.

Wishing him the best of luck.

if Ashley Young don't resign then Cumming have even a better chance

"1009 GMT: Liverpool have made Ashley Young their top target for the January transfer window and are confident they can land the Aston Villa winger."
          Full story: goal.com

Colorado Rapids only want to release Omar Cummings on loan

Aston Villa: Colorado Rapids only want to release Omar Cummings on loan to Villa
            Dec 30 2010

COLORADO Rapids want striker Omar Cummings to return for the start of the MLS season in mid-March if his trial at Villa turns into a loan move.

The Jamaican international striker is being lined up for a temporary spell at Villa Park if he impresses Gerard Houllier during the next few weeks.

But Rapids head coach Gary Smith insists the 28-year-old will be expected to be back in the States for their March 19 opener against Portland.

“Aston Villa will take a little look and we’ll then see if that turns into a loan period,” said Smith.

“My involvement will be if he’s on trial and it turns into something more substantial. Then, he must be back for that first game.

“I was a little surprised when I first heard about it, but that is what you have to expect. That is any agent’s job to throw out a few bits of bait and get their client under peoples’ noses.”

Rapids maintain connections with Villa through assistant manager Steve Guppy, the former Leicester winger who is a friend of former claret and blue boss Martin O’Neill.

In otherwords Villa will not get him for little or nothing.

The ball is in Villa court. 4 million pound and Colorado let him go.

I think Villa knows the game. All the grandstanding of Colorado, they are not the ones with the final say as the rights to the player is owned by MLS. If MLS says Omar goes, there is not a damn thing Colorado can do about it.
                MLS will only let him go if the money is right and Villa knows this. A player can always be not for sale until the right deal comes along. As they say in the country areas in Jamaica "is money mek di filly gellup".
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran